We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We drove from KL, parked our car and got on the resort boat, and so our fun began!
This is not a 5 star resort so if you want luxury don't come here.
Our 3 night getaway was fantastic. We have a 3 year old and 17 month old and they just loved the beach which is great for collecting amazing coloured stones. The water was lovely in and the beach is very pretty and has great rock pools at low tide.
The staff are just fantastic and were always helpful and smiling. We were also very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. We were expecting average Asian style cuisine but some nights we had lovely Western dishes (not fries but lots of yummy vegetables, roast chicken etc) and their curries were also delicious. Breakfast was basic but did the job!
Our little bure was just lovely, we had a gorgeous canopy bed with netting and a baby cot was also provided as was a single bed for free.
Whilst no cooling, the breeze at night and ceiling fan made it really fine for sleeping. The bathroom was quite dark but it did the job (no hot water).
Some nights our children were too tired to eat in the dining room so the staff were kind enough to bring our food, a table and chairs down to our deck and set up our dining there which was really lovely.
Even with 2 little ones we trecked across the island to Sea Gypsy Village and had a swim at their stunning beach for the morning.
Very affordable stay and something I highly recommend if you want to do something a bit different.

Room Tip: If you have a young family or just want peace and quiet make sure they don't give you a room nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    86
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
108
114
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Good:-
1) Short travel distance via boat transfer from jetty
2) Upon arrival, welcome by warm and friendly staffs by the beach to help us down from boat
3) they will send you direct to your room first, let u settled down rather than send you to proceed for registration, payment for chk in etc
4) our 'hut/room' is simply amazing and well maintained!
5) Foods - do not expect buffet here, they serve you by course! (Feeling wow!)
6) Payment for foods is upon check out, they will jott down what you've ordered.
7) Massage - usually you expecting sky high price at island resort but here is reasonable plus it's semi outdoor! (must try!)

To take note:
1) bathroom is semi- open, w/o heater and hair dryer
2) bathroom light is quite dim
3) hut is w/o proper door , only with canvas as door
4) this is a rocky beach resort instead of sandy beach
5) not much activities/props for children here
6) wifi only available at main hall but reception is very poor
7) no air con, only ceiling fans but it's OK cos of the design, it's quite good air ventilation- back to nature!

*all above we can accept as we are coming here to relax and unwind, just to share some insights so that you can be well prepared prior coming here..

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LorainneNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Fantastic environment, quiet and simple gives opportunity of real relax after fast and noisy and full of stress life in Singapore.
Absolutely friendly staff create home atmosphere.One of not- so many places and resorts, where I always like to come back , especially that easy to go there from Singapore.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyshpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Great place to chill and enjoy the sea and nature. Easy and quick to get to from Singapore for a weekend. Simple, basic accommodation but clean and in tune with the overall easy-going atmosphere. Great staff and good food. All in all a wonderful, inexpensive place to escape city life and work.

Room Tip: Get the 'wedding suite' if you want hot water ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephaneoertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

The staff, the location, the proximity to Singapore, the food, the total disconnect from the world ... there are so many things to rave about at Rimba Resort. My friends and I loved our long weekend away.
With our private van transport on Friday afternoon and the quick boat ride to the resort from the jetty - it felt like minimum effort for maximum result.
No hot water, no AC, no doors on the huts sound scary but weren't at all. It added to the ambience of the resort.
The staff were fantastic, they anticipated needs, were keen for a chat and were totally at our service in a lovely down-to-earth way. Food was excellent and they were happy to suit dietary needs - wonderful!
The dive centre was awesome, big shout out to Ash, John & Nat for helping us. While the dive sites themselves aren't the best ... it's always great to be in the water. The proximity to the resort also helps ... less time on the boat and traveling. A professionally run dive centre for sure.
I'll definitely be going back! What a gift at a very minimal price.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
0.0 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
33.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
33.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
24.3 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
8.5 km away
TAd Marine Resort
TAd Marine Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Tinggi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Property: Rimba Resort
Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing