We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll Come Back For the People”
Review of Fort Lewis Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Lewis Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Millboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Was riding motorcycles through this valley and found the Fort Lewis Lodge on TripAdvisor. Not sure I've ever seen a better rating or more consistent reviews. All for a good reason. Do not miss a chance to stay here!!

Erin met us at our motorcycles to check us in and proceeded to open the bar a bit early so we avoided dehydration.

The owners (who are the staff) were just outstanding.

Food was excellent and the accommodations first rate.

Lastly, if you're on a motorcycle, 3 of the Top 10 Rides in the Country run right by here!!!

Room Tip: We we're in the main lodge. Excellent on every report card and maybe the best WiFi we've ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Our family has been visiting Fort Lewis Lodge for the past 25 years, so we know the property and the proprietors, John and Caryl Cowden, very well. For us, it's like returning home. Just approaching the lodge and taking in the view brings on instant stress reduction. We were happy to learn that the next generation of Cowdens, son David and girlfriend Erin, have joined the operation. As usual, we stayed in the lodge in one of the many comfortable rooms there. As many reviewers have noted, Caryl is simply an amazing cook, welcoming guests into her kitchen twice each day. As usual, we also enjoyed our time before dinner at Buck's Bar, where we caught up with John, David, and Erin (who has added some new, delicious wines to the bar choices), and met other guests as well.

We have stayed at other lodges, as well as bed and breakfasts, throughout the US, but Fort Lewis Lodge is where our hearts are. We always look forward to coming back. I cannot imagine a more inviting location than the lodge the Cowdens have created in lovely Bath County.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PMC813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This is a review I want to write and then I'm also equally hesitant because I'd hate it to become crowded. Fort Lewis is a rare gem on multiple fronts. It is off the beaten path nestled in the beauty of Bath County. The multitude of fire flies provide glorious light at night looking up to the many breath taking vistas. Access to the cow pasture river provides incredible fly fishing opportunities. The owners are delightful and super accommodating. Meals are spectacular. Really a wonderful weekend get-away. Well worth the trip.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Just returned from an idyllic 3 night stay! Found this haven on Trip Advisor and was awed by the photos and the consistent reviews of others, which are completely accurate. Thoroughly pleased and thrilled that we found this lovely retreat, and that it is just one hour from the wonderful town of Staunton, VA, another gem not to be missed. (Staunton is home to the Heifetz International Music Festival each summer from late June through early August, and the classic musical talent is phenomenal ! Even more astounding is that many of the nightly concerts around town are FREE -or- $7.50 per ticket.)
We chose to stay in a lodge room at FLL, and it was classic, elegant country decor. Mattress may have been one of the most comfortable on which we've ever slept, and the two daily meals -- especially dinners -- are beyond outstanding. The first night we enjoyed two entrees (typical every evening) of roast pork tenderloin, cooked to perfection, and skewered shrimp, also cooked perfectly. Caryl (warm, lovely, busy proprietor) complements those entrees with at least half a dozen home made sides and salads. The dinner is set up as a buffet, and is usually ready about 7:45 pm. The atmosphere is convivial, and conversation abounds among FLL staying guests, as well as locals who seem to be able to make reservations to come to the Lodge just for dinner. We were pleased that when we checked in advance if it would be appropriate to bring a bottle of wine to dinners in the evening, that the answer was 'yes' (even though they have an attached small screened-in bar area where wines and beers are sold). Most people seemed to enjoy the 'happy hour' time before dinner in , but we sat around the dining area and the many outdoor seating locations on FLL grounds.
We met lovely people from around the country, and we enjoyed sharing hiking stories and other explorations with them. The 'pavilion' with fire lit and ready for relaxing after dinner is a nice touch. Also, the hot tub on the deck of the lodge is a great place to relax sore muscles after partaking in nearby hikes that John, the other outgoing proprietor, is happy to guide you to find on his property map.
The 'gathering room' in the Lodge is classic -- beautifully decorated with a soaring ceiling, and the grounds throughout are beautifully maintained from the time you leave the country road and head down the lane to FLL. Staff make sure that you are treated well, whether they are making up your room in an efficient and timely way, or clearing your plates and dinner so you can enjoy seconds at the buffet. They are truly deserving of the suggested $10 - 15 night per room gratuity that is suggested in the FLL book that is found in each room.
In sum, Fort Lewis Lodge is a gem, and it is easy to see why people return to it time and again. We are glad that it is just an easy 4.5 hour ride from Baltimore so we too can return.
Strongly suggest that any Mid-Atlantic residents plan an easy combined trip to Staunton, VA to partake of the Heifetz International Music Festival this month of July, and extend it with a few nights at the Fort Lewis Lodge, one hour away. In Staunton, try staying at the historic and lovely Stonewall Jackson Hotel right in town. While its lobby could use some updated furniture to match the architecture of this lovely building, the hotel rooms and dining room are in tip-top shape, and the hotel is just around the corner from the old fashioned Main Street, downtown area, and Mary Baldwin University. Staunton (pronounced 'Stanton') has been named by several magazines as one of 'the best small towns in America'... easy to see why! Whether you visit the Fort Lewis Lodge first and then travel into Staunton, or vice versa, you will be sure to enjoy yourselves.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank patnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed for one night. My wife is thinking about trying to figure out a possible retirement area - and she likes the Lexington, VA area. She is a professional web surfer and found Fort Lewis Lodge (FLL) through an Expedia search.

I like to fish - and we have dogs that love to run off leash. My wife always searches for Pet Friendly on Expedia - and Fort Lewis came up..........although technically they are not pet friendly. Caryl made an exception for us - and off we went for the one day visit.

it's an hour drive from Lexington (~45 miles) - small back country roads.....beautiful.

Our first "mistake" was arriving at noon and not having eaten lunch.....was a 15 mile/25 minute drive to Warm Springs and we had a nice lunch at the old dairy/Homestead Preserve. FLL is remote. make sure you gas up before you arrive.

I did some fishing in the Cowpasture. The river is clearly very healthy - i saw small bass, panfish and crayfish/shrimp........it's warm water - and seemingly not very deep for most of the river section at FLL. My fishing quickly seemed to be more of a relaxing time passer than yielding any fish. We did see an Osprey on a bridge near FLL - so there must be enough fish. wet wading was fine

the hiking is really nice. the swimming area is nice - but I would recommend bringing water shoes - it's rocky and dirty......the water felt like 75 degrees to me

there is a lot of photo opportunities with the barns, cattle, fields. Fall leaf peeping has to be absolutely gorgeous.

They have a notebook in each room when you arrive with FAQ details on most everything. (kind of a shame the book is not on the www site too).

The bar area is really nice - and open an hour before dinner - but I also believe is virtually open all the time - you just need to keep a running track of your consumption!

We thought the food was fantastic. plenty of choices served buffet style. the food isn't out long enough to really be a buffet - but you come up and get what you want - and not what you don't!

we did have to wait for our smartphones to pick up service for google maps to work! the in car guidance in our volvo is not as good as fresh google maps.

there is plenty to do with a disc golf course, isolated TV (if you really feel the urge) - horse shoes...foosball....pool table...........and best of all just places to sit by yourself and enjoy the spot!

very cool!

we stayed in the first floor silo room - was perfect for our dogs - small - well appointed....we were just in the room to sleep!

Room Tip: the silo rooms are small. well appointed but like an old major city small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenSAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millboro
38.8 km away
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge
23.2 km away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,338 reviews
17.3 km away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
63 reviews
30.0 km away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
119 reviews
37.5 km away
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
Hill Crest Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Clifton Forge
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lewis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lewis Lodge

Address: 603 Old Plantation Way, Millboro, VA 24460-2400
Region: United States > Virginia > Millboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Millboro
Price Range: RM1,215 - RM1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lewis Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your destination in the mountains of Bath County Virginia for unique architecture, outdoor adventure and classic American style cuisine. Family owned for 28 years. Like most country inns, we trade in a change of pace, romance, and exceptional fare. But, it is the comforting seclusion of the mountains, forests, fields and streams that truly sets historical Fort Lewis apart. A 3200 acre estate ready to be explored. Outdoor activities abound with hiking, biking, trout fishing or simply relaxing by the Lodge's pristine swimming hole. We are best known for our food, and a farm fresh breakfast and dinner, served family-style, are included in your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fort Lewis Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Lewis Hotel Millboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing