We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
106
193
74
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
193
74
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering fridge freezer sister hotel sea view nearby spar takes approximately reception staff private car park peaceful relaxing holiday patio furniture roca mar swimming facilities separate bedroom large balcony rocky bar fit enough adjoining hotel
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a rest week holiday and chose Madeira as looked just the place. We were booked in at Roca Mar and upon arrival shown to our room in Royal Orchid next door and to be honest we were happy we were!
The Royal Orchid looked like a more superior hotel to the Roca Mar and we were happy with the huge room we were given that looks like its on the ground floor when in fact its the 4th!! Nice big balcony but always in the shade and hampered by a large unused terrace. Disappointed not overlooking sea.
Great fascilites like indoor and outdoor pools a large jacuzzi well equiped gym and saunas. Breakfast selection is very good and caters for all. The reception staff are nice and one in particular Catia was lovely. She helped with directions places to go and had a great sense of humour! We loved her!!
Bad Points.
Hotel looking tired. Decor and appliances in need of refurbing and replacing.Apparently its to be done in October 2019.
Not all rooms are overlooking the sea so balcony/terraces useless.
Resort very windy.
Steep hills and many steps so if a problem walking not the island for you.
Very few shops and restaurants nearby for walking to.
We have had a fantastic week in Madeira as we have gone out and about and done a couple of brilliant excursions but we both said if we return we will stay in Funchal as so much to do on your doorstep.
Thank you again Catia xx
Andy and Ali
406.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndySavva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back at our Resort.
With our best sunny regards from Madeira,
Yours sincerely
Rocamar Lido Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

I don’t wish to repeat what has been said by Gillian M and Richard B and others, so as a summary of our thoughts
1 Large rooms with plenty of storage
2 Good wifi coverage in room (probably due to the repeater stuck on the wall above the door!)
3 Good choice of food, even my vegetarian wife was satisfied. The restaurant is located in the adjoining Roca Mar hotel accessed by a link on the 3rd floor.
4 We liked the sunbathing/ swimming facilities. No serried ranks of sun beds here, just a series of small concrete platforms of varying shapes and sizes built into the cliff and linked by a winding path. Maybe a bit of a struggle for anyone with walking difficulties. They would have to stay by the main pool which has lift access.
5 And Finally.....this is not the only hotel we have stayed at which has problems with the local bird population trying to share your food, BUT its solution is a bit unique. A Harris hawk named Joe. He and his attendant humans patrol the area near to the restaurant and lo and behold............No pigeons or seagulls to be seen
This solution is typical of the slightly quirky nature of this hotel
Would be stay at this hotel again Yes

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back at our Resort.
With our best sunny regards from Madeira,
Yours sincerely
Rocamar Lido Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

I stayed at The Royal Orchid for a week in September. My room was excellent, very clean, very big, large balcony, well equipped and with fantastic views. I paid a supplement for the sea view. All staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The food was great with a good selection every day. The pools both inside and out were clean although the many steps would make some areas unsuitable for those with a disability. There were lots of areas with sun beds to relax. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back very soon.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations404, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back at our Resort.
With our best sunny regards from Madeira,
Yours sincerely
Rocamar Lido Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We booked a sea view studio apartment (most rooms are this) and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room.
Booking in was no hassle, our cases were taken to our room for us. We booked on a room only basis, so we were pleased to have a decently equipped mini-kitchen with plenty of utensils. The twin beds were huge, TV OK, plenty of storage space. The balcony was large with loads of space.
Although cars parking was a little bit tight outside the hotel, there was a free private car park for residents.
There were several hotel restaurants, one offering "all you can eat" for €25, and an adjacent steak house.
There were several restaurants within a 5 minute walk, some giving excellent value for money. There was also a nearby Spar mini supermarket providing most items you would need to self-cater.
Night life was restricted to in-house entertainment, not much locally.
The hotel was situated on cliffs and had a myriad of quiet terraces for sunbathing and the views were spectacular. If you want a quiet area to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations404, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back at our Resort.
With our best sunny regards from Madeira,
Yours sincerely
Rocamar Lido Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel which we really enjoyed. We had a lovely, big, well-equipped room which was a bit worn but very comfortable. The staff were always helpful and friendly. We had breakfast included which was good - plenty of choice and there are several good restaurants within easy walking distance for the evening meal. My husband used the diving centre based there and found the staff very friendly and helpful. We were pleased with the gym. spa and pools and getting a sunbed was never an issue! We would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Car0l63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operations404, Public Relations Manager at Royal Orchid, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your preference and most appreciated feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back at our Resort.
With our best sunny regards from Madeira,
Yours sincerely
Rocamar Lido Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews