We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sa Coma
Certificate of Excellence
skipton
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great hotel, lovely location”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Please be aware that the full name of these apartments is the Palia sa coma playa apartments as we too were taken to the wrong hotel by the the transfer company, resort hoppa and got shouted at from the bus driver for not listening when he was shouting out hotel names, even though he did not take us there. We too paid 8 euros for a taxi to get from the protur sa coma playa hotel to our booked one.
Anyway that aside first impressions of the hotel were good nice and clean and airy and yes you do have to apy a 10 euro deposit for your all inclusive bracelet but luckily had read previous reviews so knew already. All the staff spoke really good english (aswell as german, french, polish and russian) and were all really friendly.
Our room 319 was large and clean and overlooked the pool and entertainment area and had lovely views over the sea too but was very noisy at night from the stage area and even when the entertainment shut down at 10.30 you could still hear the loud music from the playa dorada hotel next door as we had to keep the window open due to there being no air con as it was so hot.
The food was good, plenty of choice, cooked breakfasts, cereals, yogurts, croissants and fruit at breakfast and loads of fresh salads, meats, fish for lunch and tea, delicious cakes and mousses too aswell as icecream. Although by the end of the second week we were a bit fed up of food but you always are if you go all inclusive i think.
There were plenty of drinks the lager on tap was estrella and there were all the spirits you could think of and 2 different slushes which the kids loved and the bar staff were always quick and friendly, there is a sign up saying 2 drinks per person but i always got 4.
In between meals there was always sandwiches and chips sometimes burgers and pancakes with strawberry and chocolate sauce from 4-5.
There was a childrens club run for 4 -12 year olds which my 2 children went to a few days as i didnt discover it till the second week and loved which was run by julie and they did lots of fun things and you didnt need to book in advance just turn up on the morning or afternoon and sign them in.
Entertainment was pretty good, a lot was done by the entertainment staff but there were a couple of nights when they brought in flamenco dancers and some other modern dancers and these were really good.
There was the usual mini disco for the kids (and some adults) with the usual party dances, veo veo, cocodrillo, chu chu ua and the others which were fun to watch ( although probably only if you had kids)
Swimming pool could have been bigger and could have had more sunbeds, and they dont open the swimming pool area untill 8 o clock so you have to queue by the door and wait for them to open it and the first week we were there everybody used to run for the sunbeds! The second week it wasnt as bad, we always managed to get one where we wanted.
The hotel is very disabled friendly lots of ramps and lifts ect and the second day we were there until we left the pool area was overtaken by french wheelchair users who were rude parked their chairs right in front of you and blew smoke on you so not very nice in that aspect, but a little manoevering of the sunbeds in the morning and you could get yourself a bit more room.
The hotel was right on the beach only a minutes walk to the shops and restaurants and we had a lovely walk along the front every night, if you go to the left out of the hotel there a castle to explore, it is a fairly long walk though but worth it.
We had a lovely holiday, weather was about 34 degrees during the day although we did have some thunder and lightening at night and it was only spoilt (but not really) by other inconsiderate guests. There were hardly any english people it was mostly french with a few german and russian thrown in. But this wouldnt put me off going back, in fact id love to as it was a wonderful holiday made better by the kind and friendly staff and great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crashgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    252
    97
    35
    17
See reviews for
318
178
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baileyjosh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Firstly , on our arrival at the Sa Coma Playa apartments as we got off of the bus the driver told us it was not our drop off point and we were booked into a hotel which he took us to , on trying to book in to hotel we were told we were at the wrong place and this happens all the time, so a taxi ride and seven euros lighter in pocket we arrived back at or original drop off point which was Sa Coma Playa apartments, on checking in we explained about the problem with the transfer and we were told the same, this happens all the time. My point in mentioning this is , firstly it is no reflection on the Sa Coma Apartments as this is not under their control , but it it is just a bit of advice to people travelling to this resort ,please ensure when you are getting dropped off you have your document with the name of hotel/apartment in you hand to show the driver to ensure you are at the right place, I have my own thoughts as to why people get dropped off at at wrong hotel/apartments and then have to get a taxi to the correct destination.....as mentioned before I was told "It happens all the time".........by the way we found out later had we known the resort the taxi fare would have been around three Euros so please be warned, I think somewhere along the line there is a scam going on with transfer companies. Well that part done I will move on to our stay at the Sa Coma Apartments .

Check in was absolutely simple receptionist was very helpful and absolutely no language barrier at all , strange thing on check in which we have never came across before is that there is a ten Euro deposit on wristbands bands for all inclusive , that in itself was no problem as obviously you get this back at end of holiday but it gave me something to think about during the holiday......why a ten Euro deposit for a bit of plastic? then bingo!!! a bell rang in my head if you count the number of people staying in these apartments paying ten Euros a head per week throughout the year that is a hell of a lot of Euros getting put into a bank account gaining interest for a wee bit of plastic brilliant!!!!

Now on to the apartment , what can I say on this .....absolutely everything you could ask for , fridge,cooker, all the kitchen equipment you could ask for , our apartment was combined sitting room/kitchen area which I assume is standard throughout the apartments, I found the bedroom small and enclosed, there is no air conditioning in these apartments and in the height of summer made it an uncomfortable sleep but in saying that the option was to sleep in the living area , which I did on a couple of occasions.

Now we move on to the balcony and view..............WOW!!! superb , please ask for a room with an even number from the first floor (not ground) up to the sixth floor and you will get one of the most wonderful sea views you could imagine ( worth the price of the holiday in itself).

Now for the food, I personally am a very fussy eater, but I can assure you from breakfast time through to dinner time you will will never be without something to eat , no sooner are you finished breakfast that snacks are laid on, burgers,hot dogs, crepes,sandwiches, varies by the day....refreshments at lunch/dinner are serve yourself to wine/coke/fanta/ beer as much as you like no hassle. First impressions of dining area was it was too cramped and would be uncomfortable to eat in ....but I am more than happy to say I was wrong, it did not matter what time of day or night we went in ,no matter how busy the dining area was the staff were so efficient there never was a problem getting a table, and they are all happy to have a chat with you.....when they get a minute to themselves!!! which is not often...lovely people.

Pool area, entertainment, bar staff.............Pool area is a really good size with plenty of sunbeds, when we stayed we had no problem at all getting sunbeds, none of this getting up at seven o'clock in the morning throwing towels over them, also stage area had plenty of tables and chairs as an option to lying down sunning yourself, if you are a swimmer the pool is quite restricted for a good swim but sufficient enough if you get in before it gets too busy .

Entertainment: : What can I say here? the team are on all day and provide "entertainment" and work really hard at what I would call absolute CRAP!!! I really don't want to go in to depth on this one but if you enjoyed Benny Hill forty years ago it,s your kind of thing.......

Finally, all inclusive rules two drinks per wristband errrmmm , nah !!!! bar staff don't mind if you ask for more as they are so busy, as long as you you don't want to "window shop" and know your order it will be served in double quick time with a smile ,,,,brill!!.. next word of warning, all inclusive at bar finishes promptly at 22:30hrs not one minute later, then you have to pay, again bar staff have no problem if you "stock up" and fill your table up until 22:30hrs and you can sit and enjoy until your bed time. All in all we had a great time and would go back tomorrow if possible, I have tried to make this review as comprehensive as possible and hope it has been helpful ..........Main two tips out of this.....ask for even number room for sea view (odds are pool view) ........stock up table before 22:30hrs.not a minute later!!!!!!..........enjoy your holiday !!!

Room Tip: In my opinion any even numbered room from first floor will be perfect sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank baileyjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Sa Coma Playa is in a great location, a couple of minutes walk from two lovely beaches perfect for a family holiday. It's biggest asset are its staff, who all extremely friendly and helpful at all times.

The hotel is very clean, maid service and fresh towels daily. The one bedroom apartments are very spacious with excellent sea views.

The food was of a very good standard, with plenty of choice for adults and children. The only area that could be improved is the breakfast but we always managed to find something to eat.

The entertainment team worked very hard and provided a full programme. However, most of their attention was focussed on the French and Polish guests. Some of the entertainers made no attempt to hide their disliking of the English.

Overall, we had a lovely family holiday and would recommend to friends and family.

However, please be careful if booking this Hotel through Jet2 Holidays, as there are some inaccuracies in the websites description - the rooms do not have air-conditioning (Unless you pay 75 Euros per week extra) and the all inclusive option finishes at 10.30pm not the 12.00am stated.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

we've just returned from these apartments and i have to say that we had a wonderful holiday. As previous reviews have stated, as being british we were in the minority but there were more english when we left 25th Aug. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment even though we only booked a 1 bed which was fantastic as ourselves and our 2 daughters all had a bed, the 2 sofas in the lounge area were very comfortable if you needed to sleep on them. the rooms were very spacious but would benefit from new kitchens and air conditioning as it was very hot. our room 018 was on the ground floor and you could walk straight out to the poolside, brilliant for people with young children, only disadvantage was not being able to leave doors open when out to circulate air. All entertainment was finished by 11.30pm and doors to pool area were closed 12am-8am so very peaceful at night apart from occasional noise from nearby bars, but best of all you couldn't get to pool to reserve sunbeds until doors were opened at 8am which was great. Beware if its windy as there were 2 large parasols around the pool which blew over and very nearly caused injury to guests, the bases are not heavy enough to hold them down but they were promptly removed.Food and drinks were fantastic, plenty of choice but beware of the slippery floor in the restaurant, if you fancy a chinese we found a restaurant called' The Peking Duck' offering a set meal of 3 courses for 5.50 euros and it was lovely. beaches were lovely and clean, if you walk out of the poolside gate you have sa coma beach 2 mins to the left and S'illot beach 5 mins to the right.
Finally i feel that i must say that the staff here were fantastic and they work very very hard at pleasing the guests and keeping everything spotlessly clean. Hope this review helps

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendymitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Arrived at midnight, they fed us and got us a free beer or 3. The rooms we got wernt the ones we wanted, and they moved us straight away to 2 brilliant rooms, views to die for. Staff are fanatstic, drinks good, foods ok, for the money its a brilliant holiday , great location. If you want to ask anything about the place email meI will be happy to respond steve@kidsquads.biz

Room Tip: Cant tell you as we want the room sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wozzy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sa Coma hotels
0.2 km away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
948 reviews
1.2 km away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hipotels Marfil Playa
Hipotels Marfil Playa
#10 of 29 in Sa Coma
354 reviews
0.7 km away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
0.1 km away
Playa Dorada Aparthotel
Playa Dorada Aparthotel
#13 of 29 in Sa Coma
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa

Property: Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa
Address: Artija Urb. Sa Coma, 07687 Sa Coma, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Sa Coma
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Sa Coma
Price range (per night): RM352 - RM1,239
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Coma Playa Apartamentos Hotel Sa Coma
Hotel Sa Coma
Playa Apartamentos Sa Coma
Hotel Palia Sa Coma Playa Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing