We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham St Clairsville(Saint Clairsville)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
45
48
34
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
48
34
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheating systemriver viewgood nights sleepwould stay here againbeautiful lobbyarena
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The price on this hotel for a night was great at $64.00. But then we arrived and discovered why. The hotel boasts a historic past, but that doesn't compensate for the dreary state of the facilities. The walk from the parking garage down a filthy, water-stained hall to the front desk left a negative first impression. The lobby was large and kind of nice, but out-dated. The front desk person was pleasant and polite, but did not know anything about any nearby restaurants. There were no working ice machines on any of the hotel floors. The carpets were dingy. The room was disappointing. The sink was so old that the finish in the bowl was flaking off, though the bathroom was clean. The bed was as hard as a board. The AC control was so out of date as to be useless - the room was cold and resisted any of our attempts to set the temperature warmer. The morning continental breakfast was worthy of the cheapest hotel in the worst section of any metropolitan area - terrible coffee and pre-packaged breakfast items. The selection is better at a convenience store. All in all, very disappointing.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The glory days of this historic hotel are far, far behind it. The lobby looks nice, however there were multiple buckets throughout catching water from the ceiling. The rooms (at least ours and our friends') are a sad, worn-out messes and really need a refresh.

Every piece of furniture and throw pillow in our room had large stains on them, like people were spilling whole cups of coffee, however I don't believe these were coffee stains. The sofa by the window has the fabric torn on the arms and stuffing coming out of it, plus huge stains. The sitting chair had the same large stains on the cushions and back. The desk chair had mysterious white stain on the arm rest, that was a no-go area for us.

While the sheets looked clean, we pulled them back to find the mattress had the same large stains and the mattress pad was covered in short, black hairs that were embedded into it. After removing the pillow cases, we found the pillows had more of the large mystery stains.

Other disappointing aspects of the room were the bathroom with a leaking toilet, nasty looking sink with permanent rust stains, white AC vents with odd looking black stuff (possibly mildew or mold) on them, no door stopper so the drywall is bashed out where the door knob hit it. Lastly, this hotel has windows that slide up far enough that a person can climb through it, and one of our windows had the lock broken off of it. Normally it wouldn't be an issue, except we had a 1st floor room. We had to keep our valuables locked in our car as it was impossible to secure the room when we were away.

Overall, this hotel is was a big disappointment. The staff was friendly enough, but the room was a horrible mess and it made the entire stay uncomfortable. After seeing the similar conditions in our friends' rooms, we figured it was pointless to ask for a different room as we'd probably end up with the same issues. It was probably a wonderful hotel in 1917, but falls on the "unacceptable" list in 2017. There's no possible way we could recommend the McLure to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob-RS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

I would guess that I've stayed in bed over 70 hotels in the last six months. The winner of worst hotel: The McClure in Wheeling. By a knockout. Would you expect air when it's 84 degrees out? Nope. A fan? Nope. Help with a cab out?
Nope.
Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope.
You've been warned .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Kleven1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The lobby chandelier the only attractive thing about the sad excuse of a historical hotel. We were promptly refunded our money within the hour due to broken toilet, broken air conditioning and the over powering smell of disinfectant.

Room Tip: Don't do it!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddysoilmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for your comments to help us get better. We will take the proper steps to check the rooms better in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

The room we stayed in had bed bugs! When we told staff, they seemed generally unconcerned. When we spoke to the manager, he told us his maintenance staff didn't find anything and almost didn't refund us. He did not want us to send him the photos we took, so I'm showing them to you now. THERE ARE BED BUGS IN ROOM 406.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank SmallFelineCompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We have heard you. We always take the proper precautions when dealing with situations like this. We are deeply apologetic that you had this experience with us and we regret this happened. We have steps to deal with this and use a reputable company to assist, needless to say we have this room closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews