We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morning Glory Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Roseloe Motel(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Homestead Resort(Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baxa Inn(Buckhannon)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
352
30
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
352
30
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolamorning gloryfront porchcheesy eggsbreakfast was deliciouswest virginiabed and breakfastcass scenic railroadour room was spaciousfresh eggsapple piesnowshoe mountainwonderful hostsfriendly ownerswonderful stayrooms are beautifulstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Tried and true B&B guests should understand that this is NOT the normal B & B experience that you are used to.
It is not your average experience, don't come with expectations of previous B & B's.

The Morning Glory Inn is an affordable, clean, spacious, and relaxing place to stay when visiting the Snowshoe area.

We had checked prices all around the geographic area, and we finally chose the Morning Glory Inn. We are glad we did - it was a great experience.

There were 4 of us, so we had reserved a room with a king bed and a queen bed - unfortunately there was a guest in the room who chose to stay another night - so the owners gave us two separate rooms which was totally OK with us - but if we had been traveling with kids, it might have been a little more of a challenge.

On to the rooms - the rooms are HUGE, they all have a private bath, and the are all very well equipped for a short or long stay. They have a coffee maker and mini-fridge in each room which we used for cold drinks.

The Inn is not air conditioned but provided sufficient fans to keeps the rooms cool at night. It was very hot during our stay, but the rooms stayed comfortable in the evening and night. It was really nice to sleep with the windows open!

The front porch is amazing, and the sound of the small stream just over the hill provided a great soundtrack to our visit. The wicker chairs and the rocking chairs on the porch made for an incredibly relaxing evening each night when we returned.

Don't expect a full hot breakfast like at most B & B's - you will have access to a continental breakfast spread for 2 hours each morning, which we actually thought was more convenient than a fixed- hard and fast time to be 'ready' for breakfast.

Don't expect plush and luxury - expect comfortable and adequate.
Don't expect to feel like you are being watched.
Don't expect to feel as though you are staying in someone's private home.

You won't regret choosing the Morning Glory - but you might wonder what you are going to do with all of the money that are saving by not staying on top of the mountain at Snowshoe.

We had a positive experience, and would return.

Oh, and there is a house cat - she is extremely friendly, and is more than willing to take part in your stay with you if you invite her in. She is beautiful, playful, and her owners love her very much by keeping her clean, well groomed and inside. SHE is the only evidence that you will find of a pet in the house - you won't find hair, or any type of pet smell.
I have some allergic reaction to cats, but I had no reaction at all to her - she was a great friend during our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank admit_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

We are ao glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Wanted to let you know that we do make a note in our reservations book the number of adults and children in each room. We never would have seperated parents with children. We hope you enjoyed the convience of an extra bathroom and well as the added privacy of 2 rooms for 4 adults. Hope to see you again! Karin and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We had a wonderful experience at this inn. It's peaceful and close to great outdoors activities like skiing at Snowshoe and hiking in the many acres of parks. The owners make you feel like you're in your own home tucked away in the beautiful West Virginia mountains. They were very accommodating to our needs and set out a delicious breakfast each morning. The rooms are large, comfortable, nicely decorated, complete with mini fridges and very comfortable beds. Great quality sheets! This inn is an exceptional value for the money and I highly recommend it for quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avolarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I immediately fell in love with the large welcoming front porch full with tables and chairs to sit and talk, drink wine or coffee and gaze at the beautiful changing leaves on the mountains. Walking in the front door was just as comforting with beautifully decorated open rooms with high wood ceilings and floors. Our large room was also not a disappointment with a king size bed, and again decorated very warmly.
The owners were welcoming (even though we arrived a bit late), but also not prying - letting us enjoy ourselves as guests in thier home. I was appaled that one guest thought thier refridgerator was community property as well - as he looked through it for lunchmeat later in the evening!!!!! People do you not know that B&B's are their homes!!! Bring your own snacks for late night-munchies!! Anyway, we would definately stay there again - so much more relaxing than a motel! Can't wait to come see it in the winter ski-season!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperJess10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The cabins were cozy and very roomy - a perfect hideaway - and the hosts Karin and Rod were warm and inviting. I felt at home the moment I walked in, and the location was perfect. It's just a handful of miles away from Snowshoe, but I'd come back, skiing or not. The mountains, the cabins, everything was beautiful!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrgAnders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I was impressed with the size of room. Nicely done. I missed having a t.v. in room for evening viewing . community t.v. just doesn't do it for me.
Very disappointed in breakfast. The 'b' in breakfast wasn't worth writing home about. only thing hot was scrambled eggs with or without cheese. Where were the pancakes, pastries, french toast? we got a better breakfast at a holiday inn express.
Bring your own reading material. Mags are old and hardly any books to read.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caity111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkkk, Owner at Morning Glory Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2010

My husband and I are very sorry you did not enjoy your mom and pop, bed and breakfast experience. We recently made a large donation of book to our local library. However, we have several paperbooks floating around, and large stacks of magazines. We are sorry you could not find something to read for your 1 nite with us. Our breakfasts DO consist of the usual items. But we do provide bowls of fresh fruit , homemade banana bread, and 1 hot item. We do pancakes and french toast, but on different days. We are very sorry this was not enough for you. Many people enjoy not having a tv in their bedroom. However, had we known this was important to you, we could have told you about the motel at the corner. You are right. A motel experience and a bed and breakfast experience are NOT the same. Their are motel people and bed and breakfast people. We are sorry we disappointed you. We try very hard to provide a friendly experience, with a large clean room, and breakfast for a good price. thank you Karin and Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews