We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Toby Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birch Hotel(Heywood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveller rating
261
152
58
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
152
58
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantfallen angelexecutive roomfour postersteaklovely hotelfull englishbirthday treathotel bartea making facilitieswedding venuefried eggscooked breakfastcourse mealwould recommend this hotel to anyoneexcellent value for moneyan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 498 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Weather was very poor snow etc., so we were limited in our travels. The room was seemed very drab and dark it was freezing massive drafts through the window woken up by noisy neighbors who were listening to loud music at three in the morning. When we complained on the second night we were moved to another room which was far more comfortable and lovely and warm.
Will the guy on the desk was more then helpful and he organised the replacement room and not only him but all the staff were great friendly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent plenty of it and reasonably priced. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Unless the window and heating is sorted avoid room108!!!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank kpomalley1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kpomalley1952

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving.

We are sorry to hear your stay was disrupted by noisy neighbours, we are however pleased to hear you brought this to the attention of the team and they managed to move you to an alternative room.

We have fed back all of your comments onto the team and we are pleased to hear you would stay with us again, in the future.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Nice staff, excellent full english breakfast, and bustling bar for evenings after work. Clean comfortable rooms and beds. Check out is not till 11:00, very generous. This hotel is perfect for business within the Rochsdale area with Tesco and shopping center around the corner. Downtown Rochsdale is less than a 5 minute taxi ride, or 30 minute walk.

Room Tip: Lorries loading and unloading all morning long if you have a late start with a room on the back side - very annoying
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mattronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mattronica

Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

The team will be delighted to read such positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We have stayed at the hotel many times for our annul corporate event
With each time being good and the breakfast being excellent in fabulous surroundings with good service
On our last stay booked it to room 435 on 24/02/2018
We found our room with no towels we asked for them but never came
Only one dressing gown as for an extra one for after shower did not get one

The worst night sleep ever the mattress had been folded through the middle and bust the springs the bed matteress were 2 singles put together, so we're split in half
Not what I would expect from this kind of establishment !!

Spoke to the girl in reception and the lady came to the room we took off all the bed lining
To xposs the poor matteress
Her comment was yes this is not really executable and wood look in to it no reply yet
The single matteress were not zipped together she said bad House keeping

All in all a very bad night sleep

But I must say the breakfast was good in excellent surroundings
Not worth £115.00 a night

One week on and still no response from them bad customer service !!

Room Tip: Check the room befor payment is made
Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Kevin C

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience. The team have spoken to you directly and are currently investigating your concerns.

Once our investigation has been completed we will revert back to you privately over email.

Assuring you of our very best intentions.

The Deckers Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

An excellent hotel in every way from the minute you walk in to reception till you leave at the end of your stay the staff are brilliant the food excellent and the quality of the rooms superb. Will be back again soon.thanks to all staff.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wilnevay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Wilnevay

Thank you for posting such a positive review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving.

The team will be delighted to read such positive feedback and we very much look forward to you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Stayed on a business trip - clean, warm and well appointed with friendly staff. Ate in restaurant which has wide range of typical pub food - disappointed with reheated vegetables / new potatoes. Cooked breakfast good. A place that could do more with locally sourced Lancashire produce freshly prepared.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank YorksCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear YorksCaro

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Royal Toby Hotel. We are pleased to hear that overall you felt our venue was a good quality hotel.

Please be advised all our food is freshly prepared by our brigade of chefs.

We have passed all of your kind comments onto the team and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews