We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
10
11
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
11
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bartender makes good vibes twister sleep dorm hammocks hostel pool
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We only spend 2 nights in the hostel and it was already too much. The room is not very clean, very very noisy and dark. After a bad night we expected the breakfast could improve the stay, but it was not the case. Don't be hungry at the morning because you will only be served 2 pancakes or ONE toast with ONE egg. The staff wasn't very helpful and welcoming. Only two positive points: the pool and the welcoming drink. It's definitely not a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfing Donkey A, Mercadeo at The Surfing Donkey at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hello Mathias.

Thank you for having stayed with us, it was a pleasure to serve you.

I am very sorry that you have not been very nice with us, every day we strive to achieve the satisfaction of our customers. If you can see other comments, most of them tell us how kind of our staff is.

Breakfast is different every day, sometimes you can get pancakes other days eggs with toast or gallo pinto with eggs and bread. When you return you will have a lot of breakfast for you to enjoy!

We hope you had an excellent trip and come back soon to us.

My Best Wishes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

So many bugs! Dirty. Beds are open and load and the staff are not at all helpful. Closed the bar early for a staff party with no heads up. Tried to over charge us after we had talked to people about the price of the room. Not a good location either. Horrible experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank turkeyy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfing Donkey A, Marketing at The Surfing Donkey at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hi.

Dear thank you have stayed with us and leave us your comment.

We are sorry for your inconveniences in the hostel and confused with your account, our staff is trained to serve our guests with excellence.

Our located, has a view of the lake, we are sorry that it has not been to your liking.

We are currently working on our services to provide the best to our customers, believe that our main objective is the satisfaction of each client.
 
We hope you had an excellent trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Great vibe
Helpful volunteers
WiFi was good
Nice swimmingpool and bar
20 minutes walking from the center
Breakfast was not so delicious. Every day the same Gullo Pinto.
Bedroom was Not So clean
Bed was good

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaolaMiquel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfing Donkey A, Marketing at The Surfing Donkey at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hello paola,

Thanks you for let us your comment.

We love to hear that we liked you.

I tell you, we currently offer our guests different breakfasts every day and certainly very delicious! We hope you come back soon and try our breakfasts!

We are working to be better every day.
We hope you had an excellent trip.

our best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Fun place with an excellent view of the lake. It's a little out of the way but a great value and cabs are cheap if you don't want to walk at night. They have a pool table and various games as well as nightly events

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Johanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfing Donkey A, Marketing at The Surfing Donkey at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Hello Johanna, thank you for having stayed with us and leave us your comment.

We love listening to you stay with us.

We try to improve every day to offer the best service to our customers. We currently have a different activity every day, we hope you come back soon and you can enjoy the new activities.

We wish you had an excellent trip, and return on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Our stay here was fairly average. We came on a wednesday and it was very quiet we were almost the only guests but we assumed it would pick up towards the weekend. It was a fair walk up calzada street to the good restaurants, bit of exercise never hurt anyone. We walked home everynight no later than midnight and it was quiet in the streets. The view of the lake was so beautiful and enjoyed sitting in the hammocks. Had a great time just chilling in the pool with a drink.

We stayed in the private room, and it was unfortunately like a sauna but the fan helped at night. They didnt do any room service, the bin never even got emptied. The dorm beds are an interesting idea, but the rain can come in and the wind blows stuff around.

Was still quiet around the hostel even when more people turned up, but then it went too the other extreme..
Thursday night the hostel hosted an open bar night, and a group of about 30 people not even staying at the hostel showed up but not till after midnight, and they pumped the "LOUDEST MUSIC KNOWN TOO MANKIND!!!" And it didnt stop until after 4am, might aswell have been a rave party in my dam bedroom..cheers guys!!!! So was good until then but thats just bloody uncool to everyone else..so we bailed a day early.

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank AllyRose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfing Donkey A, Mercadeo at The Surfing Donkey at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Hello, Ally.

Thank you for having stayed with us, it was a pleasure to serve you.

I am very sorry that at the end of your stay you have not managed to have a pleasant stay. Regularly in our hostel are different activities every day, I am sorry that our staff has not indicated this. Every day we strive to achieve the satisfaction of our customers.

We hope you had an excellent trip and come back soon to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews