We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Holiday break from Singapore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holiday break from Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Rimba is fabulous a very relaxing resort with quite brilliant 5 star staff. It is however very rustic with cold showers and open huts. If you want to get away from it all this is the place as there is not much to do if you don't like diving, except go for walks and read. The beach is a bit rocky but across the island, a 15 min walk, is a massive sandy beach and another big resort but it lacks the friendly intimacy of Rimba. The huts are very basic but the beds are very comfortable and we slept like logs there even though my wife is terrified of spiders. A big plus with Rimba is the bar as its quite cosy with great staff and great music and a lovely atmosphere.
things worth taking are: Torch, Beach shoes, Mossie spray, Book.

Room Tip: rooms near bar are noisier but closer to the bar? all rooms have sea view, furthest have 100yd walk?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    86
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
108
114
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has been several years since we last made a trip to Rimba so we were very glad to find out that the place is as lovely and rustic as ever. The awesome Rimba crew made sure we felt like we were home away from home and we left feeling like we left a part of our hearts at Rimba.

Just left Rimba a couple of days ago and we are already thinking of when we can next make a trip there!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite & Family Chalet are the only huts with hot bath water so pick those if having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect place to relax close by the jungle and the sea. The seafront chalets have an amazing view and are fit with the landscape.
The staff are friendly and kind, they anticipate or satisfy the requests.
The food are delicious and plentiful.
I think I will come against!

Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

We drove from KL, parked our car and got on the resort boat, and so our fun began!
This is not a 5 star resort so if you want luxury don't come here.
Our 3 night getaway was fantastic. We have a 3 year old and 17 month old and they just loved the beach which is great for collecting amazing coloured stones. The water was lovely in and the beach is very pretty and has great rock pools at low tide.
The staff are just fantastic and were always helpful and smiling. We were also very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. We were expecting average Asian style cuisine but some nights we had lovely Western dishes (not fries but lots of yummy vegetables, roast chicken etc) and their curries were also delicious. Breakfast was basic but did the job!
Our little bure was just lovely, we had a gorgeous canopy bed with netting and a baby cot was also provided as was a single bed for free.
Whilst no cooling, the breeze at night and ceiling fan made it really fine for sleeping. The bathroom was quite dark but it did the job (no hot water).
Some nights our children were too tired to eat in the dining room so the staff were kind enough to bring our food, a table and chairs down to our deck and set up our dining there which was really lovely.
Even with 2 little ones we trecked across the island to Sea Gypsy Village and had a swim at their stunning beach for the morning.
Very affordable stay and something I highly recommend if you want to do something a bit different.

Room Tip: If you have a young family or just want peace and quiet make sure they don't give you a room nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Good:-
1) Short travel distance via boat transfer from jetty
2) Upon arrival, welcome by warm and friendly staffs by the beach to help us down from boat
3) they will send you direct to your room first, let u settled down rather than send you to proceed for registration, payment for chk in etc
4) our 'hut/room' is simply amazing and well maintained!
5) Foods - do not expect buffet here, they serve you by course! (Feeling wow!)
6) Payment for foods is upon check out, they will jott down what you've ordered.
7) Massage - usually you expecting sky high price at island resort but here is reasonable plus it's semi outdoor! (must try!)

To take note:
1) bathroom is semi- open, w/o heater and hair dryer
2) bathroom light is quite dim
3) hut is w/o proper door , only with canvas as door
4) this is a rocky beach resort instead of sandy beach
5) not much activities/props for children here
6) wifi only available at main hall but reception is very poor
7) no air con, only ceiling fans but it's OK cos of the design, it's quite good air ventilation- back to nature!

*all above we can accept as we are coming here to relax and unwind, just to share some insights so that you can be well prepared prior coming here..

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LorainneNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
0.0 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
33.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
33.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 km away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 13 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
24.3 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
8.5 km away
TAd Marine Resort
TAd Marine Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Tinggi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Property: Rimba Resort
Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing