We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavarian Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$160
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thomas Shepherd Inn(Shepherdstown)
US$153
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Kearneysville)
US$69
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$101
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
462
227
119
43
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
462
227
119
43
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotomac riverinfinity poolgas fireplacegerman foodluxury roomwhirlpool tubcrab cakesantietam battlefieldwild gamepresidential suitewest virginiaview roomsauerbratentheater festivalsmall balconyold worldcelebrate our anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here during a nearby conference, and were looking for a quiet getaway. This place is in sleepy but historic Shepherdstown, just 5 miles or so from the Civil War battlefield at Antietam. The hotel is built and decorated in authentic Bavarian style, and is situated on the West Virginia cliffs overlooking the Potomac River, about a mile upstream from where Lee’s Confederate Army crossed over after the battle. Our room was very comfortable, and looked out on a beautiful bend in the river - a great view of the sunrise. The room had a balcony with chairs that would have been very pleasant in warmer weather. The mattress was of the memory foam variety, and we slept great. The room appointments were nice but a bit dated. The tv was a flat screen in a hutch, but lacked a pullout, so the only place it was visible was from the bed. We like the dual sinks in the bathroom, but they could have done a better job cleaning the room before we arrived. As it was we had to call the desk to have a maid come and vacuum our floor.
The hotel is short walk to town, where there are a number of quaint restaurants and shops,
Including a couple of new-age type places, reflective of the fact that Shepherdstown is a college town. In the summer there is apparently a lot of tourist, river rafting and bicycling traffic.
The hotel has a couple of German restaurants which I will review separately. All in All, we had a really relaxing, pleasant stay, and I would recommend this place for those interested in history, bucolic countryside, serene accommodations, and aren’t in a hurry to engage in frenzied tourism.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Larry S,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you primarily enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas. I apologize for the housekeeping oversight, and will look into fixing that immediately. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Just a simple weekend getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I ordered and requested a bottle of wine and cheese tray be in the room upon arrival. Very nice room and amenities with a wonderful view of the river below. GREAT weekend!!

Room Tip: Get the room with a gas fireplace over looking the river below with the nice big spa tub. Very nice...
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlb20715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Beautiful way to escape to fine dining and accommodations. Staff are professional, friendly, and service oriented. We are local residents who visit to make special occasions all the more special. Our waiter, Dylan, was excellent!!

Room Tip: Excellence in every way. But, sorry to say, hope you consider a different type of in room coffee. If not, maybe morning coffee offered in the lobby which is as fine as the dining experience.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank valann316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We greatly appreciate your patronage, and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

A very nice place to stay and also have a romantic dinner. We look forward to going back in the summer to use the infinity pool and see all the upgrade they are making to the property. The staff was friendly and we had a very nice time during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms could use some upgrades new jacuzzi tubs, etc. but all in all very nice place to stay.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We, too, look forward to the pool season, and to share the exciting renovations with you!
Sincerely,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Loved the place, the staff and the food is wonderful. Very clean rooms, just needs a bit of updating. Great for a couples getaway. The place is undergoing a lot of renovations to make it even better than it already is. My husband and I both want to return to see the changes. Maybe we will make it back for Octoberfest.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAsam, Owner at Bavarian Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
We hope that our renovations will allow your review score to be even higher, since you already loved the place, staff & food. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
The Asam Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews