We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONT BE STAYING AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Stayed here in july for 10 nights all inc 3 adults 2 children had stayed here previously and had been fine,
This year this hotel seemed drab shabby dated, the food was the same day in day out
never hot always just warm or cold, the snack bar round pool served chips burgers chicken nuggets every single day ,again never hot
Entertainment at the evening was dreadful,
staff were nice if you were complimenting something but if you had a compliant or questioned anything they didnt want to know,
and to top it of one mornining while having breakfast there was coackroaches running around,but apparently this is due to the heat and climate I DONT THINK SO
overall ddnt enjoy our stay there this year and wont be staying again this is never a 4* hotel

Room Tip: request room at the back as noise from the road of a night is horrrendous especially at 4 5 6 am whe...
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank booboo050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Katmandu, Community Manager at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear booboo050,

In the first place we would like to thank you for choosing Sol Katmandu Park & Resort again as the hotel for your family holidays and for the time you’ve dedicated to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

The entire Sol Katmandu Park & Resort is really sad to know that your experience this time hasn’t been as pleasant as before. We sincerely hope you know that our intention is to provide wonderful and legendary vacation times to all our Guests and we’re really sorry to hear that it hasn’t been possible on this occasion.

Regarding the food, we’re truly sorry to know that you haven’t enjoyed but we would like to emphasise we have a daily menu which rotates every two weeks, trying to offer our guests a good variety of food. Our assortment is so big that obviously our main ingredients get repeated since we always try to offer at least more than 3 meat courses and 3 fish ones, our show cooking with fish, meat and vegetables freshly cooked, apart from others like vegetables, salads, starters, pasta, pizza, theme dishes like Mexican or Asian.

The topic of cockroaches is a delicate situation in all the islands with this weather. I would like to inform you that we do comply 100% with the legislation regarding pest control however being close to the sea and having a warm climatology is a major disadvantage. These insects arrived on the island 20 years ago from Egypt from the importation of Palm trees and have adapted extremely well to our climatology. We make more treatments a month as required by law. I am really sorry about this situation, but as you will understand, we can just develop a pest control strict policy, and cannot avoid having this natural happenings.
We would like to point out that this situation you lived was extremely rare and exceptional as we take such care about this topic and we strictly follow all the required procedures to avoid them.

Anyways we would like to thank you sincerely for all the feedback and all the comments you’ve share with us. They have been all considered by the Resort’s Direction to keep improving all our services day by day.

Please, if you change your mind and you decide to visit us again don't hesitate contacting Guest Experience department so they can give an alternative or an immediate solution.

We will be very pleased to welcome you once again and to assist you with any request you may have to make sure your stay with us is as pleasant as possible.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
There are newer reviews for Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

This was the first 2 week trip with our 4 year old son. We chose the hotel because of the water park and theme park attached and included with the package. Considering we went before half term started and supposedly had a free child place we still paid £3000 all inclusive. On arrival the staff were really helpful and efficient, especially the lady who gave us our wrist bands. Everything was explained to us in great detail. The room was very small, hardly any wardrobe space and the beds took up most of the room. The rooms were clean and cleaned every day. However, the corridors were really noisy at night. People were very ignorant when returning to their rooms late at night and very loud. We were looking out of the front of the hotel and about 4am it got noisy with party goers. I'm a light sleeper so this woke me up but wasn't too much of a problem. I think there was only one night where it stopped me sleeping. The food was quite good but got a bit samey each day. The snacks were your usual chips and nuggets but there was an abundance of fresh fruit every day including melon and delicious, juicy cherries. The food at breakfast and dinner was nice and fresh but got a bit the same after being there a couple of weeks. The beach is 10 mins walk either way. We found Palma Nova was nicer. The hotel is next to the bus stop so easy to get to Palma. The drinks with the all inclusive were ok. There was a good choice. All the staff were lovely and friendly and all very helpful. There is a kids club which looked really well done. The sun loungers were very uncomfortable and a little bit crammed together. I wouldn't go back mainly down to the price. There are other hotels at Palma nova which are cheaper and closer to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Katmandu, Community Manager at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Lisa,

On behalf of the whole Sol Katmandu Park and Resort team, we would like to thank you for the time you've spent to write this detailed feedback about your recent stay with us.

Thank you so much for all the kind words towards our staff. We take such pride in our resort and our staff and it is very important to us that every guest receives this star treatment from our staff.

Regarding to external noise I would like to emphasize that despite being a family hotel, with a wide range of entertainment and fun for families, the hotel is located in Calviá Beach, a touristic area with a lot of life day and night and the hotel cannot be held responsible for the actions of people outside the establishment. Anyway we’ll make sure that all your comments are taken into account for further soundproofing improvements.

In relation to our food, we'd like to point out that we have a daily menu which rotates every two weeks, trying to offer our guests a good variety of food. Our assortment is so big that obviously our main ingredients get repeated since we always try to offer at least more than 3 meat courses and 3 fish ones, our show cooking with fish, meat and vegetables freshly cooked, apart from others like vegetables, salads, starters, pasta, pizza, theme dishes like Mexican or Asian.

Thank you once again for your review and we truly hope to see you soon again at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort so you can see how things improve at the resort thanks to your review.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Just back from a 7 night holiday at this hotel. Rooms very dated. Food terrible and staff in dining room very rude. Saying this is geared towards children not a great choice of food for them. At least one pool closed everyday and to get a sun lounger you have to be up at 7.30 even though it clearly states no reserving sun loungers. Evening entertainment is a disgrace. This is definitely not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Katmandu, Community Manager at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending part of your time writing a review about our hotel, sharing the experience you had with us. Furthermore, we all appreciate your comment so it can help us to keep improving the service we offer to our Guests.

We hope you know that we put our best intention and effort to provide our Guests a mythical and wonderful vacation time and we’re really concerned to learn that your experience at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort has not been totally satisfactory on this special occasion.

Regarding what you mentioned in your review, we’d like to say that we feel terribly sorry to know that you haven’t enjoyed the food at the Restaurant even when we have a menu with more than 100 products per meal including different types of meat, fishes, fresh and cooked vegetables, pizza, pasta, rice, different combinations of salad, a great selection of bread, fruits and desserts and much more. In relation to the mention of our staff, we truly appreciate your feedback and even if it’s a really rare situation, we have passed your comments to the corresponding manager to avoid this kind of situation in the future.

Regarding the pool being closed, we’d like to point out that it was a really exceptional situation. As the hygiene and security are really important for us, we have strict cleaning procedures to provide safe and healthy swimming conditions to all our Guests.
Anyways we’re truly sorry for any inconvenience caused and we appreciate your understanding.


We would like to thank you again for all the feedback shared with us. This will be really helpful in order to keep improving our services day by day

On behalf of the entire team of Sol Katmandu Park & Resort and we sincerely hope to welcome you in our resort to show our passion for service once again and regain your trust in our company.
Please, if you change your mind and you decide to visit us again don´t hesitate to contact Guest Experience department which will be at your entire disposal to make your holidays totally satisfactory.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

All round a pretty good holiday. Ignore that it's on the strip in maga. It's a family hotel not a rowdy singles hotel. Reception staff are sometimes lovely and sometimes miserable. We went all inclusive which I would definitely recommend as food and drinks are more expensive when you pay as you go. A pint is €3.60. The children's club team are fantastic! Cannot recommend them enough. My son only went there twice but even when we were just poolside the entertainers would wave and say hi to him. You can choose to pay an extra €20 per person for a wristband for the theme park which gives you unlimited passes to all the rides at park and crazy golf etc. Definitely do this if you've got kids as it saves a fortune. We got there early school hols and it was nice and everything worked well. By our 6th day it was overcrowded and you had to queue for restaurant for each meal which wasn't ideal. The staff all work very hard and the hotel and surroundings are kept clean. They don't appear to have extra staff at peak times which slows down the whole hotel. The pools are lovely. They are kept clean. You are not allowed any inflatables though except medium size rings. This caused quite a few problems as people bought bigger ones and were not allowed to use them. The water park was fantastic. Lots of lifeguards. Very well ran. It does however get so busy. Best times to go are at 10am and after 4pm. Between those times it is chaotic but it depends on the age of your child if they can deal with it being so busy. A bit worried about the food as I saw varying reports. It was lovely. Fresh and a large variety. Always a couple of meats per night plus always a fish option. Plenty of food for everyone. I would recommend this hotel but during off peak season.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lynsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Katmandu, Community Manager at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Lynsey,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sol Katmandu Park & Resort as your holiday resort and for taking the time to leave such a great and detailed review with your recent experience at the resort.

We're delighted to see that your overall experience has been really positive and we truly thank you for highlighting the great variety and quality of food offered, the great and lovely kids club staff and activities, the amazing Katlantis Splash park and the lifeguards duties and professionalism, our 3 pools and the spotless cleaning service.

Regarding the mention of the big inflatables, we'd like to point out that big inflatables are not allowed due to security reasons. Our Guest's safety is one of our main concerns and inflatables may disturb our lifeguards duties. We truly appreciate your understanding.

Finally, we'd like to say that we truly appreciate all the feedback you've shared through this comment - this way we can keep improving our services day by day.

Once again, thank you for sharing such a lovely review and for recommending us to all your friends and TripAdvisor's users. We look forward to receiving you again next time you visit Mallorca

Regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

As a experienced traveler I can assure anyone travelling to Magaluf with a family that this is the place to stay. From the reception staff, the lifeguards, the waiting staff to the barmen, they are all excellent at their roles, polite, friendly and fun. On arrival at 4am the man on reception greeted me by name even though I hadn't introduced myself, he explained everything fully in excellent English. Reading reviews before I went I was unsure about the quality of the room, but on arrival it was of a suitable size with a huge bathroom and nice balcony. Yes the rooms could be bigger but you can't blame the current hotel owners for something that was built before they came along. The air con was great and even sensibly stops working when the balcony doors were opened. Good sized fridge and a large wardrobe. For people that complained about lifts being slow, they must really be picky. The hotel has fantastic theming all the way through, and the cleanliness was impeccable. The food was fantastic and the variation was 5 star worthy. For the typical moaning Brit, yes you may have to wait in a queue for a couple mins now and then, but overall the staff do great job at getting people in. No one in their right mind could complain about the choice, it really was exceptional. Again the only gripe can be at the other guests, not knowing how to queue or speaking to the staff poorly, but the hotel can't help having obnoxious guests! The splash park is amazing for children, lots of different slides, cannons and fountains. Being a lifeguard I can assure anyone the lifeguards were super attentive, alert and engaging. The other pools were nice but could get busy, again not the hotels fault. The other attractions were great fun and I was aware that a few of them were not included in the price as should everyone. You must remember you are in magaluf, drunk moronic (mainly British) people will make noise and shout in the street at 3am, but this is part and parcel of it. If you want serene exclusivity go to Bora Bora, do not go to magaluf and then complain to reception about people shouting outside the walls of the resort. It really wasn't that bad though, and the resort is far enough away from the strip to miss the worst of it. The fantastic beach is a 3min walk away and is clean and lifeguarded. Plenty of water sports and excursions can be booked through the hotel. So in summery, a brilliant place for kids and family's, don't expect a suite for a room but get outside anyway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank goose_beard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Katmandu, Community Manager at Sol Katmandu Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear goose_beard,

Thank you for your wonderful words and the time you’ve spent on sharing this detailed review about your recent experience with us. We cannot be thankful enough for this positive and amazing review.

One our main goals is to create exceptional vacation experiences for all of our guests and we are amazed to see that you have appreciated every detail of our resort, from the comfortable room, to the activities, the Katmandu Park specially Katlantis Splash Park, the great choice of food and the spotless cleaning service.

Thank you also for the special mention to the lovely, fun and friendly staff. We take such pride in our resort and our staff and it is very important to us that every guest receives this star treatment from our staff.

It's really important for us to provide an unforgettable and wonderful stay to all our guests and we’re happy to know that we have achieved.

We hope to see you again soon for what is sure to be another great holiday.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,502 reviews
0.6 km away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,208 reviews
0.3 km away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#13 of 28 in Magaluf
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sol House Mallorca
Sol House Mallorca
#8 of 28 in Magaluf
663 reviews
0.3 km away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
722 reviews
0.8 km away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#18 of 28 in Magaluf
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Katmandu Park & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Katmandu Park & Resort

Address: Calle Galeon, s/n | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#4 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: RM344 - RM1,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Katmandu Park & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Meliá presents the first “fun-inclusive” hotel in Majorca, perfect for families and friends, with both accommodation and entertainment all right in the middle of theme park fun and just 250 m from the maginficent sandy beach. Included with stay is free entry to the fun and thrills of Katmandu Park. Among other services and facilities, the hotel provides free Wi-Fi throughout, 3 outdoor pools with sun beds. Buffet Restaurant (All Inclusive option). The rooms are comfortable and are fully equipped. The hotel offers full programme of funny and creative activities for kids in the mini club Kamp Katakidu (8 months-12 years) during the day and a varied entertainment programme in the evening with live music, shows and much fun for all ages. Come and dicover the history of Katmandú Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Katmandu Park & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Magalluf Park Hotel Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Hotel Magalluf
Magalluf Park Sol
Sol Magaluf Park
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort Magaluf, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing