We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of South Leavenworth

South Leavenworth
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: The trolley stops in front of SOUTH and the Link bus stop is about 300 feet away.
Description: Located in picturesque Leavenworth, Washington, SOUTH celebrates the traditions of Latin dishes and drinks from Mexico, Peru, Cuba, Brazil, Argentina and more. In our rustic space, we modernize the delicious food of open-air markets, beachside palapas and taquerias. From Michoacán carnitas to Brazilian caipirinhas, our dishes and drinks will transport you to their countries of origin. Drop by, have a bite and travel the world with us.
Reviewed 10 November 2017

It was not on my radar to eat Latin American food when visiting Leavenworth but I am so glad we did! We were a group of four and all had delicious entrees, plus the chips and salsa sampler for an appetizer. Can't recommend enough!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price G, Owner at South Leavenworth, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Wow - thank you so much, Joelle! I'm truly honored to know that we've earned your recommendation, and we can't wait to welcome you all back again someday for more great times!

All the best,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Located in the heart of downtown this restaurant has good mexican with great salad and healthier options. They also have the traditional enchiladas and more. The guacamole was very good and served with fresh chips and the service was prompt and effecient.

Tip: If the weather allows, sit on the huge patio in the back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TXMARTINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price G, Owner at South Leavenworth, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

So cool to hear that you enjoyed your guacamole as well as the healthier options on our menu. I hope we'll get to serve you another meal out on our patio soon!

Until then,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

This is different from the typical Mexican style restaurant you see in every city across the country. South restaurant is fresh, clean, modern, upscale like none other. It’s attractive and new. The tortilla soup was awesome and the house margarita was excellent. They can upgrade it to special brand tequila if you desire.

Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price G, Owner at South Leavenworth, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

We work hard to make sure our guests leave totally satisfied, so we really appreciate the kind words, Craig. Hope we'll be seeing you back for another margarita sometime soon!

All the best,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

It might be counterintuitive to eat Hispanic cuisine in a faux Bavarian town but South defies expectations. Take it from this southern-California raised woman who lived in Guadalajara, Mexico for two years, the food at South is delicious! My fav ~ the chicken enchiladas topped with roasted tomatillo sauce. My suggestion, ask if you can substitute the frijoles borrachos for the pintos. The margaritas are great too.

Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Price G, Owner at South Leavenworth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Gail, as a SoCal transplant, I'm pleased our latin cuisine surpasses your expectations and you left SOUTH happy and satisfied! Great choice on ordering the chicken enchiladas, and we can't forget about the tasty margaritas -- those are quite a fan favorite. I'm looking forward to your next visit.

Thanks so much,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Recently we visited Leavenworth, Washington. Having visited here several times in the past because my father resided in nearby Wenatchee. Leavenworth is a Bavarian themed town which is a unique and very enjoyable place to visit. Especially for their annual Fall Festival or Oktoberfest. The Fall Festival features a very nice parade beginning with a children's parade with youngsters dressed in numerous types of costumes. The mainstream parade features many floats and bands from around the region. The festivities also include a Bavarian band playing waltzes and polkas in the Bavarian/German tradition and a platform where some dressed in Bavarian styled costumes as well as the public can dance to the lively tunes. If shopping is the tune you prefer to dance to, you can't beat the wonderful specialty shops including The Music Box and the Christmas shop. Clothing shops, restaurants, ice cream parlors, and even a specialty shop for your favorite pets can be found here. This is one of my favorite places to visit whenever we come to Washington State. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling through the Wenatchee area.

Thank Brent I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

We've gotta say, Brent, you describe our little town so well it's almost like you live here! So, as an honorary Leavenworth citizen, we invite you back for a meal anytime -- during festival season or any season. See ya then!

Cheers,
Price, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Leavenworth also viewed

 

Been to South Leavenworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing