We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome.”
Review of Le Comptoir

Le Comptoir
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Senlis
Price range: US$11 - US$31
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A delightful find in a very pleasant town. Tucked away in at the beginning of a cut-de-sac, we called in just for coffee. But of course there were some tempting sweet and savoury options though we decided against them. There was a lunch menu, but mid-morning was a bit too soon.
Pleasant friendly service by the two ladies working there, the sort of place that makes you want to linger.
We stopped off in Senlis after leaving Paris on our way north. It was only intended to be a coffee stop, but we spent quite some time in the town. It is quite delightful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

During pass-by in Senlis, took the opportunity for a light lunch. The menu is not exhaustive, but with good variety. Very tasteful tea complemented the salad lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WS_55_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara S, Propriétaire at Le Comptoir, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Tank you for your coming,
See you soon in our coffee shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

It was a cold winter and being stranded on the street in Senlis after a futile visit to Chateau de Chantilly and surrounding museums which were all closed on tuesday,I was really glad to have found this cozy place with hot warm Choco Comptoir!Rich in flavor yet it is not too sweet. The friendly staff was very helpful too when I was lost on the transportation in this city!

Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara V, Propriétaire at Le Comptoir, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Thank you,
We hope to see you soon in our coffee shop to taste others hot chocolates and sweets.
And enjoy with us a good moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We found this tea shop and restaurant in lovely Senlis, off one of the cobbled streets in the old town, whilst looking around on Saturday. The main interior is an elegant wood-panelled Salon de The and shop (selling coffee beans and a dazzling array of loose teas), but beyond is a delightful sunny terrace where lunch is served. We were warmly welcomed and quickly seated, ordering the iced tea du jour. A nice touch is that it comes 'au naturel' with a little pot of sugar to add according to your own taste.

To start we had tartare au concombre (chopped cucumber and mint in fromage frais) with a little salad, then Salades Paysanne (grilled goat's cheese on toast, smoked ham, boiled egg, tomatoes, walnuts and lots of lettuce). Both dishes were superb and really fresh, perfect for the hungry on a hot day. Ignoring the fact a substantial meal had already been dispatched, we ploughed on with delicious home-made ice cream (vanilla, pistachio and violet) and then espresso with cute tiny pink meringues.

Service is promptly and pleasantly delivered by smiling and accommodating staff who have a sense of humour. The presentation of food was excellent and everything clean and at your fingertips. Although we didn't have wine, a small but thoughtfully-chosen list of French fare is available at reasonable prices (this bottle of Bandol rose looked ravishing at €22).

This is a terrific place for a simple, elegant lunch in very private but informal surroundings. Our chatty fellow diners were mostly French, likely locals, in couples, pairs or small family groups. In charge of dining at the next table was a platinum blond Chihuahua who convinced his owner to surrender most of her lunch and was brought a water bowl that could easily have doubled as a bath.

Highly recommended and good value at about €55 for three courses and mocktails.
Clean (unisex) loo. English is spoken. Cards are accepted - and of course dogs :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SCM_Tearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara S, Gérant at Le Comptoir, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you very much ,
We are very happy you enjoyed our tea room restaurant , all the-staff is doing his best.
We hope welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

It was not the first time having a nice lunch here. The place is very kind and nice, it is so good to spend the lunch time here. The food is always very nice, I think I have eaten one my best ever apple tarte here! The crew is really friendly and it was so good to shop a bit some nice products as a present for my family.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maróth Andrásné Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Comptoir also viewed

 

Been to Le Comptoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing