We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ”
Review of Grain

Grain
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 18/09
20:00
Ranked #4 of 795 Restaurants in Norfolk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Description: At Grain, we're elevating the beer garden concept, all the way to the roof of the Hilton Norfolk The Main to be exact. With one of the best selections of craft beer in Norfolk, this rooftop lounge brings the indoors out and the outdoors in with an open air patio and fire pit set against spectacular views of the Elizabeth River. Play a game of lawn chess in the patio's backyard garden vibe or rack-up a game in the upscale billiards room, Grain is your destination to relax and unwind.
Restaurant details
Description: At Grain, we're elevating the beer garden concept, all the way to the roof of the Hilton Norfolk The Main to be exact. With one of the best selections of craft beer in Norfolk, this rooftop lounge brings the indoors out and the outdoors in with an open air patio and fire pit set against spectacular views of the Elizabeth River. Play a game of lawn chess in the patio's backyard garden vibe or rack-up a game in the upscale billiards room, Grain is your destination to relax and unwind.
Reviewed 22 July 2021 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding service by our waiter and he was actually in training by Carlton. Never would have guessed he wasn't a seasoned employee. The appetizer, spinach & artichoke dip was great but the shrimp (bang bang) tacos were out of this world! I had the funnel fries for dessert and they came with a fabulous chocolate dipping sauce. I honestly had a spectacular time and the outdoor dining on the 5th floor patio overlooking the Elizabeth River can't be bought. I will be going back very soon!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2021

Excellent!! Excellent atmosphere and EXCELLENT service!! Riley, you were ABSOLUTELY GREAT!! Would have never known it was only your 3rd shift!!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 531jeniseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

Recently stopped here on a Monday afternoon for a beer and some afternoon snacks. We thought we could grab a table outside with some shade. We were sat rather quickly and that is were the quick ended. We were seated outside in the sun hoping an umbrella could be opened to provide some shade. After about 10 minutes waiting for a server we found out it was too windy to open the umbrella. Oh well, I would have thought they would have figured out how to solve this issue being on a rooftop near a waterfront. So we were seated again closer to the building and again had to wait for a new server. It was not too busy and they seemed staffed adequately and I could not figure out what the issues to get a server were. Anyways, we order the Spinach and Artichoke Dip and the Bang Bang Shrimp. Both were good. We received the check and it was incorrect as the happy hour beers were ordered were all charged at full price. This was finally resolved and we went on our way. Seems like a great place to grab a drink and enjoy rooftop views and the cross breezes, however they may need to work on organizational aspect of the service.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SCCam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021

Absolutely LOVE the brunch! Best buffet by far in terms of selection. Definitely come early & be ready to wait. But it’s worth it! Staff & servers are always friendly and doing a great job. Addie was our server this time & she’s fantastic! Super friendly & prompt! All in all, worth the time & the money! Beautiful atompsphere and amazing selection of foods!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank 336brik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2021 via mobile

It takes a lot to manage a table of substantial size in any restaurant, but especially in such a place as this. Grain was busy as all hell, as it always is for brunch, and despite this Addie was personable and lovely and accommodating for our large celebratory party (which would totally have been a reservation if they took them).

Thanks, Addie, from someone who hasn't seen this group of family in too long, for facilitating a lovely brunch amidst the madness.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank R5263IBjoshuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Grain also viewed

 

Been to Grain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.