We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst. Motel. Ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Harrisonburg
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Don't be deceived by the pictures online like I was. This place is HORRIBLE! It is the dirtiest, smelliest, most horrible place I have ever stayed at. After traveling 8 hours, I thought this would be a decent place to crash for the night with my two dogs before hitting the road again in the morning. BIG MISTAKE!

As a single 30-year-old woman, I was afraid for my life here. I slept with my pepper spray and taser next to the bed. I did NOT even pull back the covers, but instead placed one of my own blankets on the bed and used my other one as my cover. I was afraid to touch anything. I made myself shower in the morning, but wore flipflops.

If I had read the other reviews on alternate sites before booking this stay, I would have known about others' experiences with cockroaches, hairs, and unfriendly staff. Also had to pay an additional $2.99 for WiFi, in which they blocked certain sites during my stay, including this one (probably to avoid negative reviews).

In addition to the horrible conditions and unsafe atmosphere, there were flies in my room and even my dogs were shaking. And I was approached by interesting shady charachters asking me to "party" in their rooms. Clearly this is a place where the unfortunate live permanently.

DON'T STAY HERE! Spend that extra $25-$50 and stay somewhere safe, clean, and acceptable.

After all is said, I must say the worst part about my stay was the smell. I can still smell it now.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great value. Room was quite large, basic and clean. Heard no one around us even though motel seemed filled. Near the interstate with plenty of restaurants around including a 24 hour Waffle house across the street. Staff friendly. Seemed like a safe area -- could park car outside guest room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outpulsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

If your staying just a night or two this is a great option. Not many amenities but if you need a clean place to sleep for cheap this is it. Only bummer is wifi costs 2.99 per day.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank random315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My family and I stayed for a couple weeks. Rooms were average. TV was terrible, not peaceful, had to go up front just to fix food. Its like they watch every move you make so no privacy unless in room. Only good thing to say is they allowed extra time without paying so we could pack and leave. I won't ever stay there again. Think it through carefully before staying there. My best advice to other travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatguy2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Clean, confortable, quiet room. No frills place but for 40 bucks it was worth the one night stay

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 23 in Harrisonburg
306 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 23 in Harrisonburg
321 reviews
0.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#15 of 23 in Harrisonburg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
466 reviews
6.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
0.6 km away
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
Quality Inn of Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Harrisonburg

Address: 10 Linda Ln, I-81 at Exit #247-A/US 33 East, Harrisonburg, VA 22802-8850
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Price Range: RM240 - RM561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Harrisonburg 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Harrisburg VA welcomes our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Motel Six Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Motel 6
Harrisonburg Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing