We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, lovely people, wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Verbena

Poll area and patios
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poll area and patios
Pool area looking south Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Poll area and patios
Pool area looking south
Balcony
Sitting area and view
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Bedroom
Fodele beach
Fodele beach from pier
Church of the Panagia
Fodele bay from old castle
Stream
Nature walk
Nature walk
Pool area looking south
Fodele square
Park next to entrance
Main street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Fodhele, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
410EMZ
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing, lovely people, wonderful place”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived after 12am but were warmly welcomed by our fantastic hosts Ken and Helen at the local tavern and shared some of the delicious local wine. They gave us advice and an insight into the local area and told us how to make the most of our weeks stay.

Before our arrival, Ken had asked us if we wanted anything from the shop. knowing we wouldn't be able to go until morning. We asked for bread, water and milk and Helen gave us some of her wonderful homemade marmalade this was a nice touch and meant we could have something to tie us other until we could go out.

The place was clean and the kitchen was well equipped so if you decided not to eat out you would be more than capable of cooking most dishes. The aircon in both the kitchen and bedroom were more than adequate and kept the apartment wonderfully cool.

The shared pool had plenty of space and fighting for a sun lounger was never the case with there always being a choice.

If the pool doesn't take your fancy the local beach is a walkable distance and we did this every other day without issue. It's a nice, interesting walk down through the hills. The return journey is half hour uphill but is more than manageable for people of all ages with benches for breaks along the way, if needed. The beach itself is clean with plenty of room as guests from the beach hotel do not venture beyond their sun loungers. We could safely leave our bags and go for a swim.

The apartment itself is located in the heart of the village offering a variety of warm and inviting tavernas to spend lazy afternoons or evenings. All the food is very good but all share similar menus of meat and chips or salads.

This review would not be complete without mentioning Smoothie George from Bistro Domenico who you will fall in love with by the end of the first night. His food is amazing and his company is better still. Would have to recommend making a request for one of his home cooked greek dishes; he buys in fresh local ingredients specifically to your taste. The options are found in the welcome pack in the accommodation.

We are a couple who were looking for a quiet retreat and found sanctuary here. After week we could have happily have stayed and fully understand why people return every year.

We would recommend this holiday for anyone looking for a quite and intimate holiday experience but within easy driving distance of towns and tourist areas. You will not be disappointed.

Contact Ken for a detailed description of the local area and what it has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the balcony never got old
Liked least: Difficulty to find the place
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jono1988
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment in beautiful location”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012

A fantastic break in Fodele in September 2012. The apartments are just what you would hope for - clean, well maintained, good swimming pool, nice neighbours. It was also exceptionally good value.

Fodele itself is a lovely village, with a good choice of tavernas. The beach is 1.5 miles walk down the road - easy if you have a car, but also perfectly OK to do if you don't mind a 20 min walk.

Would highly recommend a holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthie050...
Beechworth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely locals, noisy animal orchestra”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had a very nice week in unit "daisy" . Very clean, everything we needed, good management team and delightful next door neighbors. Great little village with friendly people and cheap, good food but the noise at night from dogs howling, sirens sounding, motorbikes and roosters from 4 am were unreasonable. The dogs are close by and unrelenting some nights. Maybe if you keep the air-con on all night you may get some sleep but it certainly is a problem. The church bells ring from close by early on Sunday morning and are very loud however this wasn't really a problem as we were already up for tha day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local beer and village people
Liked least: Dogs howling all night
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruby1988
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great apartment, lovely village, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our stay was just what we'd hoped for. The apartment was clean and well-equipped, with views over both the village and hillside. We tried most of Fodele's tavernas and enjoyed some great food and a friendly reception. The 3km walk down to the beach was very manageable, and there's a bus stop near the beach with fairly regular buses to both Heraklion and Chania, so a car really isn't essential.

Thanks to Ken and Helen for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$49
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing