We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet, well equipped hostel”
Review of Hostel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed here in November 2010 with my husband on a 5 month backpacking trip round Central and South America.

Hostel is lovely- nice and big, lots and lots of communal areas to hang out in- hammock chairs, hammocks, chairs and tables all over the place. Small pool, but really pretty and lovely for sitting on the edge of at night to keep cool.

It has a kitchen, ample bathrooms and a whole row of computers to use and free wifi.

Well located too.

Only negatives- you get the feeling that the people who set up the hostel really cared about creating a great hostel but the people who run it now don't care too much. They were friendly enough, but they gave us incorrect information about buses- and an excursion my husband went on- and the information on the walls is all out of date and wrong.

Would definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 439 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2011

Don't understand how this hostel gets such great reviews. Here are the essentials:

-Surly staff treat you like you're a bother and they'd rather be anywhere but helping you get your key, find a map, purchase breakfast or do anything related to their actual job.

-Totally overpriced for what it is. Private rooms are $20 and you're basically living like you're back in college. For a better option, try the Hostal La Casita, three doors down from the bearded monkey. Way cleaner, nicer private rooms, helpful staff and $10 a night for a private room.

-False advertisement: The "pool" is laughable. The photos of the pool would have you believe it's quite nice. Don't be fooled.

Look, I'm not a fussy traveler. I can deal with some insects and bare-bones accommodations, but you're going to get ripped off here in money, time and experience. Do yourself a favor and take your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pealoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I hope the owner of this place reads this because we really just want to commend a specific employee on the tremendous level of service she gave us while we stayed in Granada. While staying there my girlfriend became sick and after running all around town on the weekend and countless places redirecting us, we finally asked Tania, a front desk agent at Oasis, if she could help. She went out of her way to start making phone calls, finally found a good doctor, talked him into coming to the hostel and to charging us the rate for locals! She was so genuinely kind and helpful, true hospitality, and people like her on this trip showing care and selflessness have left us really inspired. We were actually so fond of Tania that we bought her a big bag of fruits and vegetables before we left. So, hopefully this message reaches the right eyes and ears so she can be further commended for the job she's doing. Great hostel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jktraveler00111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I loved this hostel because it was incredibly laid back and quiet. Easy place to read a book or take a swim in the pool. It may be a little too quiet for some but I believe its always better to have your fun outside the hostel and sleep in your room. There are some nights when I travel where I just wanna read a book and relax and Oasis was the perfect place for this. Definitely recommend it for non-party going backpacker.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbobsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I traveled around Nica for two weeks and did not want to spend $$$ for accomodations, since the prices do not always translate quality. We gave Oasis a try because of the deal with the shuttle to "Paradiso" hostel at the Laguna Apoyo.
We stayed in a private room with fans: A/C was not needed, they worked so well. We liked the breakfast choices/coffee/seating and hammock area w/ a lush garden.
Also great: plenty of computer terminals available.
For me the whole look and feel of the architecture and pool area was a great plus.
We stayed at "Paradiso"/Laguna Apoyo twice because it is the best place to swim and get a tan in a quiet serene surrounding. Plenty of lounge chairs, free kayaking with nice gear also available. Also: good food and drinks.
Oasis a great place to meet travelers from all over the world!!!
The central location is convenient, also close to the Managua bus terminal!!!
And the strict QIET TIME RULES are a POSITIVE THING!! Being morning persons, we liked that a lot. Night persons can still hit the streets and do their socializing in the many bars around town.
A last word about the front desk in "Oasis" and the managers at "Paradiso": friendliness and attentiveness to the guests can be improved upon. Had the feeling we were interrupting private conversations while trying to ask questions at the desk, felt a little bit ignored, "Paradiso" needs a bit more smiles and more warmth.
We enjoyed this place very much and would come back for the positive aspects!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
679 reviews
0.7 km away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 76 in Granada
164 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostel La Siesta
Hostel La Siesta
#3 of 76 in Granada
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
1.5 km away
The Surfing Donkey at the Lake
0 km away
Emily's Hostel
Emily's Hostel
#10 of 76 in Granada
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Oasis

Address: C. Estrada 109, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: RM61 - RM90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Hostel Oasis Granada
Hostel Oasis Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing