We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Stevenson)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Columbia Gorge Inn(Cascade Locks)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$119
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Westcliff Lodge(Hood River)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,753)
Filter reviews
2,753 results
Traveller rating
1,336
768
422
161
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,336
768
422
161
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip linethe outdoor hot tubcolumbia riverfire pitrocking chairshiking trailsa river view roomcascade dining roombeautiful propertygreat roomgorgespastevensfireplaceconferenceportlandwedding
Filter
Updating list...
2,368 - 2,373 of 2,753 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We enjoyed a few days away from Portland at the Lodge. Even though the weather wasn't terrific, it's a nice place to be. Upon arrival, upgraded our room (king with river view) to one that included a couch and a gas fireplace. The couch wasn't too comfortable to sit on as it was a sleeper couch, but definitely manageable and having the fireplace was terrific.

Skamania is set up so that even though they were quite busy, it appeared so quiet! Nice to sit around the fireplace area in the main lodge with coffee/glass of wine to read or visit. We were lucky enough to have the swimming pool and spa to ourselves for a while in the evening! The exercise room is large and well-equipped. The food in the restaurant is wonderful, but spendy. All the staff we encountered were terrific and responsive to all our questions and requests.

Only issue we had was our bed. Wasn't comfortable and we could really feel each other moving around during the night. Wish we had said something after the first night because I have no doubt the hotel staff would have checked it out and made it right. We told them on checkout and they were kind enough to refund our upgrade fee.

Made a short day trip through Stevenson, over to Hood River for lunch, to Cascade Locks, (stopped by the Soderberg Gallery - amazing!! Some of her bronze statues can be found down by the marina - worth checking out!), back over the bridge and stopped at the Columbia Gorge Interpretive Center before heading back to the Lodge. What a lovely, relaxing way to spend the day! Great places to hike, but weather wasn't terrific.

Would definitely recommend this for a quiet get-away.

Room Tip: River view is a must. Gas fireplace is really nice! Given our experience with the king bed, we would probably reserve room with two queens. If you go for the king, check it out before you settle in so you can request a change if necessary. Hopefully, our experience was unusual.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOreg0nians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear TravelingOreg0nians,

WOW!!! You certainly had a busy getaway. Thank you for visiting with us. Skamania Lodge has 66 guestrooms and suites with working gas fireplaces. The glow of fire certainly helps warm a cold winter’s night doesn’t it… Our Cascadian-style lodge is one of the largest in the Pacific Northwest and it’s nice that many of our most sought after amenities are all under one roof. Skamania’s 254-guestroom lodge houses our spa, fitness center, pool, two restaurants, modern conference center and more- which is very much appreciated on one of the many rainy days we can have out this way. Our guests often comment that they run out of time before running out of new and exciting things to do. So, hopefully on your next visit you can stay longer. Be well and thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights just before New Years eve 2013.
I have mixed feelings because I've stayed here before in the past and had a better experience.
We upgraded to a better room once we arrived. We got a room with a mini fridge, view, and fireplace. The room was around 250.00 a night (this hotel does have resort fees and taxes that may not have been in your original quote). I was disappointed to see the room wasn't as nice as I thought it would be for that price. The curfew on the pool was too early for a Saturday night 10:00 p.m. When we got back to our room we decided we might hit the bar, so we called the front desk to ask if it was still open, they said yes.
It was about 11:00 p.m. So we went to the bar and they told us they had just closed... and they were rude when we mentioned we just called and were told they were open.
The Sunday buffet was good... spendy. But it's quite a "big" buffet. If you are looking for a place to eat in Stevenson, we really enjoyed Big "T"'s diner. Big portions and good too. It's the blue diner at the east end of Stevenson on the main road. The market in Stevenson is a good place to stop too. Skamania Lodge is located in a beautiful place. The front desk staff were nice and the ambiance around the fire place is enjoyable. We were fortunate enough one night to enjoy wine tasting and piano music. That was very nice.

Room Tip: The view room we upgrade to, was very similar to the forest room. We paid 80.00 a night more for a slightly bigger room that had a couch and fireplace. It also had a mini fridge. The view was nice... but if you are not spending a lot of time in your room I'd save the money...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear RalphB11,

We appreciate the information that you shared above. Feedback such as this is critically important for Skamania Lodge. Please know that we have reviewed the information provided and promise to take your recommendations into consideration. Additionally, we promise to share your comments with our associates in an effort to continually improve performance. Our goal each day is simple- perfection. When we fall short of this goal, we hope to learn and improve. We do hope to welcome you, your family and friends back to Skamania Lodge once again. We consider ourselves incredibly fortunate to be awarded the honor of serving you and take this responsibility very serious. Best wishes for a great 2013.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I was here for a conference and loved the lodge! The rooms were spacious enough that 3 of us sharing were not tripping over each other all the time. The beds were comfy, the view lovely and the staff was very friendly. We rose early and spent time using the exercise facility, the pool and the jacuzzi. Great way to wake up in the morning. The fireplace downstairs is a great place to hang out by and having tea/coffee readily available for all guests was a lovely touch and very appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_ingsK1Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Brought 18 people for our beginning of the year Managment meeting. We rented a conference room and did the Buffett Friday night ( see that review ) the whole weekend went great. From the planning to front desk staff when we arrived to the staff helping serve us in the conference room. We also had 14 of stay the night. My company spent over $2,000 we the weekend and we will be back. Great job skamania!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank SleepV6Cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkamaniaLodge, General Manager at Skamania Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear SleepV6Cr,

What better way to inspire the team than with a meeting at Skamania Lodge. We hope that the natural beauty that is so abundant in and around our 175-acre wooded estate helped to inspire your team to accomplish new heights. 60% of the guests that visit our retreat are at Skamania for a meeting or event. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you and your team back for many years to come.

Sincerely,
Scott Spann
General Manager
Skamania Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Skamania Lodge has become a New Year tradition and it makes for a safe way to enjoy the festivities. You'll pay resort prices on everything, but it's worth it. The staff is incredibly kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews