We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
9
12
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
12
10
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights, friends with teenage kids, we had everything we needed. Very close to gondola, train and ski bus station, shops, restaurants, thermal spa. Beautiful view from our rooms' terraces, comfortable beds, good food, friendly staff, nice swimming pool and spa, ski storage, nice lobby caffe. No wi fi in rooms, but they were just changing it.
Hotel with homy atmosphere.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monika W, Manager at Hotel & Gesundheitszentrum Baerenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear Sandra S,

thank your for taking time to share experience from your point of view at our place. We are glad that you loved your stay. We hope you will come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week during the new years and it was amazing! The hotel is in a great location with the gondola about a 5 min walk just across the street! Nearby is the thermal baths, eurospar, and a few nice shopping and food places. You can also walk 10 min down the hill into the valley to the city center, waterfall, and shopping. Our stay included breakfast, lunch, dinner, which were all very tasty and delicious. Every room in the hotel has a view of either the slopes or the valley. Only downside might be no WiFi in the rooms and TV in the rooms only have 5 English channels which are mostly news. I would very much recommend staying here other than hotels down the hill near the centrum because its a perfect walk to the mountain which would not be so fun walking from down the hill up every morning!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during a ski vacation. Good food and wellness. Close to the lifts and old town. Very nice sauna and relax facilities. You can store your ski boots heated. Nice personell and service. Made our Christmas stay.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank EJCornelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel has a fantastic view of Bad Gastein and the valley. It is i a climb from the city center and from the ski lifts and the train station. Nice, service mindes staff in beutiful Austrian dresses. Breakfast is ok, not super due tio week coffee and watery juice. Nice pool and sauna facilities. Sauna is pleasantly hot. Minus for lack of wi-fi in hotel rooms, only in lobby. Nice and clean rooms however.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
3  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Nice location. Nice and friendly service staff. Nice and large rooms for this standard hotel. + This hotel has = the most spectacular view. Clean. Nice bar. Nice spa-area. Nice price.

Nice to know: I often prefer local hotels to large international hotels. And this is a hotel where also the Austrian residents stays (unlike Salzburger Hof which holds an international standard). It does make quite a difference. In this case: e.g. It makes the spa-experience quite different: They really do give you a funny look if you're wearing something in the sauna. The spa is a nude area. It makes the food-experience different. The kitchen serves (what I think is) traditional Austrian food.

Two major drawbacks: The food = it is really boring: Whatever you get, it tastes pretty much the same. In my opinion: not worth paying for. The wifi: It is only available in reception area!

All in all. If I didn't get a room with a view - I would probably not choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toneschj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews