We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$167
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Rimba Resort(Pulau Sibu)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$36
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mersing Hotel(Mersing)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Embassy Hotel(Mersing)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$17
US$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Timotel Hotel(Mersing)
US$35
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
257
96
14
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
96
14
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterget awaysea gypsysibu islandjungle walkno air conbasic accommodationscuba divingsandy beachfishmosquito nettingfamily chaletrelaxing weekendhi tidesuper friendly staffopen airboat trip
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

The very friendly staff at Rimba resort made our holiday a great experience. The food (buffet type) is very good. The Hi-Tide divers diving centre has excellent dive masters to guide the dives. Good and safe diving behavior is continuously shown.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sj4ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Rimba! We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our dive team to be professional. Safety is our number one priority at Hi-Tide Divers. We look forward to having you stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

After hearing friends rave about their trips to Rimba, my husband and I finally made the 2 hour drive from JB and found ourselves sailing through open waters over to Sibu island. We were greeted by smiles all round from the Rimba staff, and shown to our accommodation. WOW, this was not what we were expecting at all. A perfect little private hut, with a four poster double bed, open aired bathroom, and a view straight out onto the beach. The staff were busy keeping the island clean and planning conservation acivities in the day, and as the sun set we were tucking into a delicious BBQ, followed by drinks at the bar. The staff were all so friendly and gave you as much or as little attention as you desired. The resort is run by a fabulous English couple who made sure our stay was perfect. I would definitely recommend a short break here away from the City. Bring a good book, and try out some of their spa treatments. Will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hollyewithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi there, thank you for your review of Rimba Resort. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back! Thank you for mentioning our conservation projects too - this is a big focus of ours this year and I'm glad you could see this happening around the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon... island love, The Rimba Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

I went with my partner for a long weekend and ended up staying an extra day because we loved it so much. The island is stunning and the resort fits in well with the surroundings. its a very simple resort with huts just off the beach so be aware its cold showers and no aircon. The staff are fantastic, really make you feel part of the family, couldn't be more helpful. The chef was amazing, breakfast, lunch and dinner is all included and you don't pick the meal the chef makes it but every meal we had was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilt_in_Action
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your review of Rimba. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food! Our head chef is Malay and has been with us for 10 years - he loves seeing reviews like this! From all of us at Rimba - thank you for staying and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

It was stretch of beautiful coastline as we approached the resort. Emerald waters boasting its clarity and showing how much potential there is for snorkeling and diving. Just 15 mins off tanjung leman jetty in a comfy boat ride, paradise can be found.

We were warmly greeted by the friendly staff. Blonde caucasians make up he bulk of all who work and stay here. This interesting melting pot of cultures is something truly unique especially since I expected nothing more than a local resort. The staff and visitors here come from all over the world and I was instantly transported away from the idea of a mundane Malaysian resort.

The beach itself is a generous assortment of geographical features ranging from soft white sand to stratified rocks holding tidal pools of all shapes and sizes. I really love the texture and colour of the stones and rocks in this area. There were inevitably some oil residue from a spill I believe, so take care to avoid stepping on these. Hopefully there's a way to clean em up.

It wasn't long before we succumbed to the allure of the pristine waters. A small blue spotted sting ray was what greeted us first just meters out. We were treated to a myriad of fishes, anemones and other interesting marine features. Giant clams also show promise of a healthy ecosystem where in most parts of the world are in decline. I was lucky to witness the most incredible feeding frenzy in a colour full display of fishes digging in on a patch of corals. Clown fish is also in abundance.

The chalet itself is a simple and flavorful hut, naturally ventilated under the shades of the canopies. It looks very much like a Zulu-styled accommodation, natural and in tune with the elements. The unit we were in had no hot shower or air con but it was fine without these. There are 2 fans to help keep it cool throughout. Beds were netted and insect could are provided. Some rooms do have hot shower if required.

The restaurant, bar and other structures are made of wood and all beautifully crafted and designed to take you away from the concrete jungle. A leisurely jungle walk of 20 mins will take you to the other side of the island where another stunning beach and resort awaits.

The food was scrumptious and lavish. It was 5-star service. Unlike most Malaysian resorts, they make sure the ingredients were fresh and every dish was premium quality to me.

I must say, the staff impressed me the most. They went out of their way willingly to help make my stay memorable. They would actually take time to talk to you and make sure everything is to your liking. All of them good-looking too! Perhaps one of the best ever in terms of hospitality and many resorts need to learn this from them.

Thanks to the staff and the friendly owner Malcolm for making this resort worth its stature on one of Malaysia's best and conveniently accessible islands. A big hi-five and thumbs up to you all!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Doc_joes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi there,
On behalf of Malcolm we would like to thank you for your fantastic review of Rimba Resort! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the team treated you well. It’s great to receive such informative, detailed reviews of the resort (good and bad!) as it really helps other guests make a decision on whether or not to come, it’s also great for the team to see what is and isn’t working.
With regards to the oil on the beach. This is something we battle at the beginning and end of each year and is mostly down to the illegal dumping of engine oil by ships in the area. Due to the monsoon winds, this is generally only found on our beach from December – February. We have daily beach cleans and try our best to stay on top of this problem. I’m sorry to hear that you noticed the oil on our beach and I hope it didn’t deter you from swimming, snorkeling or sunbathing!
The Rimba Conservation Crew are also getting all of our Rimba children involved in our beach clean ups!
Thank you again for this review, we really appreciate the feedback.
Hopefully see you again in the not too distant future!
Island Love, The Rimba Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

If you want a getaway to get away from the madness and relax, it's hard to bear Rimba. Part of the beauty is that you can do as much or as little as you want. There are plenty of places to relax with a book around the beach area and, if you want a bigger and prettier beach, you can take the 15-20 minute walk through the jungle to Sea Gypsies. The reef and snorkelling around Rimba is superb, however, and the resort is better than Sea Gypsies overall. Even during low tide, we say octopus, cuttle fish, blue spotted rays, angel fish and so much more. Huts are basic but do the job. The staff are wonderful with Cat and Carly keeping us informed in every way before our arrival and sorting out our transfer from Singapore, which was flawless. The bar is busy at night and has a lovely atmosphere (even when it's not a special occasion, I am sure!) Food is all included and was really, really good.

This will probably become a regular getaway spot for us. When you consider that, door-to-door, you can do it in 3.5-4 hours (even with the border crossing), it is a much quicker and, ultimately better, option than going to Thailand or Indonesia. We will be back :)

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room away from the bar. Next time, however, I will be asking for a hut closer to the bar!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FKSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hi there, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased to hear you took advantage of snorkeling on our house reef and enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar at night.
We are also really happy to hear you will be coming back and thank you for your very positive comments about our team. Thanks again and island love, The Rimba Crew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews