We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$120
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anvil Campground(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
560
99
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
560
99
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasserolecolonial williamsburgham biscuitscommon roomchef kitchenperfect locationwashington roomcollege of william and marybreakfast was deliciousmerchant's squarewithin walking distancetwo blocksblue talonbed and breakfastfat canarywalked everywhereplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed at the Fife and Drum for 4 days/nights over Thanksgiving weekend. The inn is simply charming -- decorated in 1776 period furnishings and so cozy. The bed was comfortable and the amenities simply perfect. The staff on hand were most helpful with special requests, local information including restaurants. They also assisted us with determining the best pass for the duration of our trip.

Location is also perfect. In the heart of Williamsburg and adjacent to the College of William and Mary.

In specking with other guests, many were there as repeat visitors. We hope to bring our grandchildren there on significant birthdays.

Room Tip: George Washington Room overlooks Prince George Street. It was not noisy but the College of William and Mary was not in session.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Fife & Drum in November 2017. We stayed four nights so we could spend a day in Jamestown, a day in Yorktown and a full day in Williamsburg. Each night we spent in Williamsburg so we were able to fully emerge in the colonial experience. Billy and Sharon at the Fife & Drum were extremely helpful in guiding us to get the most out of our time, from how to do each location, what not to miss and to restaurant recommendations. The Inn is located in the heart of colonial Williamsburg so you can walk to everything there. I enjoyed early morning walks on the campus of William & Mary (Fife & Drum is next to the campus) to being able to explore Williamsburg without having to get in our car. The Inn accommodations were outstanding and the breakfast each day was varied, delicious and the perfect start to the day. We have already recommended to our friend who is visiting Williamsburg in January. Well worth choosing the Fife & Drum for location, value, innkeeper knowledge and friendliness as well as experiencing the colonial feel of this historic town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank trichix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We had a wonderful four night stay at the Fife and Drum Inn. The days included Thanksgiving. Billy and Sharon shared their knowledge of their hometown (Colonial Williamsburg) with us and told us of a few side trips to try. First thing Thanksgiving morn, there was a sight to behold. It was the Blue Talon Bistro Turkey Trot. 4000 runners/walkers convened on the street in front of the Inn. They were all waving to us in the second floor windows where we watched this event. The rooms are beautifully decorated and kept very nice by Rhonda and Brandy. We were in the Webster-Hitchens room which overlooked two streets. Parking was such a plus, no worries. The breakfast was amazing and a different casserole each morning. As we had no reservations for our Thanksgiving meal, Billy suggested that we try Berrett's. They did take some people in on a first come/first serve basis and we were lucky enough to get a seat there. I think this is a pretty popular place all the time. We tried two more nights to try to get a little bite to eat or drink and the bar/bar area were also busy. We also ate at Chowning's Tavern, DOG Street Pub and Christiana Campbell's. We did take the ferry over to Surry and Smithfield (and it's free) and ate at the Surry Seaford Company (again, suggested by Billy). We drove to some of the outlet shops for a few things. We then went on the Colonial Parkway and went across on the Coleman Bridge ($2) to the York River Yacht Haven and had a great lunch. Just can't say enough nice things about the Inn and the innkeepers. We booked our room in January 2017 for this trip - they fill up quick. The location is convenient to so much in the Colonial Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delawarepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The innkeepers Billy and Sharon are very knowledgeable and love sharing interesting nuggets about the area; they steered us in the right direction to make the most of our trip. The Inn is located just a couple of blocks from Colonial Williamsburg attractions, and the area surrounding the Inn contains superb places for food and shopping, including a farmer's market on the weekend. Our room was clean, cozy, comfortable, and had clever touches for convenience, all while preserving the nostalgia of a colonial aesthetic. The breakfast is amazing every morning - a perfect mix of hearty, sweet, and savory freshly cooked items, and there's tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and cookies available throughout the day for a respite after the rigors of sightseeing. The Fife and Drum is the Inn for us when we return to Williamsburg again!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trpgmn30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the drummers cottage at the fife and drum inn. This is a fabulous location right in town, close enough to walk to everything and was very comfortable, well equipped and very clean. The owners and Rhonda,who checked us in and made sure we had enough towels and extra blankets, were great and very attentive.
If you are looking for a great place to stay in the heart of Williamsburg where you won’t have to spend half your time driving back and forth then this is certainly the place for you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank wmmom16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews