We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavarian Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Kearneysville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Harpers Ferry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carefree Inn(Martinsburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
461
225
116
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
461
225
116
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotomac riverinfinity poolgas fireplacegerman foodluxury roomwhirlpool tubcrab cakesantietam battlefieldwild gamepresidential suitewest virginiaview roomsauerbratentheater festivalsmall balconyold worldcelebrate our anniversary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Nice spot. Went to Harper's Ferry on a spur of the moment outing. Online no rooms at Bavarian Inn but I called and they had one available. Price a bit high but nice enough place. We had a small balcony with a lovely view over the river. This was a peaceful place to sit at the end of the day as it grew dark. bed was very comfortable. Odd shaped jacuzzi/shower combo that was relaxing with nice hot water. clean. All in working order. Good A/C and left fan going. Made for quiet white noise and great night's sleep. Didn't have any meals there but understand they are tasty. Dining room attractive. Didn't use any of the other facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank MoiDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are glad you enjoyed you visit to the area, and our Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and hopefully you'll be able to experience our cuisine as well,
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Inn is very nice but I encourage you to think of it as an Inn, or B&B. As such, the little faults are easier to deal with. At least that made it easier for me.

My husband and stayed in a luxury river view room in the Danube buildiing. I'd advise against the Danube if at all possible as it is very close to the bridge, which can be noisy with motorcycles and detract from the peaceful river view. We booked our one-night stay five days in advance and were told that it was the only open room left in the hotel. There is no AAA rate or discounts to be had, and we were desperate for a getaway so we took the $229 room.

The good: the furniture is amazingly comfortable and the pool was lovely. The bathrooms are luxurious and the whirlpool tub is huge and works. The not so good: the room smells a little musty, there was a missing button on the whirlpool tub, the shower was just a trickle, there was a big stain/burn on the desk and our service at the Rathskeller was really bad (don't let that stop you from dining, though -- the food is amazing and I've been three times previous, always with stellar service).

All in all, the Inn is the best place to be if after eating a filling German meal and drinkign a bottle or two of wine. I would have loved the place more had we paid a lot less for our room.

Room Tip: If choosing river-view, try for a room away from the bridge.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and Trip Advisor. We are glad that for the most part your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for letting me know about the shower and desk, so I can get those fixed right away. I also apologize for the service your received in the Rathskellar, but thank you for mentioning that it had always been stellar prior. And we are so glad you enjoyed your food. I will personally work with our maintenance and waitstaff to improve in the areas noted.
Please feel free to join our mailing list via our website, or just calling in. We often run great room rate specials with terrific discounts during slower times, but again as you noted you did receive the last available room we had. We so look forward to welcoming you back, and if I may be of future assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

About 5 years ago, we stayed at the Bavarian Inn for 1 night after participating in its multi-course, wine-tasting dinner event. We stayed in Augsburg 3, and although we had a great time and appreciated the charming character of the hotel, we were quite aware that it showed too much wear and tear. We were uncomfortable on the balcony overlooking the Potomac -- the furniture and structure appeared to be falling apart. Thereafter, we've only gone back to partake of their wonderful breakfast when we decide to take a fun 90-minute ride in our convertible on a beautiful day. This past Friday night, we stayed one night again. We got the same room as before and were very happy to find that it had been refurbished with new paint and new furniture on the balcony. The other wonderful surprise was the Rathskeller -- our first visit. Everything there was fabulous, from the terrific crab cakes, to the pianist/singer who played and sang some of our favorite songs, to the delightful waitress who served us. We were celebrating my husband's birthday on Saturday, so back we went to the main dining room for another glorious breakfast. I am so grateful to the Bavarian Inn for making his birthday so memorable. We will definitely be going back both to eat and to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Welcome Back. We are thrilled you were able to experience some of our upgrades and improvements. We strive to continously improve on our physical product and services. As you can imagine this is a never-ending project! We wish your husband again a very Happy Birthday, and look forward to celebrating many more fun times with you!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My fiance and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at the Bavarian Inn this weekend. It was a wonderful experience. We had a garden view room which included a fireplace, whirlpool tub, and balcony. I'm sure the view would've been better if we had booked a river view room, but we liked ours just fine. The staff at the front desk were very friendly. We did not eat at the restaurants at the inn, as we wanted to experience the local town. The inn is very close to the cute little towns of Shepherdstown & Sharpsburg which we enjoyed. Lovely Harpers Ferry is also about 25 mins away.

The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. I'm very happy with our decision to celebrate our anniversary here and I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktmk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Happy 10th Anniversary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to assisting you create many future fond memories!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We recently visited the Bavarian Inn and found it to be an enjoyable getaway. We heard of the Inn on a local radio station travel show. it was everything the travel show said it would be. A wonderful staff, great room and a wonderful dining experience.

Room Tip: Our next visit we would upgrade to a river view. Our garden view was just fine, but the river view seemed worth an upgrade.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for you kind remarks. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your return, so you can take advantage of the River View.
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews