We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Williamsburg”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We have stayed at the Fife and Drum many times. It is always great. The rooms are of colonial decor and each one is different. It is very clean and homey. There is always a plate of cookies and hot coffee and tea in the common area. There is a delicious buffet breakfast each morning which is included with the stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is in a fantastic location, just a very short walk to Merchants Square and the restored area. Give it a try, you won't be be sorry.

Room Tip: The Restoration Suite has an extra twin sized bed if you are traveling with a child or a snoring hus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debbycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed at the Fife and Drum for 4 days/nights over Thanksgiving weekend. The inn is simply charming -- decorated in 1776 period furnishings and so cozy. The bed was comfortable and the amenities simply perfect. The staff on hand were most helpful with special requests, local information including restaurants. They also assisted us with determining the best pass for the duration of our trip.

Location is also perfect. In the heart of Williamsburg and adjacent to the College of William and Mary.

In specking with other guests, many were there as repeat visitors. We hope to bring our grandchildren there on significant birthdays.

Room Tip: George Washington Room overlooks Prince George Street. It was not noisy but the College of William...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Fife & Drum in November 2017. We stayed four nights so we could spend a day in Jamestown, a day in Yorktown and a full day in Williamsburg. Each night we spent in Williamsburg so we were able to fully emerge in the colonial experience. Billy and Sharon at the Fife & Drum were extremely helpful in guiding us to get the most out of our time, from how to do each location, what not to miss and to restaurant recommendations. The Inn is located in the heart of colonial Williamsburg so you can walk to everything there. I enjoyed early morning walks on the campus of William & Mary (Fife & Drum is next to the campus) to being able to explore Williamsburg without having to get in our car. The Inn accommodations were outstanding and the breakfast each day was varied, delicious and the perfect start to the day. We have already recommended to our friend who is visiting Williamsburg in January. Well worth choosing the Fife & Drum for location, value, innkeeper knowledge and friendliness as well as experiencing the colonial feel of this historic town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank trichix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We had a wonderful four night stay at the Fife and Drum Inn. The days included Thanksgiving. Billy and Sharon shared their knowledge of their hometown (Colonial Williamsburg) with us and told us of a few side trips to try. First thing Thanksgiving morn, there was a sight to behold. It was the Blue Talon Bistro Turkey Trot. 4000 runners/walkers convened on the street in front of the Inn. They were all waving to us in the second floor windows where we watched this event. The rooms are beautifully decorated and kept very nice by Rhonda and Brandy. We were in the Webster-Hitchens room which overlooked two streets. Parking was such a plus, no worries. The breakfast was amazing and a different casserole each morning. As we had no reservations for our Thanksgiving meal, Billy suggested that we try Berrett's. They did take some people in on a first come/first serve basis and we were lucky enough to get a seat there. I think this is a pretty popular place all the time. We tried two more nights to try to get a little bite to eat or drink and the bar/bar area were also busy. We also ate at Chowning's Tavern, DOG Street Pub and Christiana Campbell's. We did take the ferry over to Surry and Smithfield (and it's free) and ate at the Surry Seaford Company (again, suggested by Billy). We drove to some of the outlet shops for a few things. We then went on the Colonial Parkway and went across on the Coleman Bridge ($2) to the York River Yacht Haven and had a great lunch. Just can't say enough nice things about the Inn and the innkeepers. We booked our room in January 2017 for this trip - they fill up quick. The location is convenient to so much in the Colonial Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delawarepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The innkeepers Billy and Sharon are very knowledgeable and love sharing interesting nuggets about the area; they steered us in the right direction to make the most of our trip. The Inn is located just a couple of blocks from Colonial Williamsburg attractions, and the area surrounding the Inn contains superb places for food and shopping, including a farmer's market on the weekend. Our room was clean, cozy, comfortable, and had clever touches for convenience, all while preserving the nostalgia of a colonial aesthetic. The breakfast is amazing every morning - a perfect mix of hearty, sweet, and savory freshly cooked items, and there's tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and cookies available throughout the day for a respite after the rigors of sightseeing. The Fife and Drum is the Inn for us when we return to Williamsburg again!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trpgmn30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
0.9 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1 km away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: RM791 - RM870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife And Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing