We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Bavarian Experience ”

Andreas Keller Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 94 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This family-owned business has been bringing Bavaria to Leavenworth for over 25 years. The chef, Anita Hamilton, has been personally overseeing the kitchen since 1991 and is a native of Germany. The made-from-scratch desserts, soups and entrees are reminiscent of traditional Gasthaus fare. The owner, Heidi Forchemer, travels to Germany yearly for new menu ideas. Her son, Max, can be heard playing his button accordion most weekends, along with other local musicians, such as Tom Tilton of the Alpenfolk band. It simply doesn't get more authentic than this!
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

A great Bavarian restaurant in Leavenworth, WA that took me back to my days in Bavaria as a young Army officer. While the wait was long, the food, decor and atmosphere are excellent. This is not a large restaurant so parties less than four are usually seated quicker than a large party.

The service was fast and the food arrived to the table quicker than I expected. If you are in Leavenworth...and looking for Bavarian fare, you must try this restaurant.

Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFoodietraveler, Owner at Andreas Keller Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and your kind words. We do our very best to provide the best Bavarian food possible, as it is our family's heritage and we love virtually all things Bavarian! Also, our wonderful chef is right from Germany and has been with us for 25 years. She's an awesome part of our restaurant's success, and I know we all care about your satisfaction. Thanks and please come back again soon when you need that "Bavarian fix!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We knew it is good. We knew we have to be there to reserve a table and be there early to wait to be served. It is all worth it. Great atmosphere, good folksong singer ( likely of German decent ) in the Bravian village of Leavenworth. Busy place yet very efficient staff in costumes. We like the food ( and we ate much...the 10 of us from three continents.

1  Thank SPCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFoodietraveler, Owner at Andreas Keller Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for the kind words and for your visit to Andreas Keller! We really appreciate that you would take the time to review us so highly and are really happy you all loved the food and experience. Have a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We out our name in by phone and were quoted over 2 hours' wait. After 90 min, we went in and waited in the foyer. Being present bumped us up on the wait list, by 15 min. Host was very pleasant and attentive. Food was quickly served, hot and delicious. We had the knackwurst, goulash, schnitzel with mushroom sauce and the leberkase, and all were excellent. Will definitely eat at Andreas Keller again!

Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFoodietraveler, Owner at Andreas Keller Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review and for your patience! We are so glad we were able to beat our estimate and get you taken care of in the way you deserve. These holidays are so wonderful but the line can be long, yet we always want our guests to feel appreciated. Your wonderful words were very gracious and we are thankful for your kindness. We hope to serve you again next time you are in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I ate here after four hours sledding downtown. The service was excellent the food delicious. My daughter cleaned her plate!! Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. So attentive and kind to my daughter. Will definitely be going back!!

Thank ellen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFoodietraveler, Owner at Andreas Keller Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you for bringing your daughter to dine with us after sledding! We are so happy you both enjoyed your experience and that you felt well cared for. That is our goal and we appreciate that you let us know. We will look forward to seeing you again! Auf Wiedersehen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We remembered this restaurant from a visit 9 years ago and were not disappointed to have the same good food. We chose a full German meal, including authentic Black Forest cake for dessert; an original recipe made by their German cook.
Biggest (and best) impression for us was the staff. Christmas Eve, wait lines up to 2 hours, yet everyone kept a smile on their face, treated you as if you were the only patrons, and remarkably, they weren't running around rattled and making us feel rushed. Skip the pizza places - visit Andreas Keller's.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trippingalong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HFoodietraveler, Owner at Andreas Keller Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and for coming back to see us! We have made some improvements over the years, but our amazing German chef Anita is still performing her magic in the kitchen and we are so thankful for her! Christmas Eve was a challenge - we always want to take good care of our guests and there was a long line, so your words really mean a lot. We achieved our goal! Have a Happy New Year and please don't wait so long next time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Andreas Keller Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andreas Keller Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing