We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Private and Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warm Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I'd never been to Meadow Lane, but my friend had several times and keeps going back. You'll feel like you have full run of the property! It's peaceful, beautiful and close to the river and trails. We stayed in the Jackson cottage which has a great layout. 2 bedrooms, 1 with a queen bed and the other with 2 twin beds. For fly fisherman, this cottage has super easy access to the river and is next to the place that other people park. Definitely spend time walking the grounds and find the "deck" that has a nice overlook. There are several barns, a bunch of private cottages and then the main lodge. If you fly fish, this is a private river and only people who stay on the property are allowed to fish it.

The kitchen is stocked with pots and pans and there is a gas grill on the back deck but there are also a few restaurants in Hot Springs (and the Homestead) if you don't feel like cooking.

Room Tip: All the private cabins looked great and the lodge would be amazing for a wedding a family/friends re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

4 - 8 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2015

While I understand the owners are moving away for renting out the entire property for large gatherings like our granddaughter's recent wedding, it was really a lovely place for it. The family and the wedding party were all able to stay on the large and beautiful farm property. One large building had space for her three brothers and their families and had a large kitchen. Another large building had space for the wedding party and served a nice breakfast. There are other facilities for as few as two and others that have several bedrooms.

The wedding itself was under huge old oak trees.

Even with GPS we had a bit of trouble finding the place. Some VERY SPECIFIC directions on the website would have been very appreciated. Also, since the fact sheet in our cottage gave the wi-fi password we thought we'd have wi-fi. Nope. Should have made it clear where on the property wi-fi was accessible.

Some of the entries below are hard to do, because it was not a single hotel. The pool was not open while we were there, but it looked nice

Room Tip: Some rooms had wi-fi, others didn't, but could go into common areas of buildings that did have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lulu22902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

I came here for a quick retreat in October. Got here, welcomed and shown around the lodge. The Wifi isn't wonderful, but I guess the whole point is to disconnect, right? The place is clean, beautifully furnished, the breakfast is simple, but tasty. You can bring your own microwaveable or fresh fruits/milk/cereal too. I loved the lodge cat, Leroy- super friendly and he inspired me to adopt my own cat! The Hidden Valley trail is a short drive away, as are the Jefferson Pools. The lodge itself is on beautiful property. This is a wonderful peaceful quiet place in October but it would have been nice to invite some friends along and make smores on the farm. A perfect family retreat.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms and they looked super cozy. I stayed in the Boolah Suite and it was all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandagirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

I have been going to Meadow Lane for years, and my wife and I have come to think of it almost as our private getaway. We have gotten to know the river, the staff, and the different rooms in the Lodge. We've studied the black and white photographs on the walls of the Lodge; they tell the story of the family that has owned the place for almost a century. This was once a thriving country estate, with show horses and lush gardens and prize winning Great Danes.

The 3000 acre property still feels like a private kingdom. Once a bucolic playground for a wealthy family, Meadow Lane is now a haven for those who love the contemplative outdoor pursuits. Hikers, birders, and especially fishermen will feel they have found the place they've been searching for. If there is a better stretch of trout water in the state of Virginia, I would like to know where it is.

Others have noted the peace and serenity of the property; this is a place where you don't have to engage in constant activity. It's just a great place to sit still for a while and listen to river rustling along, or watch the moon rise, or listen to a whippoorwill singing his persistent evening song, or stare down the otter who is just waiting for you to move along so that he can resume his fishing.

The accommodations aren't luxurious but they are spotless, and the beds are just right. Fishermen will be grateful for the mown paths that make it easy to access the river. I can't say too much about the staff, especially Pam, who often prepares the breakfast for the visitors staying in the Lodge; she has lived in Warm Springs all her life and a little conversation will yield dividends of local knowledge.

Meadow Lane isn't a place for people who need nonstop distractions and a lot of pampering. It's a place to reflect and recharge, to unplug, to remember that there is such a thing as real silence, a place just TO BE.

Room Tip: Steinway suite has a dreamy bed and a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

This past weekend was my fifth spring visit to Meadow Lane. We, a group of fly fishermen from around the world, spend four days at Meadow Lane each April or May, host a charity auction for wounded vets and enjoy each other's company while doing some fly fishing on the Jackson River.

I'll keep it simple: it's a collection of houses and an older inn. The accommodations are what they should be for a backcountry sort of thing. If you're a nouveau riche pretender who wants everything catered to their particular comfort, hire a maid and stay home.

It really is a good place to unwind.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank DLGilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Lane Lodge & Cottages

Address: 646 Meadow Lane Trl, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2157
Region: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meadow Lane Lodge is set within the region of Virginia's mountains known as the Allegheny Highlands. It is surrounded by over a million acres of National Forest and pristine Conservation Easement lands, and through it run the magnificent Jackson River. While our setting is private, pastoral and agrarian in nature, our location is just a few minutes' drive from the beautifully historic villages of both Warm Springs and Hot Springs, Virginia. Our Lodge and Cottages, each unique in their setting and personality, are located throughout this area of breathtaking natural beauty, allowing our guests a distinct vacation lodging experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing