We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excited to go back.”
Review of Freestone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freestone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Mazama B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017

My wife and I had a night away from the kids and the Freestone Inn provided an excellent get-away. The view from our room was beautiful and all the rooms seem to have the same view. Those on the first floor open directly toward a beautiful pond and nicely groomed grounds as well as a short walk to the hot tub that is essentially lake side. The in-house restaurant was good although the service was a bit rough around the edges. The food and setting, however, was very nice. They have a great bar/pizza spot a 50 yard walk from the main entrance that is more casual and had a great outdoor fire-pit. It was really relaxing sitting by the fire-pit with a great drink in hand even during the cool evening (it snowed later that night). While it was out of season, the pool behind the bar/pizza spot looked inviting as well. We are excited to go back with the kids for the great setting on the pond/lake, safe grounds for the kids to wander (scooter, bike, or just run and play), great pool, and very nice private cabins along with large rooms in the main lodge. At the same time, it was a great spot for a romantic couple get-away. I'd highly recommend looking into Freestone as an alternative to other higher priced options near Winthrop and it's closer to the North Cascades National Park and the town of Mazama is outstanding as well.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowseekerWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for the review! We hope to see you both, or your entire family soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

If you want a big ski resort experience in a small valley town for a fraction of the price, look no further that the Freestone Inn! Awesome Northwest mountain lodge ambiance, great food and good prices at happy hour and breakfast, superior friendly service, and right on the cross country trail system, make the Freestone Inn the place to be for singles, friends, and families. I know class, and quality, when I see it and this is it. Come on in, see what I mean. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you so much for the review, and the kind words! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Wow!!!!! The inn is nestled in the countryside shouldered with mountains all around, a lake that reflects vivid autumn colors with trees, plants, and flowers that heighten a sense of peace and relaxation. It's a small, secluded paradise to appreciate nature at its best.
Stop by for a sumptuous breakfast, friendly customer service, and comfortable rooms. Oh Yeah...

Room Tip: Go for a suite with a wrap-around deck that overlooks the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaya200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for the review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We just had a girls get away at this Inn. We had booked a cabin as there were no rooms available at the time, but they were able to graciously move us to a room in the Inn. It was the most beautiful large room with 2 queen beds,, TV. gas fireplace and a large furnished covered deck facing the lake. Everything was absolutely spotless (and I'm fussy) All the staff were so accommodating. We were playing a game in the lobby in the evening with muted light. They brought us a flashlight and candles without us asking. . They grounds were beautiful, unfortunately we didn't have time for hiking. The managers Chris and JoAnna were beyond welcoming and very entertaining. Nothing was too much for them. We were 2 women in our 70's and because we had been nervous about driving over the snowy pass they called to make sure we made it over OK Chris had even said he would come and get us if we got stuck and I think he meant it. We will definely be back with more friends

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 143pippip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for the review, and absolutely I would have come and picked you girls up!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

My husband and I booked this hotel because we had previously eaten their, and it is a center to great hiking areas within a few miles.
The staff was great ! All the staff was pleasant and very helpful
The restaurant has many selections to choose from. We loved the prawns huge, fresh chilled to perfection. The breakfast buffet which is charged extra is well worth it.

The accommodations were very clean, comfortable, each room has its own deck. All rooms have HBO The Inn has a small pond in the back that adds to the setting. The spa was the perfect temperature and available all hours.

We went this time of the year to see the fall colors and were not disappointed.
We will be back to take advantage of the cross country skiing.

Room Tip: We had a lower level which made it easy to enjoy the lush green grace and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Freestone Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for the review and the kind words. The colors are amazing this time of year, and we look forward to seeing you again once the snow falls!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazama
23.5 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
490 reviews
23.5 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
23.8 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Hotel Rio Vista
Hotel Rio Vista
#3 of 8 in Winthrop
332 reviews
18.8 km away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
555 reviews
22.1 km away
River Run Inn
River Run Inn
#1 of 10 in Winthrop
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestone Inn

Address: 31 Early Winters Dr, Mazama, WA 98833-9704
Region: United States > Washington > Mazama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mazama
Price Range: RM 771 - RM 1,168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for their year-round comfort and appeal, the Inn, Cabins and Lodges provide the perfect get-away for not only the avid outdoors person, but also those who want nothing more than to simply relax.The Freestone Inn accommodates 21 rooms, a whiskey bar(currently under construction), conference room and a three story great room with stone fireplace. Our restaurant is located in the great room and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestone Hotel Mazama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing