We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean cottages, beach access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anchorage Cottages
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Anchorage Cottages (#1) 9/12-9/15/17. The cottage was neat and clean with cute beach decor. Cottage 1 has a kitchenette with a little sitting area and one en suite bedroom/bathroom. The kitchen has basic utensils and cookware; enough for basic meal prep. I saw lots of great comments about the management but I only saw someone briefly to check in and another person briefly who chatted with us outside; both were nice.

The cottages are situated at the north end of town about a mile from the shops. There are 4 bikes available for use or walk or drive if you want to do the shopping scene. I was there to visit family in Ilwaco who runs a fishing charter business during summer.

The beach is about 1/2 mile walk down a path, through the dunes. The wonderful thing about this beach is it is much less traveled than near the drive-on access points farther south. I saw a couple vehicles make the trek but mostly it's just miles of sandy, less populated beaches.

This is a pet friendly property. My dog was welcomed and she loved all the places to walk. The paved Discover trail bisects the beach path on its winding journey east/west. Discover trail runs generally north-south. The endless trails made it a great destination for people with pets!

There are endless things to do in Longbeach, Ilwaco and surrounding areas especially if you're the outdoorsy type. Check out Cape Disappointment State Park, Longbeach and Ilwaco water front. And if you like to fish, there are lots of charters. Of course I'm biased for Alpha Anglers since that is my son-in-law. Since you are so close, you may as well head to Astoria. Just crossing the bridge is quite an experience! Is super long and huge ships go under it on their journey up the Columbia. Certain times of the year, humpback whales have been coming into the Columbia to dine on anchovies and other small fish. You might be lucky enough to catch a glimpse.

I'll come back to the Anchorage Cottages! I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We'd stay here again in a Long Beach minute. We were in Cottage 2: adorable beachy decor, a fireplace, perfect little kitchenette, a separate roomy bedroom, a big bathroom with mid-century fixtures, which we loved. Solid doors, light and bright, clean and comfortable. Dedicated parking spot. Staff leaves you alone unless you need something. There is no daily room cleaning unless you ask for it, but we don't need our sheets changed every day and we can hang up our own towels. Beth and Karri were very friendly and Mitsu the Shih Tsu was the perfect greeter. Not far from the beach; you can hear the surf. Large outdoor area if you want to play badminton or other games. Pet friendly. It is located a little farther away from the main street with the shops and restaurants than we expected, but we had a car and we appreciated the opportunity to enjoy the bustle of town when we wanted to and be away from it when we didn't. Be sure to check out the Cottage Bakery on the main drag every morning for coffee and the most amazing pastries. We almost needed a forklift to get us out of there most mornings.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

These little cottages are neat and clean and loaded with everything you could want. Games, books, movies to check out, bikes to use, yard games, basketball hoops, etc. the perfect place to just pull in and relax. Plus the owners are so nice and accommodating. Could not have picked a better place for us and our 3 teenage boys.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We stayed at the Anchorage for one night in June. We were the last couple to check in that night so got a call from the management that they were leaving but would tape our key on the door. We enjoyed the friendly and familiar atmosphere of the place. To enjoy the resort, one should really stay longer. There is so much to do in the area - some things within walking distance. The grounds are well kept, gardens add color and there is a private dock across the road on a charming body of water.

The cottages are rustic, quaint and clean. Our unit had a small kitchen that was equipped for food preparation. Other than the bedroom, there is not much sitting area. We sat at the breakfast table to watch the TV on top of the microwave. The cottage appeared to be well maintained. I would recommend this place to people who want an out-of-the-way placed to slow down, enjoy fresh air, and experience the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave48838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

My friend and I stayed three nights in early June and enjoyed the peaceful setting. I'm sure the entire town gets super busy and noisy during the summer and it looks perfect for a family get away. The path is a quick walk to the beach and you will not be disappointed, bring your own beach chairs or a blanket to sit on.

We had access to the cruiser bikes and appreciate the hospitality from the Manager.

Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We booked a two bedroom cabin and there was plenty of space for two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tequilawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Beach
2.7 km away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.9 km away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
91 reviews
0.8 km away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
2.6 km away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,859 reviews
0.3 km away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Cottages

Address: 2209 Ocean Beach Blvd N, Long Beach, WA 98631-3668
Region: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range: RM489 - RM613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Anchorage Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our immaculate 1 and 2 bedroom cottages have full kitchens and most have wood-burning fireplaces and are pet-friendly, creating the ideal location for families, couples, or the individual. Enjoy our splendid gardens and picnic areas or take the short walk through a young pine forest on our private path and drop easily onto miles of unspoiled beaches. Call today to redefine your beach getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Anchorage Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing