We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming friendly place”
Review of Tafarn y Plu

Tafarn y Plu
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Multi award-winning country inn with a thoroughly Welsh ethos that'll give you a taste of what our country is really about. Our 200-year-old inn is a Grade II listed building situated in an Architectural Conservation Area in the picturesque village of Llanystumdwy near the popular seaside resort of Criccieth. The inn has not been spoilt by modernity, and wallows relaxingly in its past untainted by TV sets, juke boxes or gaming machines, while offering the latest Wales has to offer in food and drink.
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We wished we had found this place sooner than we did. Very friendly and welcoming staff I presume were the owners. They were only open a few days in the week but we went in on the Sunday evening and had a lovely roast lamb dinner followed by home made gooseberry crumble with custard. Not really expensive and not frills either just honest food served well.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank mobilemowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Tafarn y Plu, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

We open five nights a week in summer, at 6pm, but we take Mondays & Tuesdays off (as our sort of weekend). Hours are different in winter (October-Easter). We're pleased the reviewer enjoyed our welcome and our food. We do our best to make our customers' experience a pleasant one, and their memories of our place warm ones. Diolch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2018

Have many happy memories of this area from family holidays at Abersoch 60 years ago before the Cheshire set took it over so it was great to find a traditional Welsh pub, serving local beers and great food from local produce. Very friendly place and great to hear Welsh spoken as a first language. My wife and I enjoyed our meals but the highlight was the gooseberry crumble and custard ! Well worth a visit if you are in this area. Sorry to see it's up for sale, hope it doesn't turn into one of those chrome and blacked out windows places.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mrcliffordd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Tafarn y Plu, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Presenting the best of our wonderful little country is our raison d'être, from our food and drink - be it wine, ale, cider, lager, stout, gin, whisky, or fancy liqueurs - to our language, culture and history. I doubt whether any potential new owners would want to tarnish that reputation by plating the place in chrome and blacking out the windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stopped by chance after searching for an evening meal in Pwlhelli and found this quaint , cosy ,welcoming pub . My fishcakes and chilli jam were tasty and my husband enjoyed his Welsh Black steak . Hurry if you want to try it - its up for sale !!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Tafarn y Plu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Quaint, cosy, welcoming? Yep, that's us. We're pleased the reviewer enjoyed her visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We had a group of 8 friends who tried to visit. We had called before we arrived to ask to reserve a table, but they wouldn't take bookings, but knew we were coming.

We approached the pub and were greeted by a very hostile lady saying we could not come in and they would not take groups, despite the fact that we called ahead.

We went out of our way to get a taxi to this pub, and being turned away in this way was disgraceful.

There was a for sale sign on the side, so hopefully they will be under new ownership soon.

Avoid!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Tafarn y Plu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

We certainly do not encourage large same-sex groups as they can often be rowdy and loud, sometimes even obnoxious, spoiling other patrons' enjoyment of a well-deserved relaxing evening in our compact rural bar/restaurant. That's not to say that this group would have necessarily proven to be so, but we have been bitten too often in the past to take the risk. We did however help them find transportation to another venue. We deliberately operate a policy of no TV, no juke box, no gaming machines, no swearing, no rowdiness; our aim is to provide good food and drink in a convivial atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Visited with family had a great meal steak and beef & stout pie with puddings and drinks £47 for 2. Value for money and worth a visit when in and around Criccieth and Llandustumwy.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank BeachBhudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at Tafarn y Plu, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

We pride ourselves on trying to offer quality food and drink that's value for money, and are delighted that BeachBhudda enjoyed his/her visit to us. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tafarn y Plu also viewed

 
Garndolbenmaen, Gwynedd
 

Been to Tafarn y Plu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing