We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/22
Booking.com
US$419
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$337
View deal
Hotels.comUS$419
PricelineUS$419
TravelocityUS$419
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
263
54
15
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
263
54
15
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hunt room turn down service distillery tour autograph collection great lawn lobby bar across the street hotel experience pool deck every guest fire pit resort fee valet staff following morning hotel guests water pressure raleigh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2021 via mobile

First trip post covid for my husband and I to celebrate my
birthday and it’s been a mostly positive hotel experience with some room for improvement.

Pros: Unique vintage hotel with beautiful indoor and outdoor dining and pool facilities. We loved the beach club and found the staff there overall very attentive. The beach view and ability to pop from one setting to another is a big plus! The beautiful indoor pool is AWESOME for rainy days. The breakfast at Becca is delicious and the wait staff is superb. We had fun making smores and love the nightly cookies as a classy touch for turn down service. The rooms are cutely decorated with comfy beds and excellent shower/water pressure. The Hunt dinner was unique and delicious. Valet and concierge staff very friendly.

A few cons: Hotel knew it was my birthday trip but put nothing in the room to acknowledge and said nothing when we checked in (as most other luxury marriots would). Construction by the outdoor pool is ongoing and quite LOUD- weren’t told about this when booked. Restaurants (particularly Tulu and the beach club pool bar) are really understaffed and food takes way too long- seems like they need to hire/train more people. No availability for hotel guests for Sunday brunch or weekend tea (even when we tried to arrange multiple days in advance- they should really ask you when you book if you want to reserve those experiences as we felt sad to miss out). We called and asked for a bodywash and shampoo refill almost daily but they must be out because it was never refilled…

Overall lovely experience and would recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for a unique beach/pool getaway.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank WerudiAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GK PHR Marketing, Marketing at The Historic Cavalier Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will pass along your comments to the team. Providing our guests with an elevated experience and inspiring special memories energizes us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

The hotel looked great. The staff were all helpful.

The valet parking was a nuisance because I felted rushed trying to get an infant out of the car.

Asked for a foam pillow and it was confirmed done but only had poly filled pillows in room.

The roam itself was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was very nice. Both spacious. Bed was a little soft but linens were very nice.

Housekeeping brought some feminine products when asked for them.

Beach club was closed because of the rain.

The valet parking was good but not my choice when I had an infant to get in and out each time. It would be nice to have some sort of cover for the front driveway to keep us out of the rain, which we had a lot of the day we stayed.

Breakfast at Becca was pricey and it had juice, coffee or tea included. I was charged fir the drink of choice I had but did not complain about it because I realized it after I had left.

Room tip: The indoor pool is stuffy and loud, but nice for an indoor swim when it rains.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 2017FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GK PHR Marketing, Marketing at The Historic Cavalier Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review about your experience. We look forward to being at your service to you during your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Our family made reservations for tour and dinner at the Cavalier Hotel to celebrate my birthday. The hotel itself is quite beautiful and offers many amenities. One special one is the Tarnished Truth Distillery that is on site. We toured the distillery and it ended with a tasting. The host, Rachel, was knowledgeable and excellent in her presentation. Suffice to say, the tasting yielded a the purchase of two bottles of Tarnished Truth bourdon and bourdon syrup. Now, following the tour we ate dinner at Becca's. Everything from the popover, cocktails, entrée and dessert were fabulous. Our server, Stephen, made the entire experience wonderful, as well. The information he provided on the hotel's history was delightfully colorful and informative. This was a wonderful birthday celebration and we plan to be back next year.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GK PHR Marketing, Marketing at The Historic Cavalier Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for taking time to leave us positive feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all that The Historic Cavalier and Beach Club have to offer. It was a pleasure to read your comments about our property! Your kind comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Sean is a true gem at the hotel’s Becca Restaurant. Enjoyed his conversation, as well as his dedication to his work. Cavalier is lucky to have him !!A beautiful place for a getaway!! The history of the hotel has been wonderfully preserved.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank angelamK9707QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GK PHR Marketing, Marketing at The Historic Cavalier Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2021

Thank you for taking time to leave us positive feedback about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all that The Historic Cavalier and Beach Club have to offer. It was a pleasure to read your comments about our property! Your kind comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to being of service to you during future visits to Virginia Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

The Cavalier hotel is a lovely hotel with a variety of great amenities. However, the hotel is clearly having trouble hiring team members post-COVID. We experienced poor service with the spa, restaurant and front desk staff. The valet is a bright spot, from a service standpoint. The hotel still earned a 4 as it has potential, but for the summer of 2021, I would choose a different location if you’re looking for a high end beach vacation.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank V6650NRamandae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GK PHR Marketing, Marketing at The Historic Cavalier Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Thank you for your review. It is both our mission and our passion to provide a world-class experience. We are continually looking to improve. If there's anything we can do to make your next visit worthy of a 5-star review, please let us know! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews