We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Il Campanile
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Europa(Minori)
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Breakfast included
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (34)
    Filter reviews
    34 results
    Traveller rating
    13
    10
    2
    5
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    13
    10
    2
    5
    4
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 34 reviews
    Reviewed 11 July 2014

    We booked a week in July at Agricultura il Campanile after having read the rave reviews here on tripadvisor. We where looking forward to a relaxing week, my husband, myselfnand our 4 month baby, mostly spent on the lemon scented terrace, outside our very basic but nice house. Unfortunately that is not what we got.

    There are four problems: damp (and thereby mould), insects, distance and add on charges.
    - Although the outside air does not feel damp, the entire house does, to the extent that all our clothes were damp after the first night and so was the bed we slept in. The dampness creates mould, which the entire house smells of. Mould can also be seen in places in the house, e.g. the shower. This was not a place where we felt comfortable sleeping, and definitely not a place for our 4 month old baby.
    - The setting, in a lemon plantation, apparently means lots of insects, especially biting insects. If you stay here you need to be aware of this, as it made the beautiful terrace hard to spend time on during large parts of the day (in particular evenings and mornings when the terrace was in the shade), without being bitten by insects. They were also in the house, and the first night I awoke itching all over. Again, not a relaxing vacation setting, and for sure not a good place for a baby.
    - Third, the distance from the centre of Minori. The steps mentioned in other reviews were not the main problem. The real problem is that one has a further 1.6km reasonably steep walk from the town centre to the beginning of the steps. We are young fit people and do not mind walking, but having to walk a total of 2 km (steps included) steep uphill every time you want to get from the town to the house is a hassle. The alternatives are to drive (parking in Minori costs €3/hour) or to use a minibus service that runs every 90 minutes.
    - Fourth, the extra charges that you may end up paying. For a start, if you have a car it will cost €8/24hours to park at the bottom of the steps. Then everything beyond the house itself cost extra. It felt a bit like a Ryanair flight, were the final price ends up being significantly higher than expected. To illustrate, a change of towels or bed linens is €18 each. For that price we could buy new towels each day...

    We ended up leaving after only two days, moving to a beautiful small hotel in Maiori, where we ended up paying less per night that at il Campanile, parking and breakfast included, and getting just what we wanted from our vacation.

    Having said all this, Il Campanile does have an amazing view from the terrace, and the scent of lemon in the air is quite magical. And Salvatore and Ornella are wonderful people, kind, hospitable and always smiling. They helped us up with our bags (and offered to carry them down too, after we left early). And they where very reasonable when we said we could not stay, let us pay for 3 nights (we stayed for 2) and showed no hard feelings whatsoever.

    In conclusion, if you are willing to sleep in damp bed linen with a smell of mould, and don't mind mosquito bites and lots if uphill walking, you will have a great vacation here, with beautiful views and nice hosts. If not, I recommend you to find alternative accommodation.

    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    3  Thank 731jessicaj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2014

    We arrived, on motorcycles, with little evening light left. Be prepared for a steep climb up steps to a camping pitch. They wanted money 'up-front', and knew it was too late in the day to get anywhere else.
    Paid more here than anywhere on an extensive tour of Eastern Europe, for worse facilities (the water cut off whilst we were there) than anywhere else.
    Excellent view, and met nice fellow campers, but little else to recommend.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dave R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 June 2013

    We stayed here for two nights camping. It has a spectacular view to wake up to every morning, only room for about four tents. The owner obviously makes up his own prices and starts very high so barter hard for the campsite. It has a basic kitchen with a fridge which is handy. A 20minute walk straight downhill into town. Don t accept the offer of the local wine on arrival, its 5 euros and is worse than vinegar!

    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank amanda w
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 June 2013

    This is a great little place perched on the hill on the north side of Minori. To get there you have to climb a fair amount of steps but the effort is worth it! the view on Ravello is amazing and homemade food awaits there if you ordered it. They also have some lemon produces and homemade wine for sale. The limoncello is the best one I ever tried!

    Room Tip: This is a great place if you like walking/hiking, it really captures the spirit of the amalfi coast. If you are aiming for a posh-looking hotel and the only stroll you want to do is to the swimming pool, this is not your place...
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank David P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 January 2013

    My husband and I stayed here late September 2012. We were met in the village by Ornella and her husband Salvatore who took us up to the apartment. As other reviewers have stated there are lots of steps but this was not a problem for us as Salvatore carried all our luggage and we took our time and enjoyed the wonderful scenery. The apartment is beautiful all modern conveniences one double bedroom, one with bunk beds a bathroom (if I am to be a bit picky I dont like shower curtains) and a kitchen/dining room. There are two apartments (one on the ground floor and one first floor) we stayed in the one on the upper floor. Each apartment has their own balcony and garden area with chairs and hammocks amongst the olive and lemon trees) I could go on forever and ever about the amazing scenery down the valley to Minori and the ocean and looking across to Ravello. There was a wedding on the first night we arrived and you could hear the wonderful opera music carry across the valley. We slept very well in the comfortable bed and quiet surroundings (usually I am a very light sleeper). We were provided with red wine (homemade) and lemonade every day (there is a small charge of €5 per bottle of wine and it was very good). Ornella would also leave lemons and tomatoes for us.If you need any shopping Ornella will kindly arrange that for you. We had read about her homecooked dinners and decided to order one evening and we were not disappointed. All of the vegetables and fruit and wine come from their own produce. Previous to that I had mentioned to her that I liked rabbit and on that evening she surprised me by having rabbit for my main course. From the restaurant there are great views also. There is a local bus that stops outside the steps to the apartments and during the summer this runs on a regular basis however as it was late in September the bus was not very frequent and the last one was at 7pm in the evening. Taxis are available however and one evening we were sitting in the piazza at the Church where the bus stop is and the owner of the cafe in that piazza saw that we were waiting a long time and approached us to see if he could help. He called a local guy Maurizzo (sorry if I have spelled your name wrong) to taxi us and after the first night we would ring him and he would come to the village for us. The local people are very nice and friendly and Minori itself is beautiful, lovely walks along the promenade where the locals come together every evening. From Minori there are local buses that take you to any of the other resorts. We visited Ravello, Amalfi, Positano and many more. We also took the boat to Capri. When we were leaving Ornella gave us a lovely gift, a hand painted ceramic bell which now sits in our kitchen and is a reminder of good times and good people. Our flight was leaving Naples early morning and the buses times were not suitable and taxis very expensive. Due to the fact that it was end of season and a quiet time for Salvatore he kindly agreed to taxi us to the airport and we were very grateful to them for this service. To sum up this area is beautiful, the apartment was spotlessly clean and has all mod cons, the owners and their son are wonderful people who will assist you in any way they can, the location is simply stunning and we would definitely have no hesitation in recommending Il Campanile.

    Room Tip: we would stay in any of the two apartments .
    • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Gereve
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews