We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a beautiful woman. . .”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oroville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Veranda Beach Resort
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Like a beautiful woman. . .”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Veranda Beach is like a beautiful woman who can treat her suitors poorly, knowing they'll keep coming back for more.

The property is unparalleled. Gorgeous, charming, and well-planned cottages, lush gardens, an endless, groomed beach, playground, and salt-water pool with service.

However. . .upon arrival our charming, sunny cottage had HAIRS in the bath tub. The BBQ was not fully stocked with propane. There was inadequate toilet paper. Truthfully, the floors were filthy, leaving our barefeet dirty from our first day. (Consider that you have to pay a restocking fee, and yet the cottage was not fully stocked!) The upstairs TV was coated in dust. (Also, even though it is the desert, there were not duvets on the beds, just cheap "hospital" style blankets.)

Other guests told us they were given five-star treatment, a tour in the cute golf cart to their cottage, charming staff to unload their luggage. . .this did not happen for us.

Also, I had asked customer service if laundry detergent was provided before we arrived. They assured me it was, but when I asked for another packet they were perplexed and baffled. Providing something as basic as laundry detergent, when there's in-suite laundry, was overwhelming for them.

Also, their check-out time is much earlier than any other establishment we have ever stayed at: 10:00am. Also, they expect you to do some housekeeping at the end of your stay. Knowing they have a cleaning crew, we thought this was pretty bold. (And consider the early check-out, you're racing around cleaning up the place!)

***

Really, why not go the distance with excellent customer service? Why not aim for consistency in all policies? Why not have your staff reach for the highest standard?

Veranda Beach, we know you can do it! Go for the gold. Have your personality match your looks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malarkey-Traveller, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear Amber C,

Thank you for your constructive review of Veranda Beach. I truly appreciate your taking the time to bring these issues to our attention both on tripadvisor and via e-mail as it enables us to learn from our mistakes. I am very grateful that we have spoken since and that your family will be giving us a second chance to prove your first experience was an anomaly and provide you with the service and vacation experience that you not only deserve but also for what we have become known.

Best regards

Claus Larsen
General Manager
Veranda Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We rented a beachfront cabin here last summer. We got it off of an online auction site so it was about half of the normal rental cost and it was still pricey. It was perfect for our family since we could put the baby down for a nap and still keep an eye on the kids playing on the beach. The only downside of being right on the beach is being woken up everymorning by the noisy equipment grooming the sand. The pool was great but a little bit cold. The kids loved sitting by the pool and ordering food from the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you want that safe old fashion feeling of lying on the beach and walking a neighbourhood this is the place to be. The cottages are fantastic with; washer, dryer, dishwasher, blenders and everything you would need to call it home. Go fly a kite, bounce on the trampoline on the lake or just lye by the pool and have a delightful drink, truly relaxing. The bar service around the pool is a little slow but the personalities that serve you make up for that (Red headed Eric) Always look forward to getting away and this time we had the entire family including everyones pets had a great time.. Don't forget to go hike up the mountain and take a picture or two.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Our 5 year old has declared Veranda Beach to be her 'funnest vacation ever' and we all agree. The cottage we stayed in about 30 seconds from the lake was amazing - all the comforts you would expect and a few you wouldn't. The view from the veranda in the morning gave us high hopes for the day and the staff and facilities didn't disappoint. After a leisurely morning in our cottage, we headed to the pool and lounged around for a couple of hours (with full waitress service) followed by lunch at the Globe diner. Paul and Jude couldn't be more friendly and the food was amazing. The new chef came out to say hello and made it feel like we were regulars. We sat in the diner and watched our kids in the play park down by the lake - the amount of open space the kids (and grown ups) have to run around made sure they were nice and tired at night. The adults took advantage of the well equipped kitchen and BBQ on the veranda and we had a great night - and into the morning. The whole resort is so quiet and relaxing... the 50's theme is so subtle - the staff ride around in golf carts and bicycles ensuring the kids are safe to run around all day. While we were their, a BBQ competition was happening on the boardwalk and there were a number of kids flying kites - ours didn't even ask for their video games once. A welcome change.
The staff are amazing and look after anything you need. Rebooked for next year before we left and we plan to try to get back before the end of the year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagey716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We booked for 2 couples but they gave us a cottage with 1 king and 2 single beds. They refused to fix their mistake and told us we would have to pay extra because what we had originally booked was now unavailable. Terrible service

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Corinna-CorinnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malarkey-Traveller, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Corinna,

We deeply regret that you found our customer service below your expectation. Our Veranda Beach Crew are very diligent in reiterating bedroom and bed configuration upon reservation so as to ensure the optimum comfort for every guest. Each vacation rental cottage also has a slide show on our website for our guests viewing pleasure and planning referral.

It appears as though the original reservation was for 2 adults and I have been unable to trace any change requests thereafter. That is not to say a change was not requested, only I could not trace it. We did our best upon your arrival to find a two bedroom cottage with a king and queen for complimentary gift certificate redemption. Finding none available, we offered the next best available option of a three bedroom for difference in nightly rental from the two bedroom.

We pride ourselves on customer service at Veranda Beach and recognize that mistakes do happen. Should you have any correspondence whereby you received a reservation change confirmation, it would be my pleasure to make good by our error and have you return to Veranda Beach again as our guests.

Sincerely,
Claus Larsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oroville
6.2 km away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
6.1 km away
Watermark Beach Resort
5.5 km away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
3.8 km away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,110 reviews
5.5 km away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Beach Resort

Property: Veranda Beach Resort
Address: 299 Eastlake Rd, Oroville, WA 98844-9544
Region: United States > Washington > Oroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Oroville
Price range (per night): RM1,116 - RM3,004
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Beach is located on over a mile of private, sandy beach on the sun-drenched shores of beautiful Lake Osoyoos, a few minutes across the border in Oroville WA's Okanogan Valley; Famous for its world class wineries and golf. Clusters of cottages masterfully set in a village reminiscent of the "50s". Guest check-in/out, marina, moorage, boat & watersport rentals, electric chaise loungers, fun boats with waterguns, beach volleyball, firepit, miles of walking trails and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Veranda Beach Hotel Oroville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing