We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise close by JB: nice staff, delicious food, sea and nature. ”
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Perfect place to relax close by the jungle and the sea. The seafront chalets have an amazing view and are fit with the landscape.
The staff are friendly and kind, they anticipate or satisfy the requests.
The food are delicious and plentiful.
I think I will come against!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi Carla, Thank you for your review and for staying with us! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Have a great week! Carly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

We drove from KL, parked our car and got on the resort boat, and so our fun began!
This is not a 5 star resort so if you want luxury don't come here.
Our 3 night getaway was fantastic. We have a 3 year old and 17 month old and they just loved the beach which is great for collecting amazing coloured stones. The water was lovely in and the beach is very pretty and has great rock pools at low tide.
The staff are just fantastic and were always helpful and smiling. We were also very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. We were expecting average Asian style cuisine but some nights we had lovely Western dishes (not fries but lots of yummy vegetables, roast chicken etc) and their curries were also delicious. Breakfast was basic but did the job!
Our little bure was just lovely, we had a gorgeous canopy bed with netting and a baby cot was also provided as was a single bed for free.
Whilst no cooling, the breeze at night and ceiling fan made it really fine for sleeping. The bathroom was quite dark but it did the job (no hot water).
Some nights our children were too tired to eat in the dining room so the staff were kind enough to bring our food, a table and chairs down to our deck and set up our dining there which was really lovely.
Even with 2 little ones we trecked across the island to Sea Gypsy Village and had a swim at their stunning beach for the morning.
Very affordable stay and something I highly recommend if you want to do something a bit different.

Room Tip: If you have a young family or just want peace and quiet make sure they don't give you a room nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angeo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review Rimba and for leaving such lovely comments! We are always looking for ways to improve so please send us any suggestions you have for our breakfast menu! We look forward to seeing you again soon and hope you have a great week ahead - The Rimba Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Good:-
1) Short travel distance via boat transfer from jetty
2) Upon arrival, welcome by warm and friendly staffs by the beach to help us down from boat
3) they will send you direct to your room first, let u settled down rather than send you to proceed for registration, payment for chk in etc
4) our 'hut/room' is simply amazing and well maintained!
5) Foods - do not expect buffet here, they serve you by course! (Feeling wow!)
6) Payment for foods is upon check out, they will jott down what you've ordered.
7) Massage - usually you expecting sky high price at island resort but here is reasonable plus it's semi outdoor! (must try!)

To take note:
1) bathroom is semi- open, w/o heater and hair dryer
2) bathroom light is quite dim
3) hut is w/o proper door , only with canvas as door
4) this is a rocky beach resort instead of sandy beach
5) not much activities/props for children here
6) wifi only available at main hall but reception is very poor
7) no air con, only ceiling fans but it's OK cos of the design, it's quite good air ventilation- back to nature!

*all above we can accept as we are coming here to relax and unwind, just to share some insights so that you can be well prepared prior coming here..

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank LorainneNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Fantastic environment, quiet and simple gives opportunity of real relax after fast and noisy and full of stress life in Singapore.
Absolutely friendly staff create home atmosphere.One of not- so many places and resorts, where I always like to come back , especially that easy to go there from Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andyshpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Great place to chill and enjoy the sea and nature. Easy and quick to get to from Singapore for a weekend. Simple, basic accommodation but clean and in tune with the overall easy-going atmosphere. Great staff and good food. All in all a wonderful, inexpensive place to escape city life and work.

Room Tip: Get the 'wedding suite' if you want hot water ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephaneoertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
6.6 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
33.8 km away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mersing
138 reviews
33.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
0 km away
Rimba Resort
Rimba Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Sibu
3 reviews
8.3 km away
TAd Marine Resort
TAd Marine Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Tinggi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing