We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family break in paradise”
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stayed at Rimba resort for a long weekend whilst visiting my father in Singapore. The brief was to find somewhere that the kids and us could live in paradise for 3 days, with an authentic vibe, a relaxed atmosphere and plenty of 'wild' activities for the kids. Rimba resort was all this and so much more. We stayed in the family chalet which was wonderfully spacious and rustic (without forgoing the luxuries we all like such as bathrooms, really comfortable beds a kettle and fridge!) even with 5 of us in it. The food was delicious and the main bar and chill-out area was fantastic. But it was the staff and their friendly, but not imposing, manner and their excellent attitude with the children that completely won us over. They provided a fabulous afternoon activity, the Conservation Club, which was not only great fun for our boys but educational too and a far cry from the usual kids clubs that repeat the same dull formula. My boys would wake at 7.30am most mornings, throw their trunks on and explore with the friends they'd made at the resort until they fell into bed at 10pm. Not once did I feel they were not safe or bored. In essence, the most wonderful holiday for us all and we look forward to coming back in the autumn. Thank you to the wonderful team there, we look forward to our next visit already.

Room Tip: Family Chalet no1 is a great choice for groups - spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrietta n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi Henrietta, Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us! We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future! Have a great week. Island love, The Rimba Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2017

Our Rimba long-weekend escape exceeded our expectations at every turn. The rustic beach huts are perfect for couples of families.

Whether you're into diving, snorkelling, day spa action or plain old relaxing - Rimba is the perfect antidote to the city. A bar that couples as a covered but open lounge is the centre-point for all guests and the atmosphere couldn't be more chilled. Hammocks by the beach, views and sounds of the ocean from everywhere, fabulous food (fully catered including food intolerances/allergies) and a kid's club that's all about conservation with a focus on the resort's fledgling turtle sanctuary.

But without a doubt the jewel in Rimba's crown is its extraordinary staff who intuitively get hospitality and what that means for its guests on an individual level. All members of my family felt completely and utterly cared and catered for and our job was clear - relax, unwind and take a break. What's not to love. We will be back.

Room Tip: Showers in all but two huts are cold, but given the temperature outside that doesn't matter. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chloeplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi Chloe, Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Rimba! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we will hopefully be seeing you again soon! Please say hello to the girls from all of us. Island love, The Rimba Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We visited Rimba last weekend to get away from the noise and chaos of Singapore for a little while and we had the best time ever. The island is very rustic; no aircon, no wifi and no TV, which in my opinion is just perfect. There is always an amazing breeze on the island and it is a lot less humid than Singapore. We took our three kids aged 7, 3 and 2 and they loved it. Waking up to the sound of the waves is just unbeatable and the chalets are steps away from the beach. The food served was of excellent quality and the choice was varied. The staff were always aware that we had a vegetarian in our group and provided separate meals without being asked or reminded. The spa services were also excellent and the massage is highly recommended! There really was nothing that was too much trouble for the staff here. A bi thank you to all of them and we hope to visit again soon. Thanks to David, Dale and Rob for the cocktails. Peace out ;)

Room Tip: Families with more than one child would benefit from the family chalet for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi Jenna, Thank you for your lovely review of Rimba and of course for staying with us! We are very happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the food. If you have any suggestions for our vegetarian menu then please feel free to send them via email - we would love to add to our vegetarian options and it's best to hear from our vegetarian guests should they have any ideas! Thanks again and hopefully see you all soon, Island love, The Rimba Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Rimba is fabulous a very relaxing resort with quite brilliant 5 star staff. It is however very rustic with cold showers and open huts. If you want to get away from it all this is the place as there is not much to do if you don't like diving, except go for walks and read. The beach is a bit rocky but across the island, a 15 min walk, is a massive sandy beach and another big resort but it lacks the friendly intimacy of Rimba. The huts are very basic but the beds are very comfortable and we slept like logs there even though my wife is terrified of spiders. A big plus with Rimba is the bar as its quite cosy with great staff and great music and a lovely atmosphere.
things worth taking are: Torch, Beach shoes, Mossie spray, Book.

Room Tip: rooms near bar are noisier but closer to the bar? all rooms have sea view, furthest have 100yd walk?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 720barrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi Barry! Thank you for taking the time to review Rimba! Your tips for our future guests are very handy, since your review we have added the beach shoes and torch to our 'Island Tips List'. Thank you for choosing Rimba and we hope the journey back to the UK went well. Have a great week ahead, Carly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

It has been several years since we last made a trip to Rimba so we were very glad to find out that the place is as lovely and rustic as ever. The awesome Rimba crew made sure we felt like we were home away from home and we left feeling like we left a part of our hearts at Rimba.

Just left Rimba a couple of days ago and we are already thinking of when we can next make a trip there!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite & Family Chalet are the only huts with hot bath water so pick those if having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi there - Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we haven't changed too much! We aim to stick to our concept of being a rustic, laid-back resort so it's great to hear that you agree. We look forward to seeing you again this season! Have a great week ahead - The Rimba Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
6.6 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#9 of 11 in Mersing
130 reviews
33.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 11 in Mersing
55 reviews
33.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 11 in Mersing
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
0.0 km away
Rimba Resort
Rimba Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Sibu
3 reviews
24.3 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing