We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch‘”

The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 136 Restaurants in Gravesend
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our restaurant 'The Block House' brings modern dining to the historic market town of Gravesend. Open all day The Clarendon Royal Hotel offers imaginative dining seven days a week. The sesaonal A La Carte Menu & seperate bar menu are available 7 days a week for seatings from 12:00-21:00. Our legendary Sunday Lunch Menu is available every Sunday 12:00-16:00 (A la carte & bar menu also available 12:00-20:00 Sundays). Booking may be essential, especially at weekends. The bar & river terrace is an inviting place to meet at any time of the day with stunning hand crafted cocktails, locally sourced craft beer and thoughtfully selected wines and spirits.
Reviewed 5 March 2018

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous Sunday lunch cooked to perfection.The staff were friendly and attentive , it was our wedding anniversary and when we told him David gave us each a complimentary drink.Could not fault the food or service , thank you guys x

Thank kathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R, General Manager at The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're pleased you enjoyed your afternoon with us and look forward to serving you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Moved to Gravesend last summer. Friends came over to visit so thought to try this local place. Really lovely Sunday lunch and setting with attentive staff. We were made very welcome. Will be back!!!

Thank bindigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R, General Manager at The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're pleased you enjoyed your afternoon with us. Sunday lunch has become such a busy day for us and we're really proud of the welcome the whole team give every guests who walks through our doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Hubby and I gave ourselves an overnight treat at this local hotel and were very impressed. We were welcomed by David at the reception desk and from that moment on were put very much at ease, nothing too much trouble and everything done to ensure we enjoyed our stay. There were a couple of minor issues with the room but David very soon put these right. We were allocated the James II suite which has a very spacious lounge/kitchen area overlooking the river in addition to the bedroom. The bar is very well stocked and a great selection of cocktails too. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was a smallish area at the far end of the bar (not quite so impressed with the decor of the restaurant area and that could maybe be improved on). David was our Maitre De and Waiter (a jack of all trades and indeed a very entertaining and amenable young man who went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable at all times). Very good, varied wine list. The food menu was ok, only issue was that two or three items from the menu were not available, including one of the starters which we were told after ordering was 'not set' so couldn't be served. However the alternative that we had was very tasty so not a problem in the end. Hubby had the duck for mains and I had lamb, both of which were good. Sticky toffee for dessert excellent. Breakfast was included and was served in a separate room towards the rear of building. We were again welcomed warmly by the staff there. A choice of cereals, fresh fruit, three choices of juice, a toaster that actually worked (not always the case everywhere!) and a good choice of hot food cooked to order. For the money we paid I would say it was extremely good value.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R, General Manager at The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're pleased you enjoyed your night with us.Apologies regarding the unset starter, we make everything on our menu from scratch and as such, very rarely, items will become unavailable due to simply not being able to source an ingredient during seasonal changes and working with natural ingredients in this case the mousse simply would not set. I will pass on your regards to David who will appreciate customers noticing how hard he works to ensure all our guests have a memorable time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely time. Booked in advance and had a confirmation email to check we were still going a couple of days before. Didn't want to be sat with loads of couples as we were a party of 6 including kids, so had a nice table at end of main bar. Food was lovely, all cooked fresh. Only feedback would be to include some veg, if only for some colour variation. We asked for some veg, which was no problem. Nice and relaxed atmosphere. We were looked after by Lloyd who was very helpful and knowledgeable about the history of the Clarendon. Would recommend the Clarendon Royal Hotel.

Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R, General Manager at The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We're pleased you enjoyed your night with us. Valentines is always a hard one to please all, especially ones celebrating birthdays rather than valentines. We try to keep our a la carte menus as seasonal as possible so vegetables (bar root veg) is a little limited in February, luckily spring has sprung now so there will be a lot more colour on each plate!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We were a mixed group in age, cousins, great grandmother to great grandchild 3 months old, some of us are special in our particular needs and mobility. First impressive element was the bar for our pre dinner drink. The atmosphere immediately felt warm, luscious decor and music to set the mood. The staff were all smiley and nothing was too much trouble. It was my 60th birthday celebration with family. Just the day before we had stayed over in a 5 star London Hotel where the breakfast service was staggeringly inadequate, not a smile, no communication. At The Royal Clarendon the staff are obviously trained to a high standard and deliver their guests with a welcoming and cheery service. It didn’t go unnoticed by any of us. Dealing with 17 chatty people, and serving to individual preferences went smoothly. The pace of the meal was perfect. The food pleased everyone. Credits to the team. We will be back. If not all at one go ....!

Thank Peta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen R, General Manager at The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and your kind words. Its great to hear all of your party enjoyed yourselves with us, something that is always hard, pleasing and entertaining such a range of ages all sat together. Thank you once again and we look forward to serving you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Gravesend, Kent
Gravesend, Kent
 

Been to The Clarendon Royal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing