We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views, great pool, beautiful place”
Sunset over Tropea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset over Tropea
From the Terrace March 2016 View of Stromboli Volcano from Tropea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
Sunset over Tropea
From the Terrace March 2016
View of Stromboli Volcano from Tropea
View from roof terrace
21 March 2016
Pool
Pool
106
106
106
111
111
111
111
111
111
Roof Terrace
Santa Maria dell'Isola, Tropea, Italy
Famous red onions of Tropea!
From the Terrace 21 March 2016
21 March 2016
Terrace - 21 March 2016
21 March 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Parghelia, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Sausage19
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tired property, poorly maintained and poorly managed”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Apartment 106
1. The water was not working on the day we arrived. On investigation, we discovered that there was a stopcock next to the toilet which had been turned off, perhaps by the previous tenants. This took several hours to resolve with no action from the agents except to say "perhaps the pool was being filled." I also reported that the light in the main room was out - no action taken.
2. The following day there was no water again.
3. The third day, the gas ran out as we were cooking breakfast. It had obviously not been checked.
4. There were no j-cloths, cleaning cloths, washing up brushes or tea towels. Also no washing liquid, bathroom cleaner etc.
5. Many of the cups were chipped or cracked and could harbour germs.
6. The pans were in quite bad condition, one non-stick frying pan in particular was very scratched.
7. Much of the flat was grubby. The cupboard for plates smelt of stale food. The plates were greasy. The cutlery and its tray had to be washed. The kettle was splattered with cooking grease.
8. The shower tray was brown with dirt.
9. The floor of the toilet had a dip which held water like a paddling pool. There was no bath mat.
10. There was no toaster, yet the description said there was one.
11. The final point which made it hard to reconcile with the description, was that the complex, although it is near Parghelia, was up a mountain. I knew there were hills there and that we were on a hill, from the pictures. What it did not say, was that there was an incredibly steep hill to the apartments which is the only way in and out. The description says it would be suitable for people with restricted mobility - no way. We do not drive and although the description said a car was "advisable" it did not, as it should have done, say "essential." We ended up getting taxis with shopping or late, after dinner, which €10.

in the apartment we moved into on the last night (111), the shower drain was blocked. The window was really hard to open. There was no outside door handle (!) and finally, the sofa bed which was supposed to sleep 2 was tiny, uncomfortable and narrow. My kids hardly slept and we had to be up at 6.

In all, the apartments could just do with a little more care and attention. The owner needs to spend a little money on them and the agents need to be much more pro-active, then you would find people returning year after year. I found the agents extremely unhelpful, slow to respond and quick to pass the blame for the condition of the apartment on their age. I could have told them that my house is 6 times that age, but it is never filthy. I'm no neat freak but I do expect things that I have paid for to work and if they don't, that they be fixed quickly and efficiently. I don't expect to spend my first day cleaning and then not to be able to shower when returning from the beach.

The complex is very scenic, with a beautiful view of Tropea. The pool area is also great and you can watch the sunset over Stromboli as you swim. But choose another apartment and hire a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surrounding area and pool
Liked least: Dirty, things not working, location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Location, beaches
Liked least: Coming Home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jan 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond and am certain that future guests will find your comments useful. I am glad that you had an enjoyable time and will look forward to hopefully welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MoniqueMo...
Munstergeleen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parghelia hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing