We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillbrook Inn(Charles Town)
US$154
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rodeway Inn & Suites(Charles Town)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$72
RodewayInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Charles Town(Charles Town)
US$70
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$97
ClarionHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
232
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
232
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopper beechcivil warwonderful hostshistoric housestonewall jacksonmy husband and iharpers ferryquichehighly recommend this b bantietam battlefieldlove historyfront porchrobin's nestcookieslovely housegeneral grantshenandoah valley
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This charming bed and breakfast is a historic house in Charles Town WVA. The house was used as a meeting place during the Civil War where Grant and Sherman made plans for the Federalist's assault on the valley. We stayed in the Copper Beech room which had a king sized bed, a two person tub, and a private screened in porch. The room was very nicely decorated and had all of the modern conveniences, as well as nice fluffy towels, robes, bath salts, and a stocked refrigerator. The hosts, Don and Mary, were very nice and hospitable. The breakfasts were wonderful with great presentation. We were served fresh fruit and juice daily and we had quiche, a homemade muffin, and bacon one day and french toast with apples, eggs, and sausage the second day. Coffee and tea were available all day and into the evening and an afternoon treat such as cookies or cake. There is also a large front porch with a swing. The inn is a short drive to Harper's Ferry, Antietam Battlefield, and Frederick. A casino and horse track are nearby, but we did not go. There are many restaurants nearby and some within walking distance. I highly recommend this charming inn. There is some history with George Washington also, as the town is named after his brother Charles.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nreigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of a short vacation. The host & hostess were extremely gracious, and the breakfasts were excellent. We visited both Harper's Ferry and the Antietam National Military Park during our visit, which are both fairly close to Charles Town. The room we had booked was unavailable due to some work that was being performed there, so we were upgraded, at no additional charge, to the best room in the place, the "Copper Beeches Suite." The room was beautiful, with a Jacuzzi and a small screen porch off the back - we had our breakfast there after the first night, and ate in the dining room the next day. The area around the Inn was very nice to walk around, and the center of town was withing easy walking distance. It was very quiet and comfortable and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadandsManx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

From my first phone conversation with innkeeper Marie Davis I knew we would enjoy our stay at Carriage Inn. Donn met us at the door and, even though after 10:30p gave us a brief, colorful history of the house and the Civil War notables that had stayed there. The room was as beautiful as the rest of the house with every accommodation we needed and several we didn't like the cranberry, white chocolate, oatmeal cookies on the dining table for a midnight snack (pound cake our second night) and the fabulous breakfasts (scrumptious french toast - orange marmalade and cream cheese between two pieces with a lemony syrup on top). We would absolutely stay here again...and again. Steve in Cheverly, MD

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenpmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I have enjoyed traveling in B&B's through the last few years. I can't think of a better stay than the Carriage Inn.

After a long, hot day's traveling through Harper's Ferry NHP, we arrived at the Inn, half an hour past check in. Donn and Marie met us at the door! They gave us a wonderful tour and described all the history to the inn - being history chasers, we loved every bit. My favorite was knowing that Sheridan and Grant had once met in the very room in which we would be breakfasting!

We took some dinner recommendations from Donn and walked a few blocks into town - past the courthouse in which the John Brown trial took place. We arrived to find a HUGE platter of the MOST amazing chocolate chip cookies - Donn has a gift!

The inn was spotless and beautifully decorated. Even a little glitch in the plumbing Donn had carefully explained, we dealt with it fine - and it seemed charming.

THEN BREAKFAST - it was SUPERB. I had the most wonderful pancake it has ever been my privilege to eat!

We will work for an excuse to return to this Inn! What wonderful, open hosts! Wish we could have stayed more than one night!

And best of all, the price of this inn was not too much more than a stay in a chain hotel - considering the quality, beauty of the room, and amazing breakfast, an easy choice for your area stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJTeacherJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We called the Inn on a Saturday morning asking for just a one night stay and they graciously agreed. Usually they require a 2 night stay on the weekend. The inn is lovely--well kept and very clean. They gave us a tour along with the history behind it when we arrived. They have a dessert in the dining room for guests in the afternoon/evening. Donn's poundcake was the best that I have ever had. He said that it was his grandmother's recipe. Donn and Marie were very helpful with restaurant recommendations.
Breakfast was delicious--they bent over backwards to accomodate my food allergies. The inn is just 6 miles or so from Harpers Ferry. We hope to stay there again sometime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews