We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Backpackers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Backpackers Inn
Reviewed 14 March 2016

My sisters and our friends loved our two night stay at this hostel. Super clean with communal bathrooms and beautiful dorms...like nothing we had stayed in! Really friendly staff and great location. We loved the pool and beautiful gardens. Super comfortable beds as well as a reassuring feeling of safety. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: all rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2016

We had never been to Nicaragua (and we only knew about 10 words in Spanish! Yikes!) but we were keen for an adventure. I was wondering what it might be like because it said "Backpackers" and we're not typically backpackers. We're in our (late) 40s, we enjoy nice food and 4 star accomodation on holidays but this was a different kind of trip for us as we were biking around the country and we were on our first kids-gone-to-university-and-its-just-us-babe adventure.The Nicaraguan family that owns this gorgeous retreat in the middle of the excitement of Granada made our first days there feel safe and special as if we were perched on the edge of it all but could quickly slip into the hotel courtyard and the bustle of it all was softened so we could catch our breath. Most of the rooms encircle the refreshing pool which was always clean and cool and peaceful. So amazing to wake up in the morning to the sound of the church bells right next door and open the door to a gorgeous morning and a refreshing swim. Likewise after a busy day - because it gets really hot! - it was amazing to slip into the pool (which actually felt like our private pool and we could almost pretend it was...) before bed. It was a super safe location with lots of help and kindness from the staff. The rooms are very basic but with comfortable beds and great airconditioning (which REALLY mattered!) and simple clean bathrooms. Not luxurious but simple and genuine and very reasonably priced. Breakfast is included and served in the courtyard - delicious true Nica breakfasts with fresh fruit and eggs and coffee and wonderful service. This hotel is very close to the centre of the attractions you'll want to see (5 mins walk) but far enough away that you can escape feeling like you're part of the tourist trap. You'll feel like you've been welcomed into a private but simple resort. They will help you with anything you need. I can't say enough about it. We stayed there for our first few days, then did a cycling trip for a week and returned back for our last couple of days before heading home to Canada. When we arrived back at Backpackers Inn it felt like we'd come "home". They looked after our luggage while we biking and helped us with bookings. They welcomed us like family. If you want an adventure in Nicaragua and don't know where to begin...this is the place. They'll look after you.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather_Gordon-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We spent a total of about three weeks at Backpackers Inn during our extended stay in Nicaragua, over a week in November 2015 and two weeks in January 2016. It is an elegant and historic building with a range of rooms -- from dark, small but serviceable backpacker-type rooms, to dorms in a high-ceilinged former colonial salon, and from an enormous family room with en suite bathroom, to well manicured, a/c rooms opening onto the sparkling pool surrounded by a tropical garden, deluxe hammock and charming sitting areas. The non a/c rooms have some mosquitoes, but the super-powered ceiling fans help a lot, and the staff was immediately responsive and provided nets for us.

The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. Initially, we found the breakfast staff to be taciturn and not interactive, but as we got to know them and practiced our Spanish, we found all of the staff to be warm and very kind. We got to hear about the building's history, learned the meanings of symbols in the beautiful local art throughout, had help in ordering pizzas and arranging long-distance transport.

The location is awesome -- safe, convenient and non-touristy. The internet works pretty well -- we worked online from the hostel while staying there.

When my parents came to visit us, they stayed at Backpackers as well, and were so satisfied with their experience. One of their favorite things to do was to sit in the common area on the corner near Xalteva church and watch the parades, funerals and passersby for hours. We also enjoyed self-catered meals at the dining table in one of the luxurious common areas while watching the World Series.

A stay at Backpackers Inn is a real treat for an authentic and cultural experience in Granada. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank solachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful! Stayed here for two nights, the ladies at reception were so sweet and attentive. Even made us breakfast in the morning! Although there's a delicious cafe place in town.. We had a room right beside the pool which was so nice and quiet. Very breezy! There wasn't anyone else staying there so it was very quiet but hat was okay with us. Really nice pool table by the pool as well! Also located beside a beautiful church with a great view from the top

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

This is a beautiful mansion centrally located there are lots of wide verandas and private 'nooks ' for 'chiilin'. There is a great swimming pool just outside my room which is clean and wonderful to use. The rooms are okay. Air conditioning okay. The tiny tellies have cable but the remotes don't have the option to convert language to english. The room wasn't cleaned during my three night stay. Only one staff member spoke English but they were all very friendly. The wifi didn't work inside my room. The breakfast was ordinary and options limited. The fruit salad wasn't edible and the coffee cold. Also the utensils were dirty. They keep the area padlocked which is good for security but I came back at 5 pm for a shower and couldn't find a staff member to let me in. I checked out other places but thought for the money this was the best deal but I'd ask for a cheaper price without the breakfast

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
Thank familygirlaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.0 km away
Mansion de Chocolate
Mansion de Chocolate
#21 of 45 in Granada
199 reviews
0.0 km away
GM Granada Hostel
GM Granada Hostel
#4 of 74 in Granada
160 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Cultural Casa Del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hostel La Siesta
Hostel La Siesta
#3 of 74 in Granada
165 reviews
0.0 km away
The Surfing Donkey at the Lake
0.0 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#2 of 45 in Granada
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn

Address: Corner of Real Jalteva St. and Barricada Ave, Granada 0000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: RM254 - RM364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing