We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Morning Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slatyfork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morning Glory Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Morning Glory Inn is a lovely B&B in the rural Snowshoe Mountain / Cass Scenic Railroad area. The owners were friendly and helpful, but non-intrusive. The queen bed room we stayed in was quite large, with a full size couch and mini fridge. The whole space was very clean. The room did not have air conditioning, but even in August, we really didn't need it, because there are ample fans and cool mountain air. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious -- the main attraction was blueberry pancakes, but there were other items available on a continental buffet -- hard boiled eggs, banana bread, yogurt, fruit. We enjoyed our one night there so much, we're thinking of going back in the winter for some snowshoeing! From what we heard, both from the owner Rod and one of the conductors at Cass, the area does an excellent job of plowing the roads in the winter, so we shouldn't have too much trouble getting there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shall07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 346 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

Tried and true B&B guests should understand that this is NOT the normal B & B experience that you are used to.
It is not your average experience, don't come with expectations of previous B & B's.

The Morning Glory Inn is an affordable, clean, spacious, and relaxing place to stay when visiting the Snowshoe area.

We had checked prices all around the geographic area, and we finally chose the Morning Glory Inn. We are glad we did - it was a great experience.

There were 4 of us, so we had reserved a room with a king bed and a queen bed - unfortunately there was a guest in the room who chose to stay another night - so the owners gave us two separate rooms which was totally OK with us - but if we had been traveling with kids, it might have been a little more of a challenge.

On to the rooms - the rooms are HUGE, they all have a private bath, and the are all very well equipped for a short or long stay. They have a coffee maker and mini-fridge in each room which we used for cold drinks.

The Inn is not air conditioned but provided sufficient fans to keeps the rooms cool at night. It was very hot during our stay, but the rooms stayed comfortable in the evening and night. It was really nice to sleep with the windows open!

The front porch is amazing, and the sound of the small stream just over the hill provided a great soundtrack to our visit. The wicker chairs and the rocking chairs on the porch made for an incredibly relaxing evening each night when we returned.

Don't expect a full hot breakfast like at most B & B's - you will have access to a continental breakfast spread for 2 hours each morning, which we actually thought was more convenient than a fixed- hard and fast time to be 'ready' for breakfast.

Don't expect plush and luxury - expect comfortable and adequate.
Don't expect to feel like you are being watched.
Don't expect to feel as though you are staying in someone's private home.

You won't regret choosing the Morning Glory - but you might wonder what you are going to do with all of the money that are saving by not staying on top of the mountain at Snowshoe.

We had a positive experience, and would return.

Oh, and there is a house cat - she is extremely friendly, and is more than willing to take part in your stay with you if you invite her in. She is beautiful, playful, and her owners love her very much by keeping her clean, well groomed and inside. SHE is the only evidence that you will find of a pet in the house - you won't find hair, or any type of pet smell.
I have some allergic reaction to cats, but I had no reaction at all to her - she was a great friend during our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

We are ao glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Wanted to let you know that we do make a note in our reservations book the number of adults and children in each room. We never would have seperated parents with children. We hope you enjoyed the convience of an extra bathroom and well as the added privacy of 2 rooms for 4 adults. Hope to see you again! Karin and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this inn. It's peaceful and close to great outdoors activities like skiing at Snowshoe and hiking in the many acres of parks. The owners make you feel like you're in your own home tucked away in the beautiful West Virginia mountains. They were very accommodating to our needs and set out a delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms are large, comfortable, nicely decorated, complete with mini fridges and very comfortable beds. Great quality sheets! This inn is an exceptional value for the money and I highly recommend it for quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avolarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I immediately fell in love with the large welcoming front porch full with tables and chairs to sit and talk, drink wine or coffee and gaze at the beautiful changing leaves on the mountains. Walking in the front door was just as comforting with beautifully decorated open rooms with high wood ceilings and floors. Our large room was also not a disappointment with a king size bed, and again decorated very warmly.
The owners were welcoming (even though we arrived a bit late), but also not prying - letting us enjoy ourselves as guests in thier home. I was appaled that one guest thought thier refridgerator was community property as well - as he looked through it for lunchmeat later in the evening!!!!! People do you not know that B&B's are their homes!!! Bring your own snacks for late night-munchies!! Anyway, we would definately stay there again - so much more relaxing than a motel! Can't wait to come see it in the winter ski-season!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperJess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The cabins were cozy and very roomy - a perfect hideaway - and the hosts Karin and Rod were warm and inviting. I felt at home the moment I walked in, and the location was perfect. It's just a handful of miles away from Snowshoe, but I'd come back, skiing or not. The mountains, the cabins, everything was beautiful!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrgAnders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slatyfork
16.8 km away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
64 reviews
7.0 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
22.7 km away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
143 reviews
7.1 km away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
156 reviews
7.0 km away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 71 Spring Road, Route 219, Snowshoe, Slatyfork, WV 26291-0116
Region: United States > West Virginia > Slatyfork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slatyfork
Price Range: RM296 - RM845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel/bed and breakfast located near Snowshoe Mountain Resort and Cass Scenic Railroad. We have been awarded a Certificate of Excellence from Tripadvisor. All rooms have air conditioning, hd Tv's and wi fi. Breakfast is included. We have added remote controlled candles for those romantic nites. We are the number one rated hotel in West Virginia rated by reviews from Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Slatyfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing