We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Iberostar Mojito(Cayo Coco)
US$150
US$130
iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$217
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Daiquiri(Cayo Guillermo)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$150
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
Prestigia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3,889)
Filter reviews
3,889 results
Traveller rating
1,218
1,330
734
342
265
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
1,330
734
342
265
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pepperonewater shoesa la cartessnack barfishmiguel angelbeach buffetwhite partypizzalarge resortmain buffetfried chickenjardines del reyrecommend this resortfoam partybeautiful resortother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 3,889 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Let me start by saying I have been to alot of caribbean places and by far this was the best ive had. Beach was amazing. Our room was beautiful with a great view of the ocean with cruise ships passing bye. We never went hungry. There was always something to eat. Is it the best food ive ever had No! But I gained 5lbs so i wasnt hungry. They did an amazing job fixing the resort up after the hurricane ❤ Night entertainment was great. I would highly recommend this resort. We will be returning again next March and that is saying something as we never go back to the same resort. ABSOLUTELY LOVED MELIA JARDINE DEL RAY ❤❤❤

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManager, General Manager at Melia Jardines del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Tammy D,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for sharing your experience with us. Taking care of the guest and making them feel at home will make them want to return, this is our filosophy.
It gives us great pleasure that you had a wonderful time and that the service and facilities were able to meet your expectations.So, on behalf of all, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Marcos Díaz Trujillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Feb 2018 BEAUTIFUL weather..sunny every day!
The resort was stunning! Great bar staff, restaurant staff and all grounds keeping staff were over the top friendly and a pleasure but the customer service staff and the front desk were AWFUL! Everyone was dehydrated because they would not restock our room fridge with beverages and when we asked for more to customer service we were given a hard time. On multiple occasions we had to walk to the front desk and ask because over the phone they said they would restock and they never did. Hotel was under staffed and over booked. We LOVED the swim up bars, staff were awesome. Will go back to Cuba again for sure... sadly not this resort.

Room Tip: close to front desk is noisy, far away bungalows .no customer service
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManager, General Manager at Melia Jardines del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Dear Rob E,

We really appreciate your review because this is the best way to improve our daily work. It is sad to see your poor score mostly because of the attitude from some of our staff members. We are paying close attention to your comments and we´ll make sure to act accordingly. It is our goal to build nice holidays for our customers and in order to get that, we stress again that we are in improvements mode as a team.
On the other side, we have noted that you have enjoyed our facilities despite the situation that you have described, that we do hope will not deter you to come back for another stay.
We´ll be sharing these comments with the whole staff so they can know and for sure new visitors will experience the difference.
Lastly, it would be great if you change your mind, we do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer service levels that our clients deserve.

With warmest regards,

Marcos Díaz Trujillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

This was our first time in Cuba and we loved it. We were there for 7 days and it felt like 4.Time fly's when your having fun.
Food was great
Beach amazing
Services is excellent
Entertaintment impressive
Bar, well its unlimited so we drank more than usual
We even made a lot of friend especially my cuban son Alexander who worked as a entertainer and fitness instructor. He is amazing and he loves his job.

Room Tip: If possible close to the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank njnmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManager, General Manager at Melia Jardines del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear njnmorin,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the rest of Tripadvisor´s readers. It thrills us to know that your visit was well worth it. We will definitely share your comments with all the staff as it serves as a great motivator for them to keep the good job. As you may read in previous answers, taking good care of our guests and exceeding their expectations we believe it´s the way to take them back again to Meliá Jardines del Rey. We are certain there will be another time for being together. We will be very glad to assist with any request you may have since it will be a pleasure to welcome the old friends.

With warmest regards,

Marcos Díaz Trujillo
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Visited this resort for the second time in Feb/18.
This resort did not disappoint. The beach is bigger and more beautiful. 2 huge pools that are so clean and clear.
The staff are amazing. We got great service everywhere we went. Bars, buffet, restaurants, front desk.
Live entertainment every evening in the lobby area. Lots of space to hang out and have a drink or two. Wifi available in the lobby area at 1 peso per hour.
I found the food service had improved since my first visit. The food is ok and repetitive but there is always something to eat. Do not go to Cuba for the food.
I will continue to go to Cuba for the beaches and the people!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank underdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManager, General Manager at Melia Jardines del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear underdog,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your second visit to Meliá jardines del Rey. As the general manager it is always rewarding to receive guests positive experiences where the staff was able to exceed their expectations.
Our goal is that all our customers to feel that they are at home with warm and friendly service. Certainly, we are proud of our team, always looking to improve and exceed the expectations of our clients.
Finaly, we hope that if you visit our country in the future you will return to Cayo Coco and stay at Meliá Jardines del Rey. It will be a pleasure to look after your third time with us.

Sincerely yours,


Marcos Díaz Trujillo
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

My husband and I stayed at Melia Jardines from March 21 - 28th 2018. This is our 4th trip to Cuba but first to Cayo Coco. The resort as everyone else mentions is massive but for the most part, very well run. We had no trouble with service in the room, beds comfortable, fridge restocked etc. Never had trouble finding shade or chairs at the pools. Lots of shade at both the pools and the beach, but you do have to have your chairs saved early in morning for the beach. My complaint about the beach is that there is only one washroom (only two stalls) in the women's which is totally unacceptable for so many people. There was ALWAYS a line up at the women's washroom. There should definitely be another washroom serving the people on the far side of the beach. Also another bar at same side would help out with the lineups as well.
The entertainment at this resort is by far THE BEST WE HAVE EVER SEEN!!!! We never went into the theater but all the entertainment was in the lobby and surrounding area. Lots of dancers, singers etc. All great.
Now, here comes the reason for the 3 star review. THE FOOD. When we came to Cuba 10 years ago we thought the food was ok. Nothing special but ok. We thought after all the complaining people have done about the food over the past many years, Cuba would start to do something about their food but it was not to be. The only way you could get good food at this resort was to either go to an Ala Carte. or stand in line for either pasta bar, or the grill, or omelets if breakfast. If you just went to the buffet you would be eating mystery food. Nothing was labeled and everything seemed to be "swimming" in some kind of liquid and everything seemed to be made into cut up sausages. It all just looked so unappealing that you didn't even want to try it to see if it did indeed taste good. Also, the bar kept running out of stock. I heard over and over again from other guests that this was the worst buffet they had ever been to of all the AI resorts and I have to agree.
I know everyone says the Cuban people work so hard etc etc. but damn it, so do I. and I expect to at least get my moneys worth on my one hard earned vacation per year. I did not at this resort and will not be back.

Room Tip: We were in building #9. Farthest away from lobby and buffet but close to beach and pools. VERY quite area.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GralManager, General Manager at Melia Jardines del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Cathy D,

As the General Manager of the Meliá Jardines del Rey, we would like to thank you for the feedback that is relevant to the hotel and to our future guests. You highlight the facilities and entertainment options, we would like to thank you.
Our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations in regards to quality and food selection. We will follow up and look for the opportunities of improvements.
All in all we want to thank you for the time you have devoted to let us know your experiences at Meliá Jardines del Rey. Of course, we do hope you can repeat the experience in the future and discover more.
The staff is ready for your next visit, let us know in advance, we will attend your requests.

Best wishes,

Marcos Díaz Trujillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews