We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Amelaur
Basel, Switzerland

Very cute

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Oct 2019
Very friendly owners, great location away from the beaten track, in the middle of a vineyard. Clean and well organized. Must have a car to stay here. The breakfast was all local produce which was a nice change. We would definitely return.
Date of stay: October 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benyben Caloz, Propriétaire at Colline de Daval, responded to this review
Responded 25 May 2021
Dear Junk M,
Thank you for your great comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Castel de Daval. We will be more than happy to welcome you back here.
Best regards,
Benoît Caloz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.2 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comedor para el desayuno, autoservicio, quesos y embutidos muy buenos, jugos de botella y frutas frescas. Horarios definidos, servicios sábado y domingo restringido (general en Suiza)
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.3 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 650
  • Vio.com
    RM 649
  • Agoda.com
    RM 649
  • ZenHotels.com
4.1 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 670
  • Expedia.com
    RM 671
  • Hotels.com
    RM 669
  • Agoda.com
    RM 669
4.8 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
RM 713
No booking fees
  • Vio.com
    RM 713
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 571
Fully refundable
  • eDreams
    RM 571
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
2.4 km from Colline de Daval
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sierre
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
87
15
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
15
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2019 via mobile

" " SPA SUITE " " - mold, wet smell in the room and the spa section that I was afraid to touch...the shower head was BLACK covered by mold...

Bed - has a hole\V shape in the middle from use. Must b quality mattress!

After a relaxing time in this hotel u might land in a hospital for another stay...

see pictures for visual experience....

Location - beautiful!

Hall\lobby\common area\Salon with a small sofa, 2 tables and a self service bar - nice wooden new look finish, u can feel like a home or in a wooden house.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Patryk n
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colline_Daval, Propriétaire at Colline de Daval, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2019

Dear Patryk,

Thank you for staying at the Castel de Daval and for taking the time to write us a comment. We try to give our best for our guest and we are really sorry to read that you did not have a good time by us. Please be sure that the Shower will be checked. We trully hope that you did not end up in a hospital and hope that the shower experience did not destroy your holidays.

sincerely,
Family Caloz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

To preface: my husband and I were touring Switzerland ourselves, and stayed at 6 hotels over the course of a week and a half. We stayed here due to my desire to visit Valais.

Let me do my best to set expectations appropriately- this place is absolutely stunning. It’s an estate located in the middle of a beautiful vineyard and orchards, when we first drove in we felt like we just entered a movie. We spent the first hour just roaming the property- walking through the vineyards and the castle.

1- the owner does not speak English- she speaks french. I think maybe her children do, but they weren’t there. This makes sense because we were in the French speaking part of Switzerland. We got by with my husbands dialect Italian and google translate. It worked out just fine, and she was very sweet to put up with our google-translate French.
2- our room was located upstairs. We had a balcony, larger bed, shower and tv! But expect you may have to carry your own bags upstairs (it’s one flight and no big deal really)
3- you need your own car. They don’t have cabs nearby and no other means of travel
4- we were told there would be a wine tasting at 4pm, and planned therefore to snack at that time, however when we returned at that time, no one was there to be found. We are unsure if it’s because we were the only guests of the castel that day.
5-there is NO restaurant on the premise or anywhere nearby. We drove into town, and had to park/walk up into sion (as sion does not allow unauthorized cars into their town).
We had a big lunch. And fortuitously bought bread and chocolate to snack on - which we wound up eating for dinner and we ate it on our balcony. The castel offers fairly priced wine/water you may take from their glass enclosed refrigerator- they can add it to your tab.
They do provide a delicious breakfast of locally farmed items (cereals, eggs, bacon, coffee, tea, marmalade, cheese, bread and more). The owner is very gracious.
We stayed one night in this hotel, and wished we could stay more.

In short, we recommend you stay here if you have your own car and the desire to experience something truly unparalleled. With the recommendation to make sure you procure food for lunch/dinner.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank principessaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colline_Daval, Propriétaire at Colline de Daval, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2019

Dear principessaMD,

Thank you so much for your comment, which is absolutely helpful for us and for the future guests.
As you mentioned above, my mom does not speak english but she created her own world in the Castle de Daval and I am sure that she manages to share her love to this particular place without any words. I am very happy that you and your husband had a great time here.
If I may, I would just like to give a few corrections for the future guests. As you wrote, it is definitely better to have a car. Therfore, I can insure you that there are some cabs in the town of Sierre. Furthermore, a new bus connection reach the Castle de Daval. It starts at the railway station of Sierre and it is called the Ballestraz bus.
I am really sorry that you miss the wine tasting which we organise if the guests are interested. In the high season, we do it every evening at 6 pm. It would have been a pleasure to give you the opportunity to try our wine. May be it was a misunderstood due to the language. Anyway we are sorry about it.
Regarding the restaurants, we work with two great restaurants which are located in the small village of Noës. Noës is about 10 minutes walking distance or there are plenty of good restaurants in the town of Sierre but you will need to drive or call a cab or take the bus.
We would be more than happy if we could have the possibility to welcome you here again.
Again, thank you for your great comment.
Best regards,
Benoît Caloz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

My daughter and I were heading for Zermatt, but the accommodation seemed to be full. We found this beautiful spot by chance and it exceeded all expectations. Why go to Zermatt where it is filled with people when you can have a gorgeous room, with a quiet garden amongst the vineyards? You have everything you need here. Heaven on Earth in the Val d'Anniviers, with long hikes on the top of the world, beautiful, unspoilt little villages on your door step. It's the real Switzerland! The hospitality is warm and the home produce simply delicious. Finding this area is magical.

Room tip: we had a quiet cave room with a small private garden...... still light and delightful
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piakanaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colline_Daval, Propriétaire at Colline de Daval, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Piakanaan,
What a pleasure to read your feedback. We are absolutely glad to see that you shared our passion for this beautiful region. Switzerland is all about the nature and the authenticity. Val d'Anniviers is a magical spot far from all the over crowded resorts.
We would be so happy to welcome you again at the Castel de Daval.
Sunny regards from Sierre,
Caloz Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I'm going to state an unpopular opinion here, but staying at this hotel, I felt mostly neglected. The facilities are nice enough, the castle is nicely appointed, and the breakfast was fine, with some local specialties, but no skim or soy milk. This B&B is about 3km from Sierre, it's not really in Sierre at all but in really closer to Chalais. Do not think about staying here unless you have your own car. They laughed when I requested a possible pickup at the train station. Upon arrival, I was not offered a "welcome drink", in fact, I was asked to wait for their retail store to get quieter. The B&B was very quiet, with only one other couple staying, and so it seemed that due to the low occupancy, the hosts were not so occupied with us. On the other hand, I would suspect that with full occupancy, they would probably be overwhelmed. This location seems ideal if you want a wine-tasting experience, have a car, and want to feel like you're in France. I choose it because of it's quaint charm and price, but was disappointed overall.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_the_Traveller_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colline_Daval, Propriétaire at Colline de Daval, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Hi Jon,

Thank you for taking the time to write this article. We are really sorry to read that you have not had the chance to enjoy the your stay at our castle. As we offer a wine tourism experience, it is for us absolutely necessary to be located in the middle of the vineyard.
Thank you for reminding us how important it is to treat well our guests. As we produce some fruits adding the fact that we have to run a winery and the B&B we have to admit that we are really busy but we should never let a customer disappointed.

Best regards from Sierre,
The Caloz Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I stayed here as part of a work trip, and Benoît is one of the best hosts I've ever had. This unique property is located on a beautiful vineyard and is wonderfully maintained by the owners.
The rooms are quaint but have all the amenities one would need. Breakfast is comprised of local meats and cheeses, as well as homemade jams and fruit nectars from their orchard.
The hosts were more than willing to do a wine tasting for us as well as a tour of the winery. (It's clear why Switzerland only exports around 2% of their wine)
Benoît was very helpful when it came to explaining the region and suggesting activities and places to see in the area. It's fairly easy to get to and from nearby ski areas such as Crans Montana, St. Luc and Chandolin.
One should plan on having a car if staying here.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thebr0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colline_Daval, Responsable relations publiques at Colline de Daval, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Hi,
Thank you so much for your comment and sorry for my late answer.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you here and I am absolutely glad to read that you had a great time.
Sunny regards from Sierre,
Benoît Caloz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews