We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$91
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Vila Gama(Machico)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Reviews (948)
    Filter reviews
    948 results
    Traveller rating
    136
    366
    282
    106
    58
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    136
    366
    282
    106
    58
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsexpress busclose to the airportminutes from the airportparrot showoverlooking the bayentertainment every nightbit datedeuros per personbars and restaurantstea and coffee making facilitieshired a carmadeira winegreat holidayeach eveningplenty of choiceoutdoor poolisland
    Filter
    Updating list...
    20 - 25 of 948 reviews
    Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

    easyJet allocated this hotel to us as our flights were cancelled due to poor weather in UK. We had already been at another 4 star hotel for 3 days prior to this and were here for another 4 days. What a disappointment this hotel was. The only compensation for us was that easyJet were paying. Our room 126 was on the lower ground floor along a dull, depressing, musty, noisy, tiled corridor. You could hear everyone's conversation and footsteps echoing round at all times of day and night. Floor tiles continued into the room, not even a rug at the sides of the bed....DON'T FORGET TO BRING YOUR SLIPPERS WHEN YOU COME HERE. Any of the rooms along this corridor would have the same marvellous view of the back of another accommodation block directly in front. There was also an interconnecting door and thin walls so you could hear other guests and their television. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, but we struggled to sleep because of the noise.
    WE did not expect the best room in the hotel but it would not have been acceptable had we been paying.
    As other guests have commented, the hotel needs updating. In particular, the area leading into the restaurant was like a school hall with the chairs lined up facing the television.
    Meals were a bit disappointing.... the choice was limited and items soon ran out if you went after 8.00 in the evening. Lunch was the best meal of the day.
    The location of the hotel was convenient for Machico, which is a lovely town and for the airport.
    I would have rated this as average had it not been classed as a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    2  Thank ecclescake13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 March 2018

    Was impressed With the hotel and the staff were very friendly we really enjoyed our stay on our last night at the hotel we found a bottle of Champagne to our surprise when we asked the staff about it we were told it was because it was my birthday the breakfast was great really enjoyed the variety of food and amazing views from our hotel room window the pool area Wes very clean

    Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    Thank Jan M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your comments.

    We were delighted in welcoming you at Dom Pedro Madeira, and happy that you have spent your birthday with us.

    Please do not hesitate to contact us could we ever be of any assistance. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

    Kind regards
    Dom Pedro Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 March 2018

    On our first evening we asked to buy a bottle of wine to have with our meal and were told we couldn't have any, we weren't All Inclusive. This is ridiculous, we wanted to pay! The staff barely spoke, the food was poor quality and outside of the hotel lobby the public areas were depressing. The room was clean, quiet, spacious with a good view and rough towels.

    • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Jaxx100
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Madeira during your visit to Madeira and for your comments.

    We were delighted in welcoming you, and are sorry to learn about the above. We find the situation abnormal as we do have a wine menu at the Restaurant at our guests disposal,

    Neverthless, we hope you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Island and remain at your disposal could we ever be of any assistance.

    Kind regards
    Dom Pedro Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 February 2018

    Room and whole Hotel was clean and neat - well maintained.
    Had lots of areas we didn't even explore. Superb views over shore and harbour.
    Had organised activities each day and evening entertainment.
    Breakfast was buffet incl. Hot dishes, was very good with plenty of choice.
    Staff were excellent - very helpful when needed but unobtrusive when not.
    We had a particular need due to a sleep apnoea problem, but staff were able to find an appropriate extension lead for the pump with no trouble at all, within minutes.
    Due to a car accident just before leaving UK I needed to sign some documents sent to my phone. They were happy to print them off of an email I sent and deliver them to me with no fuss or charge. Better than a business centre.
    Advertised free Wi-Fi in central areas, but actually provided quality Wi-Fi for free in room.
    Very well located to wander down into Machito or stroll along the seafront. Machito is a good alternative to stopping in a much more built-up Funchal.
    Adequate car parking around the Hotel.
    Would happily stop there again anytime.

    Room Tip: Corner Room was nice as overlooked the sea and the extensive gardens. Beds were nicely firm.
    • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    3  Thank Paul E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

    Dear Guest,

    It was a pleasure welcoming you at Dom Pedro Madeira and we would like to thank you for your preference.

    Thank you as well for your nice comments. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

    With kind regards
    Dom Pedro Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

    This hotel is very nice and I’m loving staying here it has some up and downs 1 the lift is all ways Breaking down I have been here now for 3 days and every day the lift is Woking then the next min the lift not working and you are down from 2 working lifts to 1 lift working. 2 when you have breakfast here it’s wow you have lots to choose from you have cooked food just to bad the baked beans are so hard it’s like bullets that’s the only thing bad about it you all so can have lots to eat like ham and cheese croissant cakes cereals and you have lots to drink as well coffee tea and yoghurts fruits for breakfast I give 9.5 out of 10 that’s a wow for me it’s a shame the snooker table does not work I love the pool as I used it today the staff here so lovey and friendly to bad it’s only single beds as I can’t cuddle up to my wife that’s the only bad thing but love the room so much if they can get this sorted out I would of gave 5 Star rating I will come back again next year with more of my family and friends I hope this will be sorted by then staying here till 03-03-18

    Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    1  Thank Jose Marcio G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Madeira during your visit to Madeira, as well as your comments.

    We are happy to learn that you are enjoying your stay with us, and would like to inform that double beds are available in our hotel. We would have been delighted in changing your room had we known your preference. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel, and you may rest assured that a double bed will be allocated.

    We remain at your entire disposal could we ever be of any assistance.

    Kind regards
    Dom Pedro Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews