We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Lewis Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn at Hunt Ridge(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$119
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Virginia Horse Center(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$87/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Lexington Inn(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
184
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
14
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming holecow pasturegathering roomother guestsping pongbell ringscovered pavilionowners johnbuffet styletranquil locationdisc golf coursecorn holewestern virginiain tip top shapeenjoy naturecountry cookinghiking trails are
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Our family has been visiting Fort Lewis Lodge for the past 25 years, so we know the property and the proprietors, John and Caryl Cowden, very well. For us, it's like returning home. Just approaching the lodge and taking in the view brings on instant stress reduction. We were happy to learn that the next generation of Cowdens, son David and girlfriend Erin, have joined the operation. As usual, we stayed in the lodge in one of the many comfortable rooms there. As many reviewers have noted, Caryl is simply an amazing cook, welcoming guests into her kitchen twice each day. As usual, we also enjoyed our time before dinner at Buck's Bar, where we caught up with John, David, and Erin (who has added some new, delicious wines to the bar choices), and met other guests as well.

We have stayed at other lodges, as well as bed and breakfasts, throughout the US, but Fort Lewis Lodge is where our hearts are. We always look forward to coming back. I cannot imagine a more inviting location than the lodge the Cowdens have created in lovely Bath County.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PMC813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

This is a review I want to write and then I'm also equally hesitant because I'd hate it to become crowded. Fort Lewis is a rare gem on multiple fronts. It is off the beaten path nestled in the beauty of Bath County. The multitude of fire flies provide glorious light at night looking up to the many breath taking vistas. Access to the cow pasture river provides incredible fly fishing opportunities. The owners are delightful and super accommodating. Meals are spectacular. Really a wonderful weekend get-away. Well worth the trip.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Just returned from an idyllic 3 night stay! Found this haven on Trip Advisor and was awed by the photos and the consistent reviews of others, which are completely accurate. Thoroughly pleased and thrilled that we found this lovely retreat, and that it is just one hour from the wonderful town of Staunton, VA, another gem not to be missed. (Staunton is home to the Heifetz International Music Festival each summer from late June through early August, and the classic musical talent is phenomenal ! Even more astounding is that many of the nightly concerts around town are FREE -or- $7.50 per ticket.)
We chose to stay in a lodge room at FLL, and it was classic, elegant country decor. Mattress may have been one of the most comfortable on which we've ever slept, and the two daily meals -- especially dinners -- are beyond outstanding. The first night we enjoyed two entrees (typical every evening) of roast pork tenderloin, cooked to perfection, and skewered shrimp, also cooked perfectly. Caryl (warm, lovely, busy proprietor) complements those entrees with at least half a dozen home made sides and salads. The dinner is set up as a buffet, and is usually ready about 7:45 pm. The atmosphere is convivial, and conversation abounds among FLL staying guests, as well as locals who seem to be able to make reservations to come to the Lodge just for dinner. We were pleased that when we checked in advance if it would be appropriate to bring a bottle of wine to dinners in the evening, that the answer was 'yes' (even though they have an attached small screened-in bar area where wines and beers are sold). Most people seemed to enjoy the 'happy hour' time before dinner in , but we sat around the dining area and the many outdoor seating locations on FLL grounds.
We met lovely people from around the country, and we enjoyed sharing hiking stories and other explorations with them. The 'pavilion' with fire lit and ready for relaxing after dinner is a nice touch. Also, the hot tub on the deck of the lodge is a great place to relax sore muscles after partaking in nearby hikes that John, the other outgoing proprietor, is happy to guide you to find on his property map.
The 'gathering room' in the Lodge is classic -- beautifully decorated with a soaring ceiling, and the grounds throughout are beautifully maintained from the time you leave the country road and head down the lane to FLL. Staff make sure that you are treated well, whether they are making up your room in an efficient and timely way, or clearing your plates and dinner so you can enjoy seconds at the buffet. They are truly deserving of the suggested $10 - 15 night per room gratuity that is suggested in the FLL book that is found in each room.
In sum, Fort Lewis Lodge is a gem, and it is easy to see why people return to it time and again. We are glad that it is just an easy 4.5 hour ride from Baltimore so we too can return.
Strongly suggest that any Mid-Atlantic residents plan an easy combined trip to Staunton, VA to partake of the Heifetz International Music Festival this month of July, and extend it with a few nights at the Fort Lewis Lodge, one hour away. In Staunton, try staying at the historic and lovely Stonewall Jackson Hotel right in town. While its lobby could use some updated furniture to match the architecture of this lovely building, the hotel rooms and dining room are in tip-top shape, and the hotel is just around the corner from the old fashioned Main Street, downtown area, and Mary Baldwin University. Staunton (pronounced 'Stanton') has been named by several magazines as one of 'the best small towns in America'... easy to see why! Whether you visit the Fort Lewis Lodge first and then travel into Staunton, or vice versa, you will be sure to enjoy yourselves.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank patnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed for one night. My wife is thinking about trying to figure out a possible retirement area - and she likes the Lexington, VA area. She is a professional web surfer and found Fort Lewis Lodge (FLL) through an Expedia search.

I like to fish - and we have dogs that love to run off leash. My wife always searches for Pet Friendly on Expedia - and Fort Lewis came up..........although technically they are not pet friendly. Caryl made an exception for us - and off we went for the one day visit.

it's an hour drive from Lexington (~45 miles) - small back country roads.....beautiful.

Our first "mistake" was arriving at noon and not having eaten lunch.....was a 15 mile/25 minute drive to Warm Springs and we had a nice lunch at the old dairy/Homestead Preserve. FLL is remote. make sure you gas up before you arrive.

I did some fishing in the Cowpasture. The river is clearly very healthy - i saw small bass, panfish and crayfish/shrimp........it's warm water - and seemingly not very deep for most of the river section at FLL. My fishing quickly seemed to be more of a relaxing time passer than yielding any fish. We did see an Osprey on a bridge near FLL - so there must be enough fish. wet wading was fine

the hiking is really nice. the swimming area is nice - but I would recommend bringing water shoes - it's rocky and dirty......the water felt like 75 degrees to me

there is a lot of photo opportunities with the barns, cattle, fields. Fall leaf peeping has to be absolutely gorgeous.

They have a notebook in each room when you arrive with FAQ details on most everything. (kind of a shame the book is not on the www site too).

The bar area is really nice - and open an hour before dinner - but I also believe is virtually open all the time - you just need to keep a running track of your consumption!

We thought the food was fantastic. plenty of choices served buffet style. the food isn't out long enough to really be a buffet - but you come up and get what you want - and not what you don't!

we did have to wait for our smartphones to pick up service for google maps to work! the in car guidance in our volvo is not as good as fresh google maps.

there is plenty to do with a disc golf course, isolated TV (if you really feel the urge) - horse shoes...foosball....pool table...........and best of all just places to sit by yourself and enjoy the spot!

very cool!

we stayed in the first floor silo room - was perfect for our dogs - small - well appointed....we were just in the room to sleep!

Room Tip: the silo rooms are small. well appointed but like an old major city small room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenSAllentown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Our weekend getaway just wasn't long enough. Very relaxing atmosphere where you can either enjoy time alone or make new friends. Owners make you feel right at home. Meals are fantastic; loved that they ring the bell when the food is ready. Lots of marked trails to hike, bikes to ride or canoes, kayaks and tubes to play in the water. Lots of places to just sit and unwind. Stayed in the ground floor silo room; very quiet. Hope to return again soon.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bmuncy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews