We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveller rating
292
347
145
73
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
292
347
145
73
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday special salad poolside cala mallorca
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 890 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2019

Please ignore earlier reviews of this hotel as the current situation bears no similarity to those reviews.
From the moment we arrived to check in until the moment we left we were delighted with everything. The check in was perfect, including a complimentary glass of Cava, being given our all inclusive armbands, even though we were early for our room.
Accommodation: The room was on the ninth floor and was spotless. The room had everything we needed, good sized bathroom with huge shower, comfortable bed and wifi. Daily maid service was excellent with fresh towels daily.
Pool area: Large pool area with adequate numbers of sunbeds with umbrellas. Pool bar was excellent. One could help oneself to burgers, fries, sandwiches, salads, fruit etc. Platters were refreshed on a regular basis so that food was hot and tasty. The drinks were managed by the lovely Maria who was always cheerful and efficient. Local brew Mahou was the beer served and it was always fresh and cold. Cocktails were always available also and were of a high quality.
Restaurant: We were on all inclusive and were never tempted to eat elsewhere. The selections were extensive, refreshed regularly and of a very high quality. The same applies to the lobby bar, great selection of quality drinks and prompt service
In summary, we can't recommend this hotel enough. I think a lot of other "All Inclusive" hotels could take lessons from Roc Carolina. There was a generosity to their offering that I have never experienced before.

Date of stay: May 2019
3  Thank smacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream637324, Gerente at Aluasoul Carolina (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019


Thank you very much for the positive feedback you have given us and also for the recommendations, we hope to see you soon by the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel to visit.
Great people,
Good food,
At the beach,
Frontal view to the see from the rooms.
Small villages
Original nature to make trips
I do not like really big hotels, the Roc Carolina Hotel is everything we needed.
This makes me happy!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank josborgions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Gerente at Aluasoul Carolina (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear josborgions,

thank for all.
You had a great holiday,
This makes us happy too!

Lovely regards!

Your Roc Carolina team.

;o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We picked this hotel out of the Thomas Cook Belgium brochure, 1 week all inclusive (we did not get the option for bed&breakfast or half board, because I'm not a fan of all inclusive). There was little to find on the internet in terms of reviews as it was just newly renovated in winter season 16/17 and so we took a wild guess when booking this hotel. The pictures looked OK, so we booked for the last week of July.
We opted for a higher floor, the rooms 6-9 th floor, as they are slightly more expensive, but you hear less the evening animation and have great views, so worth paying that little extra.

it is a hotel with great potential, too bad they did a lousy job on the renovation. It could be really beautiful, they did not use the opportunity, they just wanted to have it open for the summer season. This hotel could be a really great place, but it's missing some things to be a 4* hotel. In my honest opinion, 3* would be a correct rating. Therefore I did not feel we got value for money to be honest.

Postives:
- all rooms have sea view - wonderful view (nice coastline here)
- clean hotel
- spa: indoor pool / sauna / hammam
- roof top: there are 2 Jacuzzi's and 6 sun loungers here, great to hang out during the day (*but there's no bar here during day, so cannot get any drinks)
- friendly staff , great waiters, reception, housekeeping (Maria from reception is the best! and so is head of housekeeping)
- breakfast: great breakfast, even though almost every day the same, you have great variety. A lot of options for food intolerance gluten/dairy free - have rice milk, soja milk, almond milk...)
- pool/beach towels available (although with deposit)
- bath robes and slippers available on request
- very practical bathroom with great shower (unfortunately badly finished during renovation, which is sad to see)
- pillow choices

Negatives:
- empty minibar in the room - i thought this was an all inclusive resort, so at minimum 2 small bottles of water a day should be included, but you can buy those at the bar for 1€ each - this is ridiculous. Water is basic thing for a 4*.
- you have to pay for pool towels to be changed (1€ to get clean one)
- you have to pay to use the safe?? unheard! i travel all the time and 4* hotel should not ask to pay to use the safe... this is so 80-90's...
- hotel Management: the German lady, whom I assume is the hotel manager, is visible and invisible at the same time. She's 'around' but does not seem to see the problems; she stands there in the restaurant but does not see there is not enough staff to refill food, glasses, plates, clean tables during lunch and dinner service. Every single day they ran out of glasses, plates, etc. She was then either standing there doing nothing, or eating at the same time as the guests (which I find inappropriate btw).
- All Inclusive: only between 10:30-23H for drinks, only food options until 21H, so if you get back late from an excursion, you can no longer eat at the hotel (we had this 3 times) and there is really not much around the hotel, so you would need to take taxi to Cala Ratjada then
- location: although it is very beautiful area, with splendid views, there is really nothing in Font de Sa Cala. For restaurant/bar/nighlife need to go 4 km further to Cala Ratjada, which is not great either (very focussed on Germans: wurst, pizza, pasta, burgers and beergarten) but has some nice bars (euforia and noah which have good music and tapas and cocktails). If you want to go for an evening walk after dinner and see nice shops and go for a nice bar, you're not in the right place in Cala Ratjada.
- food: no variety, we only stayed a week and we had several dishes 2x or 3x during that week. Food quality is mediocre, seems they use only deep frozen vegetables, which they don't season. So, watery overcooked vegetables, overcooked potatoes, no seasoning, soggy fries, ... The deserts are great.
- Drinks: limited options for drinks under the all inclusive formula, and low quality alcohol (e.g. very cheap gin, very cheap wines from the tap - even red wine is cold (?!)
- hotel recently been renovated but they seem not to have finished yet as they came in the room a couple of times to fix/do things and it's a mediocre renovation, sadly, it seems to be done in a rush and bad quality.
- bed mattresses! we did not sleep much, we first thought it were the pillows but no.
- no double beds, only separate beds... very annoying, as they are no 'fixed' so they move and as a couple, you cannot sleep in 1 bed. They should make them up as 1 double bed for couples.
- elevators: the new elevators are HOT, no airco. The old ones have not been renovated, 1 is broken btw and there's no paper saying it's out of service.
- animation is a disgrace: this was done by a German guy, who is rude to non Germans, saying we should not come to a 'German hotel' and had gone somewhere else, he obviously forgets there are children at the hotel and should behave accordingly, not walk around in a string, or dress up as drag queen half of the week and not flirt with every man he crosses. In short, his behaviour is very inappropriate and not in line with the hotel category either. Also, his animation is very 90's and even the older generation thought so.
- roof top bar: should be open all day
- beach / pool: for a hotel on the beach, I was negatively surprised you don't offer sun loungers on the beach. These need to be paid for separately. There are not enough sun loungers at the pool, so the hotel should come up with a solution here (and quality of sun loungers is very poor), there are hardly enough sunbeds for half of the rooms.
- pool bar / snack bar: very very basic and be careful here, as we ate here twice and got sick twice as well. The conditions here are not optimal. Food stands there all afternoon and after 5PM they start putting the food (incl. cakes) for the BBQ at 7PM already, in the heat). Anyhow, it's always the same: burgers, sausages, pizza...
- hotel lobby bar: most unattractive bar ever (inside I mean); so if it rains - like it did 2 days when we were there - you need to sit in a smelly lobby bar (I think it's the air conditioning) which looks like a cheap cafeteria.

recommendations:
- put more staff - these people work like crazy long days and need to be everywhere. If the hotel is full, there is not enough waiting staff.
- change animator
- there are not only Germans here, many Belgians too and there were Italians too, so please be cognizant of this when preparing food, animation, etc. You only seem to accommodate for the German taste and requirements.
- alcohol: Spain has very good inexpensive wines, and you are serving none of them. Also, you only serve sweet cava, please leave the the option
- room: they are not large but space is being well used, but very 'ikea' style. I truly recommend that they build in some drawers in the wardrobe as there are none to put stuff like underwear and swimwear. Invest in good bedding please! Minibar: at least put some water please. In the shower, there's nothing to put your shampoo/soap (in case you don't want to use the hotel soap hanging in the shower on the wall)
- opening hours of restaurant: closing at 9PM is to early, maybe foresee snacks in the bar after 9PM then, because if people leave on excursions they might get in later. Also, Germans eat at 7PM sharp, Belgians don't... but again you say this is a German hotel...

Room tip: take a higher floor
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Esteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Gerente at Aluasoul Carolina (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Steven,

We regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Of course, we re-opened the hotel recently and we are really proud of our beautiful new hotel, which in a time period of only 6 months becomes a 4 star hotel with 18 additional rooms (including 9 suites and 9 special rooms for handicapped guests).
Each room of the other 216 rooms has been enlarged. The spa, the gym, the fantastic Skybar and 2 elevators with view did not exist before. All the hotel has been completely adapted for wheelchairs. A really great achievement in such a short time.

The room equipment corresponds to the pictures, which you should have seen in the brochure. The design of our hotel is a special highlight for most of our guests. All rooms are bright and have sea view. We are one of the most modern hotels in Cala Ratjada.

Our food offer has been improved constantly during the last weeks and the majority of the guests are happy about our gastronomic offer. Unfortunately we could not meet your taste this time. The hotel management has to check the quality of the food and as you have noticed this is the case with us.

But I would like to apologize to you, if the service in the restaurant went wrong. We will work to ensure that will not happen again.

In addition, I regret that the communication from our entertainer (he is not German, he is Bulgarian) was not professional. It is really not our targets that any guest feel uncomfortable.

Dear Steven, we hope your return back to Belgium was pleasant and you have recovered well.

Best regards from all of us.

Your Roc Carolina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very new , everything looks awesome, but the staff can definitely improve on many points.
We wanted to check in and the lady that helped us spoke Spanish and German. The English was awful which left us to our own devices to figure out where our room was and how to get there. We came in around 23.00 and didn't have dinner yet, we saw that other guests who arrived at the same time got something to eat. We tried to communicate that we also would like something but there simply was no way to bring across what we wanted, so we just went to bed with an empty stomach.
The language gap is very noticeable and if you don't speak German i wouldn't book at this hotel.

However the food was great, go to the poolside where they have bbq evenings , its less busy and the food is freshly made for you.
Also the rooms are amazing, everything is new and you have a rain shower (not sure how to explain this in english) which awesome.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gwendolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Gerente at Aluasoul Carolina (Adults Only), responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Gwendolyn S,

Thank you for your recent opinion about your stay.
We are surprised by your opinion of our staff as usually we receive excellent feedback about their friendliness.

It is true that we are focused on German speaking customers but we speak also French, Spanish and English.

We regret that we have not lived up to your expectations and that your general impression of our hotel has been negatively affected.

Kind regards

Stefanie Göhring
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This was my first ever holiday abroad in 1967. I was 12. I was fantastic.
I am a little confused as to why the write up says built in 1987.They must mean done up a bit, and slightly renamed.
The hotel looks exactly as my old photos do, even the pool .
The grounds before the beach are different with a bit more concrete but basically not much.
We used to go to the town on a local bus every other day it was so unlike London. It was so strange to see all the old ladies dressed from head to toe in black dresses and cardigans.
The men used to take their goats and chickens on the bus aswell to sell in town. The buses didn't have windows just holes.
I wanted to return for for a trip down memory lane but after reading the reviews I think I will just have very happy memories of the past.
I remember the restaurant being so so good my mum and dad had lobster as a holiday special. I had lovely hot chocolate in the lounge/ bar area where there was entertainment with singers and flamenco shows.
Times change sadly and we move on.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank valspar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews