We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
The Inn At Warm Springs(Warm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Gristmill Square(Warm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$221
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budget Inn Motel(Covington)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Robert E Lee Hotel(Lexington)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
20
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchhorseback ridingtrout fishingbath countywaterwheel restaurantaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in one of their cottages last year and reviewed that. This time I stayed in The Lodge, an old farm house turned into a hotel, so I'm writing a second review.

The Lodge offers similar high end rustic luxury as the cottages. The fly fishing remains superb, although they are now under new management and the formerly free fly fishing now costs at least $50/day.

There are 3 key differences between the lodge and the cabins that might influence your lodging decision. The lodge does not seem to have laundry facilities. Half of the lodge's bedrooms are upstairs, with no elevator. Lodge guests do not have kitchen access. There is access to a refrigerator, microwave and sink, but you can't cook a breakfast or other meal. Instead, they furnish a very nice cold breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room if stairs are an issue. The two front upstairs room open onto a nice porch that is smoker friendly.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldfrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My group travelled to Warm Springs in late February of 2013 and had a blast. My mom arranged this trip for my Dad's 60th birthday and my brother-in-law and I had a great time on the Jackson River! The Natural Retreats team did a great job of arranging the trip and we arrived on site with a warm welcome from Will, our weekend guide, on Friday evening. We stayed in the Car Barn Cottage and it was clean, roomy and had everything we needed to cook and be comfortable during our stay (except for some matches and a corkscrew)! We were all first time fly fisherman and on Saturday we received a crash course on casting and what we were in for during the weekend. We rented all of our gear and Will and Jason guided us for 2 full days. Throughout the trip the guides were awesome and helped all three of us learn more about the sport and we all caught beautiful trout both days- it was an awesome first time experience. Can't say enough about the whole trip- check out Warm Springs and Meadow Lane Lodge for yourself!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I just got back from a 3-night national gathering of fly fishers at Meadow Lane. I loved the place!

The cottage I was in was very comfortable, well appointed and stocked. The cottages are well-separated to give good privacy. The site is incredibly peaceful and serene. City folks might appreciate the barn and its inhabitants: a small collection of horses, goats, sheep, guinea hens, and chickens.

It is a great place to go to just plain get away from the hustle and bustle and relax. If you don't fish, there is not a whole lot to do and see in the general area but, if you and your group can entertain yourselves, you'll do fine.

For people who fish C&R, this place is a paradise! There are 2 private miles of of the Jackson river, the spring-fed Dinwoodie creek, and a slough for warm water fishing. All are very well stocked with hungry fish-- many in the 10-12" category, but a surprising number well above 20". Rainbow trout, small mouths and red eyes. Some of our best fly fishers caught over 40 per day!

There is currently WiFi at the main lodge and at the Granary cottage. They apparently plan to add more cottages to WiFi. Verizon is the only cell phone coverage and, even if it is your server, you may have to get to higher elevations to get coverage. They offer Direct TV, albeit in a fairly primitive form.

Webb's market is about 5 miles away if you turn left at the entrance. Gas station, deli, and "supermarket". An interesting place that obviously caters to vacationers and outdoorsmen. A wide selection of items, but only 3-4 packages of any item on the shelves. A meat department that (rather humorously) consists of ground beef and bacon. there is a small fly shop on premise that will open if you ask them to.

Now for the bad news. there is a generational change going on in the family that has operated the place. Two of the cottages are being removed from the rental list. Professional management has been brought in to operate the place. My understanding is that they will be adding a $100/day/person rod fee for fishers. There has previously been no rod fee for those who rent the cottages. These changes mean that the gathering of my group will no longer be held there. Not enough rooms and too many members who can't afford those rod fees.

But, I'm really happy I got to stay there and fish before these changes went into effect.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldfrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

What an amazing landscape! We stayed in the Steinway room which was perfect for a family of 4. The vistas and the river are so beautiful we needed little else. You will love the farm animals and the preserved slave cabin. The lodge was the cleanest inn I have ever seen and the breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonderwoman7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Meadow Lane Lodge and Cottages is a superbly run B&B. We stayed in the Lodge--the main house--for a weekend in July and were thoroughly pleased. Although other rooms were also booked, we felt quite comfortable and at home. There are a variety of attractive housing options at this property, to please any traveler. You can choose an entire cottage or a small room.

Glenn, the owner-manager, is a delight. She is friendly, professional, and accommodating. Breakfast is pleasantly laid-out and includes an assortment of fresh muffins and breads, fruits, cereals, juice, coffee, yogurt.

The grounds are expansive and it's a good hub to visit other attractions in the area. Check out Lake Moomaw, The Homestead Resort, and the Waterwheel Restaurant.

A very rejuvenating experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opera101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews