We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't want to leave”
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Amazing island resort. Bungalows are clean and basic. The staff make this place, so friendly and attentive, will sit at the bar and chat to you whilst being professional and doing their job. Food is excellent, recommend the BBQ on Saturdays. We did a few dives too, some decent reef dives and dive team are excellent. They have a stunning spa at the end of the beach, my massage was the equivalent of about £23 for an hour, it was lovely. Get over to Sibu and get to Rimba resort.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi there. Thank you for leaving us a 5* review! We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, your dives and your massage! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

Great spot for a weekend away from Singapore. Three hour journey, door to door as transport was arranged with the resort which included a 2.5 transfer and 20 min speedboat ride. We have just returned from our family trip and all five of us (3 adults, 2 children) absolutely loved it. Although there were no doors, windows or hot water, none of this mattered as it's a peaceful little island and the perfect spot relaxing. The food, snorkeling and massages were all excellent, but most importantly, every member of staff was fabulous and extremely friendly, going out of their way to ensure we all had a blast, with some even staying up drinking and dancing with us at the bar until 4am! My family had the best time, so thank you to everyone at Rimba. Missing it already, but we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GabriellaManuputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi there. Thank you for your wonderful review of Rimba! We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us (and dancing on the bar until 4am!!) - it was great to have you all here and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We spent 5 days (4 nights) on the island of Sibu. It's one of the lesser known Malaysian Islands, which means it is not as busy as Tioman/Langkawi. The resort is a 20 minute boat ride away from Tanjung Leman Jetty, and the resort provides excellent door to door service from jetty to resort.

Rimba is a tranquil resort on the north of the island, with a peaceful relaxing beach. When the tide is in around midday, rock shoes are a must! As soon as we arrived, we were made to feel extremely welcome by the amazing staff, and excellent customer service was constant throughout our stay.

The beach huts we stayed in were basic without Air Con and hot water HOWEVER, we never found heat or mosquitos a problem, and we actually loved the rustic, natural feel to the place.

Our package included breakfast, lunch and dinner and we were never disappointed. The menu varied between buffet style and a set menu, with evening meals consisting of 4 courses. The food was incredible every night and both the restaurant and bar offered a relaxing and calm dining atmosphere. There was water, filter coffee and a selection of teas with each meal.

The resort offers snorkelling and diving excursions, and one of the snorkelling trips we went on to Pulau Mentinggi was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katenicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi! Thank you for your descriptive and positive review of Rimba! We love reading reviews like this. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's also good to hear that you found that not having air-conditioning or hot water was ok! It's important for all of our future guests to know that only two chalets have hot water showers and that none of our chalets have air-conditioning! Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Our 2 families with young ones spent 3 nights at the no frills Rimba Resort. Before the trip, we were quite apprehensive about going without aircon and hot shower but it turn out quite alright. The limited wifi connectivity also forced us to spend time together rather than with devices. Although it is a small resort, it has enough activities to keep you occupied if you are the type that cannot stay still. We went snorkelling, diving, kayaking, trekking etc. The quality of all the meals also exceeded our expectation. The BBQ dinner under the stars on Saturday night was one of the highlight too. The international crew of Rimba are also friendly and customer focussed. Overall a great stay for us. Our only qualm is the exorbitant and uncoordinated collection of governments taxes and fees at the jetty before departure.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank PhoonKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Hi there, thank you for rating us 5*!! It is good to hear you could spend time as a family and "leave technology behind". Sorry to hear the jetty fee payment was a hassle, unfortunately this (as you mention) is a government charge so we do not have any control over the process of paying or the amount that you have to pay.
Otherwise we are pleased to hear you had a good stay and that we exceeded your expectations! Hopefully see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Great spot for a sneaky weekend from singapore. The resort organized transport for my friends and I from Singapore to the ferry to the island. A little speedboat took us to the island of Pulau Sibu. There are around 20 huts on a private beach. The resort is simple, natural and relaxed.

The staff are friendly, remember your name immediately put you at ease. The first night we were lucky enough for 90 turtles to hatch, at the hatchery right next to the beach bar.

Good options for snorkeling, diving, kayaking, spa or even just swimming at the beach. Incredible sunsets and great bar with good cocktails and beer.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RimbaResort, Manager at Rimba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your review and for mentioning the turtles! As the turtle project is so new, we haven't read much about it on TripAdvisor yet. Hopefully we will see you all again soon! Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
6.6 km away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#9 of 12 in Mersing
130 reviews
33.3 km away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
59 reviews
1.6 km away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
TAd Marine Resort
TAd Marine Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Tinggi
55 reviews
24.3 km away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
183 reviews
24.4 km away
D'Coconut Resort
D'Coconut Resort
#2 of 2 in Pulau Besar
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing