We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Rental at Honua Kai”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the lanai
Gourmet kitchen with Bosch appliances
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View from the lanai
Gourmet kitchen with Bosch appliances
Spacious with Double sinks, soaker tub and separat
Master bedroom with king bed and HD TV  with Roku for Netflix
Have a romantic dinner or pop in for happy hour at Dukes
The infinity pool
The Aina market is on site and very handy.
One of three barbecue areas featuring Viking Barbecues.
Unit is Konea 248 which is # 48 in the left building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ka'anapali, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mason A
1 review
“Excellent Rental at Honua Kai”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our rental experience couldn't have been better. From the time we first inquired about the property to the day we left, Terry and Jill (the property owners) were in constant contact with us and answered every single question we had, right down to the most mundane details. Having hosts who are so involved in managing their property made the experience so much more pleasant than other VRBO experiences we've had.

We received detailed instruction prior to arrival so that we know exactly what to do when we got off the plane in Maui. That really streamlined the process and made check-in super easy. The Honua Kai property itself is pretty spectacular, and this particular unit is no exception. It is spacious with a full kitchen, a large master bedroom and bath and an exceptional balcony overlooking the ocean. It's a bit hard to describe, but the door and windows to the balcony actually had the ability to fold away so that you could turn the entire unit into an open air room.

Terry and Jill are very thorough in maintaining the unit. We were pleased to find a binder on the coffee table chock full of information from the various features in the unit, to recommended local restaurants, to fun activities to do in Maui. We ended up referencing this binder on more than a few occasions.

After checking out of the Honua Kai we spent three days at the Four Seasons and both my wife and I ended up agreeing that we preferred our stay at Terry and Jill's place at the Honua Kai. Better accommodations, more accessible environment, more interesting part of Maui.

We plan on returning to Maui and when we do we will definitely try to rent this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodations and the mood at the resort.
Liked least: It was all great. No complaints.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Vacation, Perfect Location!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Honua Kai resort was a great place to stay. Resort, grounds, and pool areas were immaculate. September was the perfect time to go-resort and beaches were uncrowded and very relaxing. Good snorkeling right off the beach. Duke's has great food.

The unit itself was as advertised and more. The photos and description don't really do the place justice. Very clean and well-cared for; fully stocked with everything we needed, from laundry detergent and spices to beach towels, chairs and toys; felt like being at home.

Jill and Terry were a pleasure to deal with from the start. You can tell that they care about their units and their guests. Very responsive with any questions we had and checked in with us regularly in the days prior to and upon our arrival to make sure that everything went smoothly. Highly recommended. We will definitely rent from them again on our next visit to Maui.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaire M
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in this unit and we found it to be perfect. The unit is quite spacious and comfortable. We appreciated the extras such as a selection of beach gear, a well equipped kitchen and the roku device for watching movies etc. Honua Kai resort is quite beautiful with lots of pools, nice garden areas, viking grills in various locations and the beach steps away. The underground parking was convenient.

We utilised the gym, spa and Dukes restaurant on site. Across the street is a supermarket and a selection of restaurants. A path along the beach leads to nearby resorts and is good for jogging or a stroll.

Looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve C
1 review
“The Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

As a returning guest to the resort, but a first time VRBO guest, we found our stay to be absolutely awesome! Attention to detail by the owners was perfect, and the little extras like beach accessories and kitchen condiments were really appreciated compared to a standard resort stay. We are definitely return customers of Jill and Terry's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and luxurious comfort
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$249
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing