We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing location with a beautiful view”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise over Puget Sound with Mt. Rainier in the distance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise over Puget Sound with Mt. Rainier in the distance
another beautiful sunrise behind Mt. Rainier Beach House & Deck wth Mt. Rainier to the South
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Sunrise over Puget Sound with Mt. Rainier in the distance
another beautiful sunrise behind Mt. Rainier
Beach House & Deck wth Mt. Rainier to the South
Living & Dining Areas downstairs
Living Area showing sleeper sofa & stairs to 1 Bedroom
full Kitchen
King Size Bed in upstairs Bedroom
Bath with stall Shower
corner of Beach House Deck with owners' housein distance
Moon rising over Puget Sound
all weather Tennis Court
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gig Harbor, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Crystal_A...
Auburn, Washington
1 review
“Relaxing location with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The beach house was actually better than advertised! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I recommended it to my mother and I will be staying there again.

The owner, Bill, is very friendly and talkative. He was very concerned about our comfort and gave us lots of great information about things to do and places to eat on the island and in Gig Harbor. He was a lot of fun to talk to and was quite flexible about check in time and check out time since there wasn't anyone else booked to stay before or after us.

The deck is quite large and the view is beautiful. There is a BBQ grill, a table, and a lot of chairs to choose from on the deck. Down some beautiful stone stairs is a small yard. Down another set of stairs is an area with a fire pit that is right on the water at high tide. Wood is supplied and Bill had actually set up the kindling for us before we arrived. When the tide is out you can walk down the beach. It is rocky in front of the beach house but turns to sand when you walk a little ways down the beach. The neighbor's dog plays in the water nonstop which is entertaining as heck to watch. We saw some otters and lots of seabirds while we were there. The view of Tacoma and Gig Harbor at sunset is breathtaking.

The house itself is quite nice. The kitchen has everything you need in the way of dishes, utensils, pans, and condiments. Tea is provided as well. The fridge has an ice maker and water dispenser. The living area has a very comfortable sofa that pulls out into a bed. There is a television, but it is quite small and we did not use it very much. It has cable and a DVD player. There is a small DVD library available. The bathroom is rather large and has a shower but no bath. Plenty of towels and toiletries are provided. The loft area upstairs has a king size bed that is probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The bedding is soft and fluffy and clean. There is a TV up here that is supposed to be able to connect directly to Netflix but we did not use it. It is quite small but also has cable.

There is not much to do on Fox Island, but really if you are just trying to relax on the deck of a beach house you won't mind at all. There is a gas station on the island that has a different food truck come by on Fridays and Saturdays. The food is pretty darn good from the Caribbean truck. The gas station has basic groceries and a deli and sells pizzas you can take home and bake. The people on the island are super nice and welcoming.

Gig Harbor is about 20-30 minutes away and we drove out there to eat breakfast at the Devoted Kiss Cafe which was very good. Sea Hags next door was a fun shop that sells local artists' creations. There are some truly gorgeous back and white fine art photographs there. There are lots of things to do in Gig Harbor, including gorgeous parks on the ocean.

The only negative about our stay at the beach house was not being able to pay with a credit card but considering how nice the beach house was, it was worth the slight inconvenience of mailing in a deposit check and remembering to bring cash when we got there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The deck and the view from the deck
Liked least: Not being able to pay with a credit card.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“Water, wildlife and tanquility at your doorstep!”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a very memorable Thanksgiving Weekend at the Beach House. The owners were very accommodating and there was attention to every detail that a guest would want to include fresh flowers on the dining table. Our goal was to provide our college student a relaxing break before the onset of finals. Could not have asked for a location to provide a better escape! We thoroughly enjoyed watching local wildlife as we sipped our morning coffee and took in some tide pooling and beach combing. At night the lights across the sound provided their own magic. Restaurants, grocery stores, movie theaters etc. are within easy distance and we wouldn't hesitated to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outstanding view
Liked least: The mattress was a bit lumpy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy P
Longview, Washington, United States
1 review
“Beautiful place to get away to rest and relax”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for a week to be close to our Daughter and her family and yet have a nice place to relax with a view. The Spencer Beach Rental met all of our expectations. The setting on Fox Island is so relaxing and quiet. I loved the closeness to the beach, the view, the large deck. My husband just never wanted to come inside, he enjoyed the view. I will never forget the most beautiful sunrise I had ever seen was viewed there looking through the big picture windows around the front facing the water. my favorite place to be in the cabin when the sun went down was in the upstairs little window nook reading my book.
The place is fulling equipped with.all you have need of. wireless internet, tv, (not a big screen but who wants to go on vacation and watch tv), plenty of towels and cooking utensils. Mrs. Spencer had a very elegant looking basket in the bathroom filled with toiletries in case you forgot something. The Spencers said we could stroll through their property and gardens. we were there during blueberries growing and she let me go out and pick enough to make blueberry pancakes. The gardens are beautiful, I strolled the the grassy woods to just meditate. they have easy beach access. although we do not own a boat we brought our own Kayak and went out everyday, We saw eagles, and seals and lots of jellyfish while out kayaking. The waters were very calm and smooth early in the morning. If you stroll down the beach not more than a half mile you will be able to see the Tacoma Narrows Bridge. Mt Rainer can be seen also from the beach. The Spencers are very good host and hostess. When we arrived I called him to ask where to pick up the key and he came right over and showed us around and told us where to put the trash and recycle so he could come pick it up. If we had laundry we were able to wash it in the washer and dryer in the cabin. all of their towels that they equipped the house with Mrs Spencer would take care of when we let her know we needed more. I certainly will return again. In fact we already booked our week for next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the View of the waters, close beachfront access, watching the tides come and go.
Liked least: that it is not mine to stay at anytime I want to. LOL. my budget can only handle a week at a time LOL
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEFERINO...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in the paradise”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This has been our second summer spending some days at The Beach House in Fox Island. If paradise exists it must be here. Quiet and peaceful, facing Puget Sound, the house is very well equipped. We had a good time with the dinners on the deck and nights on the terrace where we could light a fire and enjoy watching the stars at night. Deck and terrace are just above the sandy beach. The property faces also Mt. Rainer and on the deck you have its majestic view. Besides this, we also enjoyed the marvelous tennis court. The boat launch is just beside the deck and easily accessible. And the owners … they just make us feel as if we were at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: I could not say
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This vacation home is perfect! It is right on the water - with a wonderful & great big deck to sit and relax on - overlooking the whole bay and Mt. Rainier. There is an easy to use boat launch right at the end of the driveway. This cottage is on the property of the owners, Bill and Sue Spencer, who couldn't be better hosts. They are warm, gracious, friendly and informative and maintain the surrounding property beautifully with its gardens and fruit trees. The cottage has a well equipped kitchen for cooking your own meals and more than enough amenities for feeling at home. This truly was THE perfect relaxing getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting with the water and nature all around and a feeling of being apart from the rush of life!
Liked least: The price was over our usual budget, though certainly well worth it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing