We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dianne W
Never again, sorry Cuba
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2024
If you've already booked, you won't die, but you may not enjoy yourself much! A lack of just about every comfort constantly reminds you that this is not your ideal vacation.
First, the food is absolutely terrible, even for Cuba. Many of the buffet items were unrecognizable and labels were wrong so didn't help. Veggies are mostly cabbage and pumpkin, meat is mostly tough pork, there were only powdered eggs at breakfast (tried them twice but just couldn't do it), no omlette bar. And no burgers or pizza to fall back on if you don't like any if their thrown together garbage dishes. The a la carts are a joke, they don't follow any sort of concept menu. The same stuff is served at each, which is no better than the buffet. Soup of the day? Pumpkin, not kidding. On day four the water bottles for the rooms were rationed to 2 - 500ml bottles. We had three people in our room.... Didn't matter. 2 per room was all our housekeeper was allowed to give us. When I brought it up to the sunwing rep said he'd have some sent to the room but that but never happened. I wasn't surprised having previously read reviews of the level of helpfulness from sunwing reps....
One of our group was sick with gut issues(if you know what I mean) from day 4 till we left. Obviously putting a bummer on our drinking fun. The bars were constantly running out of, well, everything. First it was some of the mixes, then no ice, no mint, no cola, no RUM ??? WTH? And if you don't leave a tip every time you order a drink they're even more unhappy. I thought we already paid for all inclusive? The tips are supposed to be for good service. That's soooo hard to do when this is what we are seeing for 7 days straight.
Second, their septic system needs some serious attention. Every person we spoke to said their toilet ran all day & night, as did ours. On day 3 the sewers outside building 6 spewed all over the walk ways for 2 DAYS STRAIGHT! I can't even make this stuff up. You get wafts of sewer smell in many places, just walking around, or sometimes at the pool, and in every public washroom. Disgusting. Maybe if they fixed all the toilets from running on, then the sewer system could handle the necessities. Some of the washrooms didn't have toilet paper or hand towels, one didn't have working lights and it was pitch dark. Totally useless. They closed the washrooms in the front lobby, and the women's side by the lobby bar, meaning everyone had to use the mens washroom one at a time. If any one of these things was an issue it might be forgivable, but all of them?
Lastly, and unfortunately, the staff are unhappy and it shows. Of course they would be when so many people are complaining about the same stuff all the time? And it's not like they can do anything about it. Memories, Sunwing, step up!
The good? Well, the beach is beautiful, we had hot water for showers (which I heard some people didn't), and we had good friends to endure all this stuff with, lol. But never again. Sorry Cuba.
Please don't anyone book this resort. Go somewhere else, anywhere else. Both Sunwing and Memories need to fix this. Please stop cheating people their vacations. We did not really have the fun time we were expecting, so unfortunate when you plan and save for so long for your 1 week away in the sun!
If you're already booked , remember to bring toilet paper and lots of different condiments to try and make something of the food they're feeding you.
Date of stay: January 2024
Nearby Hotels
Trip.com
    7.3 km from Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
    StayForLong
      7.3 km from Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
      Second floor patio and ground floor - breakfast - patio.
      Expedia.com
      RM 153
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Vio.com
      84.4 km from Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
      Restaurant
      Room service
      Confortable , sûr , au centre ville.
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Expedia.com
        RM 203
      • Vio.com
      84.5 km from Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
      Vio.com
      • Expedia.com
      51.5 km from Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
      Restaurant
      Alojamiento Maite
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      51.6 km from Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
      Pool
      Restaurant
      View more hotels in Cayo Coco
      Reviews (11,018)
      Filter reviews
      11,018 results
      Traveller rating
      5,872
      2,847
      1,254
      579
      466
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      5,872
      2,847
      1,254
      579
      466
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews diamond club black shark snack bar fish upper pool water shoes pizza michael jackson show a la carte entertainment staff asian restaurant ocean view stayed in building chicken paella fries foam party
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      142 - 147 of 11,018 reviews
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      The entertainment team was the highlight of our family trip! Every single one of them was amazing and gracious. They made this family trip memorable. We would come back just to see them preform. Everyday whether the beach, pool or theatre they had something going on. 😎

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank Mandy S
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michel Diaz, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

      Dear Mandy,

      Thanks a lot for taking a minute to reveiw our resort. We are glad to know you had an enjoyable time at the resort. Our entertainment team is truly amazing, they know exactly how to keep people motivated and moving all day long. We will pass on your kind words to them.
      Looking forward to see you again.
      Best regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      After coming to this resort 6 times, I can say that I still love this resort!
      The beach is simply breathtaking.

      My room was nice and clean, I had hot water and good pressure all week.

      The food at the buffet can be repetitive, but you will always find something to eat! I suggest upgrading to the diamond club if you want more options for food since you also have the diamond club snack bar at the beach and the diamond club buffet.

      Cuba has the best coffee! There was a coffee shortage so if you need your daily coffee fix, I suggest bringing some in case.

      The entertainment at this resort is the best of Cuba! The animators will always find a way to put a smile on your face and to join in on the fun. From the zumba to the dance classes to their crazy games, there’s fun for everyone! The shows at night are awesome and the dancers are incredible! If you like to party, you’ll have a few during the week. Black panther, TNT, Samir, Marian, the little one, Yuyu, Isaac, DJ Pablo you guys rock!!

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank clolafo
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michel Diaz, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

      Dear Lola,

      First of all, we deeply appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. We are happy to know that we have been able to satisfy your expectations and be we will continue working to further improve our services. We will pass on your words to the entertainment guys. We hope to have you back here.
      Best regards.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      Best staff ever 🩵 TNT, Zoe, Meli, Samir, Pollo, Johan, Johnny, Marian, Yuyu & so many more! I love it here and will always recommend it to my friends… nothing compares! The beach is unreal and the weather never disappoints. 5 star always!!!!

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with family
      Thank 343karlim
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michel Diaz, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

      Dear Karli,

      Thanks a lot for taking a minute to reveiw our resort. It made us so happy to read that you enjoyed your holidays. We are working hard on improving our services for our costumers to be able to get the best of it. We will let all the guys from the entertainment crew you mentioned and Zoe know about your kind words to them and they will for sure be pleased to hear that they made your holidays even better. We hope we can have you back here in the near future.
      Best regards.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 21 February 2024

      Great resort, very great staff! Very helpful, friendly, and fun! Great place for family’s, couples, and friends. Beaches are very nice.clean! Great drinks, great company, and pools are nice and clean! Great atmosphere all around, would come again

      Date of stay: February 2024
      Trip type: Travelled with friends
      Thank Andrea B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michel Diaz, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

      Dear Andrea,

      Thank you for the time you dedicated to reveiw our resort. We are glad to know that we got to satisfy your expectations. Be sure that we always work in order to offer the best experience to our costumers. Looking forward to see you again.
      Best regards

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 20 February 2024

      I went solo trip to this amazing resort. And as usual I love everyone there. The animation/entertainment team are the best people you will meet in your life. They all treat you with smile and care. Special thanks to Marian, Yuyu, Isaac, Samir, Tailor, Johnny, Johan, Yaikel

      Room tip: Take lots of mosquito repellent.
      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Moureen T
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Michel Diaz, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

      Dear Moureen,

      We are thankful for the time you dedicated to reveiw our resort. We are glad to know that we got to satisfy your expectations. Be sure that we always work in order to offer the best experience to our costumers. The people you mentioned from the entertainment crew will be really happy to hear about your kind words. Looking forward to see you again.
      Best regards.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews