We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
171
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room dungeness granola private beach common room wonderful hosts backyard garden view suite olympic peninsula downstairs suite vancouver island old carpet immediately felt at home warm hospitality delicious snacks scenic location small group
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Clare and Su are wonderful hosts and new friends. The Dungeness Barn House has an interesting history and Clare was generous in her time answering my 1000 questions about the property.

We stayed several days and were spoiled by Clare and Su’s superb skills in the kitchen. Each breakfast was unique and delicious and felt very healthy and rejuvenating. The portions were generous; no guests walked away hungry.

Other guests we met during our stay were interesting and friendly, too. That is part of the beauty of staying at a B & B. Those that duck away into their hotel rooms miss this unique opportunity.

We stayed in the ground floor Dungeness View Suite. It was comfortable, spacious, and thoughtfully decorated. In fact, all of the common rooms were so decorated. In the early evening, Clare and Su presented a nice assortment of wine, cheese, and veggies (from the garden of course). A perfect nosh before dinner and a great opportunity to meet other travelers and share and hear stories and plans for dinner, etc. Nourish get’s our vote!

Each breakfast included a homemade granola mix that is second to none. We enjoyed it so much that we purchased a large jar of it upon departure.

We also left with lettuce, dill, artichokes, anise, beats, rhubarb - all grown organically on the property. Once home we made dill pesto, rhubarb cake, steamed artichokes, and mixed the beats with carrots. Guests for dinner couldn’t believe there wasn’t sugar added. Really there wasn’t - the beats are naturally sweet.

The friendly labradoodle (Sorry I forgot your name) was a friendly and enthusiastic companion while touring the garden. He showed us the way to the lovely girls (hens) who provide us with part of our breakfast.

A nice stop off at the beach is nearby, across the road, past a gate, and down some stairs. A very lovely place to listen to the waves, gaze at the ocean or your significant other.

We look forward to our next visit. We definitely will return and probably bring friends. Thank you Su and Clare and labradoodle, too!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monnin C, General Manager at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are blown away by this very kind and thoughtful review. We are so pleased to hear about all the great things you made with the take aways from the garden. Our life style is about surrondeing ourselves with hard work, beauty and good people to share it with.
You and all our guest make this a dream come true.
Thank you for taking time to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Clare and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

It's not just the beautiful grounds, the gourmet breakfast or the impeccable décor that make the Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast a truly special place to visit. What is an amazing property transcends to something so much more because of Sue and Clare. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and important. The passion they have for their converted barn is inspiring and their concern for their guests' comfort is inimitable. There is a quote by Maya Angelou on a placard by the front door that says, "I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel." Sue and Clare made us feel great and we are most appreciative of their generosity.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monnin C, General Manager at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Wow you have got me in tears with this sweet sweet review. Our guest are so important to us and we want everyone to love the Barn House as much as we do. We apperciate your kindness and your support. We are so humbled by your genersiousty and beautiful praises. Thank you so very much.
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed at the Dungeness Barn House for two nights in July. The experience we had exceeded our expectations! Clare and Sue have remodeled the old Barn House B&B and the interior decor is beautiful. Three of the rooms are on the second floor and surround a common area which on one side has a gorgeous view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and on the other side, a view of the Olympic mountains. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms that has a full size bed, and we used a bathroom downstairs (not a big deal at all). Our window overlooked the B&B's gardens as well as the neighbor's pasture complete with grazing cows. A bucolic scene indeed! Clare and Sue are wonderful hosts. They are friendly, engaging, and clearly enjoy chatting with their guests. Breakfasts were amazing! We especially enjoyed the fresh garden produce included in our meals (collected from the backyard!). We look forward to staying at the Barn House on our next trip to Sequim.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monnin C, General Manager at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Oh my my what a lovley review thank you so much. We love what we do and when we hear that people enjoyed their stay we feel so honored. We would love to have you come stay any time.
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Stay here! Drive a little more and make day trips from this location - you won't be disappointed.
Gracious hosts, impeccable design, delicious food, incredibly peaceful. We stayed in both the suites (our teens had the Dungeness View and we had the Garden View) and each was beautiful and oh so comfortable. Our only regret was not staying longer!

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monnin C, General Manager at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

We wish you could have stayed longer also. There is so much to do and see on the Olympic Peninsula . It was our pleasure to have you here. You are a delightful family.
We love when the Barn Houe is filled with families.
Thank you for choosing us and then taking time to write such a nice review.
Hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We stayed in the Dungeness View room - the bed was huge and comfortable, the jetted tub was a luxurious touch. The grounds are beautiful and the setting overlooking the spit and the strait beyond it can't be beat - sunsets are gorgeous and if it is too cold to stand outside on the deck above the water, the common room upstairs has a giant window that offers stunning views. Our hosts, Clare & Sue, were both so warm and kind - we were treated to amazing breakfasts and engaging conversation each morning. They really do a great job with this property, you can tell it is a labor of love for them.

Room Tip: The only rooms with private bathrooms are the Garden Suite and Dungeness View Suite
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 395emilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monnin C, General Manager at The Dungeness Barn House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Yes we do love our work and having wondeful fun guest makes it all the better.
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. We would love to have you back
anytime.
Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews