We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxed stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje & Cafe Ruiz
Reviewed 10 September 2016

The Hotel is very close to the center. You can walk to all the nice places in Granada from here. The family that runs the hotel is very friendly. In the morning you will get a free coffee. There is no restaurant in the hotel any more, but you find a lot of places around.
We took a room with air con and it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefanschuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Room was located in a great part of Granada city. However the annemnities were lacking- wifi was not accessible in the room, walls were covered in boogers, and one of the staff was impatient and rude when trying to communicate in Spanish (woman in her early 40s), other staff were polite and helpful. Was able to make a reservation in advance - they responded quickly, that was nice. Good laundry and tour company one block up to the left. Great nightlife nearby. They also host loud parties. Bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: Rooms close to lobby are noisy- parties and fireworks should be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We stayed for three nights at the Hospedaje Ruiz after making a room reservation over the phone. It's located at the end of a road with lots of restaurants, so you're in an excellent location both for accessing places to eat and having a drink, but also because it's at the end of the road it's quiet.

The room is basic and clean. We used the fan to keep ourselves cool and that was sufficient. The typical Nicaraguan breakfast was made by the owner of the Hospedaje and it was delicious. You do feel like you're sharing their home given that the breakfast tables and chairs are adjacent to the family's living room. The owner was also very nice to arrange breakfast at the time that suited us. On a couple of days, for example, we ate by about 6am in order to make an early start for our hike to Mombacho, as well as to make our onward journey to the Corn Islands.

Through the hostel owners we were also introduced to a local guide with whom we arranged a number of trips to various sites of interest like the Los Isletas, the drive to Mombacho (which is outside of Granada) and the Apoyo lake. The local guide, called Will, was very good.

There is free wifi in the hostel but it wasn't available in our room.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMarroushi2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015 via mobile

Our family of 4 spent a night here and had a good experience. The family who runs it is friendly and were available to answer our questions about Granada and the surrounding areas. The location is great as it is on the main stretch of restaurants, but the rooms are far back enough that we did not hear any noise from the streets. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, but there was not a lot of air flow with only an overhead fan and one window. It was a bit warm and stuffy. But waking up to birds chirping and eating at the cafe (price not included with stay, but very reasonable) made a good start to the day. I'd recommend it as a fairly authentic Nicaraguan stay!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

If you're looking for a home away from home then this is your place. Doña Amparo and family were amazing. A simple hotel with simple rooms but everything is clean. Well definitely be back and hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyNyc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0 km away
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
Jicaro Island Ecolodge Granada
#1 of 4 in Isletas de Granada
351 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,076 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#4 of 45 in Granada
730 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#8 of 45 in Granada
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje & Cafe Ruiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje & Cafe Ruiz

Address: Calle la Calzada de Catedral 3 1/2, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing