We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B location!”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We stayed here for three nights and were very pleased with this B&B. When we arrived Billy was very kind to go over the area with a detailed map of where to go and since we were early they stored our luggage so we could start the day. The best part of this B&B is the location as you’re literally in the middle of all the shops, restaurants, Old Town, William & Mary. No rental car is needed! We took an Uber to Jamestown- $12.00 and another day to Yorktown- $18.00 with 10 minutes or less wait time. We stayed in the Conservancy room which is smaller than it looked in the photos and the mattress is super hard-which my husband loved for his back. There’s no full length mirror in the room and the lighting in the bathroom is not great for putting on makeup. The room was very clean and quiet with no outside street noise. There were guests next door to us but we never heard them. Lemonade, cookies, tea, and coffee were readily available in the common area and next door there’s a really good coffeehouse, 50’s style diner, fudge shop, bookshop, and tea shop. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank phelpsl2belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

The Fife and Drum is located right in the center of Williamsburg just minutes walk from restaurants and the historic center. Yorktown and Jamestown are no more that 20 minutes drive so this is ideal if you are visiting the wider area.
The rooms are charming, a lot of thought has gone into decoration and amenities. Car parking is no problem with reserved spaces just around the corner.

The staff are very helpful. You can buy admission tickets at the B&B at a slight discount which we took advantage of. They even lent us one of the self guided tour CD’s which was very helpful.

Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies are available 24/7 which was very welcome at the end of a long day. My only criticism was lack of choice at breakfast. The quality and quantity of the food was very good. However, it would have been nice to have at least one other cereal on offer beside Granola. Also there were (delicious) biscuits but nothing else. In fairness a couple of slices of bread were provided on request but no toaster.

I guess the bottom line is whether we would stay here again if in the area and the answer is a definite ‘yes’. My comments on the breakfast didn’t really detract from our enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: We loved the Cedar suite though other rooms we saw all looked very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LucyRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We have stayed at the Fife and Drum many times. It is always great. The rooms are of colonial decor and each one is different. It is very clean and homey. There is always a plate of cookies and hot coffee and tea in the common area. There is a delicious buffet breakfast each morning which is included with the stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is in a fantastic location, just a very short walk to Merchants Square and the restored area. Give it a try, you won't be be sorry.

Room Tip: The Restoration Suite has an extra twin sized bed if you are traveling with a child or a snoring hus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debbycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed at the Fife and Drum for 4 days/nights over Thanksgiving weekend. The inn is simply charming -- decorated in 1776 period furnishings and so cozy. The bed was comfortable and the amenities simply perfect. The staff on hand were most helpful with special requests, local information including restaurants. They also assisted us with determining the best pass for the duration of our trip.

Location is also perfect. In the heart of Williamsburg and adjacent to the College of William and Mary.

In specking with other guests, many were there as repeat visitors. We hope to bring our grandchildren there on significant birthdays.

Room Tip: George Washington Room overlooks Prince George Street. It was not noisy but the College of William...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Fife & Drum in November 2017. We stayed four nights so we could spend a day in Jamestown, a day in Yorktown and a full day in Williamsburg. Each night we spent in Williamsburg so we were able to fully emerge in the colonial experience. Billy and Sharon at the Fife & Drum were extremely helpful in guiding us to get the most out of our time, from how to do each location, what not to miss and to restaurant recommendations. The Inn is located in the heart of colonial Williamsburg so you can walk to everything there. I enjoyed early morning walks on the campus of William & Mary (Fife & Drum is next to the campus) to being able to explore Williamsburg without having to get in our car. The Inn accommodations were outstanding and the breakfast each day was varied, delicious and the perfect start to the day. We have already recommended to our friend who is visiting Williamsburg in January. Well worth choosing the Fife & Drum for location, value, innkeeper knowledge and friendliness as well as experiencing the colonial feel of this historic town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank trichix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 km away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
658 reviews
0.9 km away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
7.3 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1 km away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: RM 642 - RM 869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg
Fife And Drum Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing