We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations, wonderful food, wonderful town”
Review of Ambrae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ambrae House
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We have done day trips to Berkeley Springs, but this was our first over night stay. It will not be our last. The hosts, Lisa and Gary, went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. The room was great. We stayed in the Champagne Room. It was on the third floor and had plenty of privacy. It was impeccably clean.
There is a restaurant on site. We ate dinner there the first night and my husband and I both enjoyed our meals immensely. In the morning, the breakfast was also fabulous and included with the cost of the room. We wanted to eat in our room to watch and early morning football game and Gary was soooo obliging. Not to mention, our breakfast was so much food, we couldn't eat it all. All the ingredients were fresh and delicious.
Finally, I would like to add what a cute little city Berkeley Springs is. There are shops and restaurants. Everyone in the town was friendly. The park is very nice. We went to an Oktoberfest that was rather small, but very fun. We tried to go to the roman baths, but they didn't have any open spots. I would recommend calling ahead if you are going on a weekend.
The weekend we went it was my birthday on that Sunday and this weekend getaway helped to make it one of my best birthdays ever.

Room Tip: Lots of privacy in Champagne Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Future_Travlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2015

Had dinner at the Ambrae House deck bar. Nice mix of locals and tourists. Great food, excellent and very friendly service and we heard some nice music. On a previous visit with friends visiting from England, we had dinner there two nights in a row because our friends liked the steaks so much.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank dlddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Coming from DC to spend a lovely weekend away, we knew we were in the right place upon reception.

Looking for peace, relaxation and a moment off the beaten path, we found Ambrae and loved it.

The proprietor went out of his way to ensure we had all we needed, including a bottle of wine. From there breakfast was both tasty and filling and the local flavor perfect.

Headed back there when the body aches for those healing waters, I know exactly where to be to feel refreshed all over again.

Enjoy the food, ambience and simplicity of this fabulous little place.

Cheers

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Emille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

This was our third visit to Ambrae House B&B in Berkeley Springs. Each time we have stayed in a different room and we loved them all. We stayed in the Champagne room this visit which is on the third floor of the Inn. I think I like it the best because it is larger. Our Innkeepers, Lisa and Gary are so welcoming and we feel like family when we stay. The Inn is on the main street of Berkeley Springs and it is walking distance to the many shops and restaurants. But remember the Ambrae House is a restaurant with great service and good food and drinks. This is a must stay when visiting the town!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

With the Bath House having closed, my boyfriend and I thought we'd never find another small hotel that would be just as perfect. Well Ambrae house is the place! The room we stayed in was BEAUTIFUL. A wonderful two person soaking tub, some of the nicest linens I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping beneath and a super comfortable bed. The Inn is the top floor of one of the best restaurants in town so that doesn't hurt either. The owners of the Inn are extremely welcoming and even offered us a late check out so we could shower and change after our bike ride (they weren't expecting guests for that room for another day).

There is a common area with books and games as well as snacks and water for all guests. If you venture out, you are in the heart of Berkeley Springs so everything is literally a block or two away. Perfect Inn and the perfect location. We bought a package that serves breakfast. The breakfast was made to order! We will definite be back. Love this little inn!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elivela67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley Springs hotels
15 km away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
173 reviews
0.3 km away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
204 reviews
0.4 km away
Highlawn Inn
Highlawn Inn
#3 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
413 reviews
0.1 km away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrae House

Address: 98 N Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV
Region: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing