We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all expectations! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rimba Resort is a fantastic destination! The rustic huts are very comfortable and the food is excellent! The reef off the beach is great for family snorkelling with a lot of beautiful sea life. The best part about Rimba is the staff who go out of their way to provide top class service with a friendly smile! Going back for sure!

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank robertlowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    91
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
117
117
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The very friendly staff at Rimba resort made our holiday a great experience. The food (buffet type) is very good. The Hi-Tide divers diving centre has excellent dive masters to guide the dives. Good and safe diving behavior is continuously shown.

Stayed April 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sj4ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After hearing friends rave about their trips to Rimba, my husband and I finally made the 2 hour drive from JB and found ourselves sailing through open waters over to Sibu island. We were greeted by smiles all round from the Rimba staff, and shown to our accommodation. WOW, this was not what we were expecting at all. A perfect little private hut, with a four poster double bed, open aired bathroom, and a view straight out onto the beach. The staff were busy keeping the island clean and planning conservation acivities in the day, and as the sun set we were tucking into a delicious BBQ, followed by drinks at the bar. The staff were all so friendly and gave you as much or as little attention as you desired. The resort is run by a fabulous English couple who made sure our stay was perfect. I would definitely recommend a short break here away from the City. Bring a good book, and try out some of their spa treatments. Will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyewithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for your review of Rimba Resort. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back! Thank you for mentioning our conservation projects too - this is a big focus of ours this year and I'm glad you could see this happening around the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon... island love, The Rimba Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with my partner for a long weekend and ended up staying an extra day because we loved it so much. The island is stunning and the resort fits in well with the surroundings. its a very simple resort with huts just off the beach so be aware its cold showers and no aircon. The staff are fantastic, really make you feel part of the family, couldn't be more helpful. The chef was amazing, breakfast, lunch and dinner is all included and you don't pick the meal the chef makes it but every meal we had was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilt_in_Action
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi there,

Thank you for your review of Rimba. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food! Our head chef is Malay and has been with us for 10 years - he loves seeing reviews like this! From all of us at Rimba - thank you for staying and hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor bahru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

It was stretch of beautiful coastline as we approached the resort. Emerald waters boasting its clarity and showing how much potential there is for snorkeling and diving. Just 15 mins off tanjung leman jetty in a comfy boat ride, paradise can be found.

We were warmly greeted by the friendly staff. Blonde caucasians make up he bulk of all who work and stay here. This interesting melting pot of cultures is something truly unique especially since I expected nothing more than a local resort. The staff and visitors here come from all over the world and I was instantly transported away from the idea of a mundane Malaysian resort.

The beach itself is a generous assortment of geographical features ranging from soft white sand to stratified rocks holding tidal pools of all shapes and sizes. I really love the texture and colour of the stones and rocks in this area. There were inevitably some oil residue from a spill I believe, so take care to avoid stepping on these. Hopefully there's a way to clean em up.

It wasn't long before we succumbed to the allure of the pristine waters. A small blue spotted sting ray was what greeted us first just meters out. We were treated to a myriad of fishes, anemones and other interesting marine features. Giant clams also show promise of a healthy ecosystem where in most parts of the world are in decline. I was lucky to witness the most incredible feeding frenzy in a colour full display of fishes digging in on a patch of corals. Clown fish is also in abundance.

The chalet itself is a simple and flavorful hut, naturally ventilated under the shades of the canopies. It looks very much like a Zulu-styled accommodation, natural and in tune with the elements. The unit we were in had no hot shower or air con but it was fine without these. There are 2 fans to help keep it cool throughout. Beds were netted and insect could are provided. Some rooms do have hot shower if required.

The restaurant, bar and other structures are made of wood and all beautifully crafted and designed to take you away from the concrete jungle. A leisurely jungle walk of 20 mins will take you to the other side of the island where another stunning beach and resort awaits.

The food was scrumptious and lavish. It was 5-star service. Unlike most Malaysian resorts, they make sure the ingredients were fresh and every dish was premium quality to me.

I must say, the staff impressed me the most. They went out of their way willingly to help make my stay memorable. They would actually take time to talk to you and make sure everything is to your liking. All of them good-looking too! Perhaps one of the best ever in terms of hospitality and many resorts need to learn this from them.

Thanks to the staff and the friendly owner Malcolm for making this resort worth its stature on one of Malaysia's best and conveniently accessible islands. A big hi-five and thumbs up to you all!

Stayed March 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc_joes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi there,
On behalf of Malcolm we would like to thank you for your fantastic review of Rimba Resort! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the team treated you well. It’s great to receive such informative, detailed reviews of the resort (good and bad!) as it really helps other guests make a decision on whether or not to come, it’s also great for the team to see what is and isn’t working.
With regards to the oil on the beach. This is something we battle at the beginning and end of each year and is mostly down to the illegal dumping of engine oil by ships in the area. Due to the monsoon winds, this is generally only found on our beach from December – February. We have daily beach cleans and try our best to stay on top of this problem. I’m sorry to hear that you noticed the oil on our beach and I hope it didn’t deter you from swimming, snorkeling or sunbathing!
The Rimba Conservation Crew are also getting all of our Rimba children involved in our beach clean ups!
Thank you again for this review, we really appreciate the feedback.
Hopefully see you again in the not too distant future!
Island Love, The Rimba Crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
0.0 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
33.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
33.4 km away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
24.3 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Property: Rimba Resort
Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing