We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing flavirs, generous portions”
Review of South Leavenworth

South Leavenworth
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: The trolley stops in front of SOUTH and the Link bus stop is about 300 feet away.
Description: Located in picturesque Leavenworth, Washington, SOUTH celebrates the traditions of Latin dishes and drinks from Mexico, Peru, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina and more. In our rustic space, we modernize the delicious food of open-air markets, beachside palapas and taquerias. From Michoacán carnitas to Brazilian caipirinhas, our dishes and drinks will transport you to their countries of origin. Drop by, have a bite and travel the world with us.
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Indulged in the chips & dip sampler & a mango margarita while waiting for our entrees. The combo of flour & corn tortilla chips were light & fresh, served with a trio of guacamole, warm black bean dip & a warm poblano dip - easily enough for 4-5 people. Main entrees included a pork enchilada with red sauce & a burrito bowl with carnitas & rice served over romaine lettuce. All the food was fresh & filling. Friendly staff & prompt service. South does not disappoint.

Thank olysupermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 September 2017

I'm happy to hear everything was delicious, and indulging in an appetizer was a great choice! Fresh and filling food makes for the perfect duo, and I'm glad you agree.

Thanks for stopping by, and I'd love to have you back.

All the best,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

South has great food and a good family friendly environment. It is a little on the pricy side but worth it. One of the best restaurants in Leavenworth.

Thank bradzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We went here as a large group for dinner and it was amazing! The highlight by far is the Basil Margarita...so good and refreshing. Don't let the color fool you, its heavenly!! I am a huge salsa fan and they do not disappoint.

Thank Malibugirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

The basil margarita is one of our most popular drinks -- you know how to pick 'em! I'm happy we were able to accommodate you and your large group and that everyone enjoyed their meals.

We would love to see you again soon.

'Til then,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Pleasant experience with: indoor & outdoor dining, variety of selections on the menu, refreshing Margaritas, and excellent customer service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pganalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

It's wonderful to know you enjoyed dining with us! We've got plenty of delicious Latin dishes to offer, and I'm glad you appreciate our selection. Thanks for the fantastic rating, and I hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.

All the best,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We often drive the two hours to Leavenworth just to eat at South. The food is Latin/Mexican/South American and everything we've tried is excellent. My current favorite is the carnitas burrito bowl (you have your choice of meat or vegetarian), but I also love the sweet potato enchiladas with the to die for zucchini corn pudding. You must try the basil margarita-at least one. This place can get busy, understandably, but it's worth the wait.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

So glad we make your 2-hour drive worth it -- we're honored! Thrilled our menu hasn't let you down, and we're happy to hear our zucchini corn pudding wins you over every time.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Leavenworth also viewed

 

Been to South Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing