We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The McLure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We would go back to this hotel because of Fonia the front desk staff. She was very warm, welcoming, and extremely helpful.
The hotel is interesting and historic looking. The room was spacious and nice.

Thanks Fonia for making it a great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

The price on this hotel for a night was great at $64.00. But then we arrived and discovered why. The hotel boasts a historic past, but that doesn't compensate for the dreary state of the facilities. The walk from the parking garage down a filthy, water-stained hall to the front desk left a negative first impression. The lobby was large and kind of nice, but out-dated. The front desk person was pleasant and polite, but did not know anything about any nearby restaurants. There were no working ice machines on any of the hotel floors. The carpets were dingy. The room was disappointing. The sink was so old that the finish in the bowl was flaking off, though the bathroom was clean. The bed was as hard as a board. The AC control was so out of date as to be useless - the room was cold and resisted any of our attempts to set the temperature warmer. The morning continental breakfast was worthy of the cheapest hotel in the worst section of any metropolitan area - terrible coffee and pre-packaged breakfast items. The selection is better at a convenience store. All in all, very disappointing.

Room Tip: Select a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The glory days of this historic hotel are far, far behind it. The lobby looks nice, however there were multiple buckets throughout catching water from the ceiling. The rooms (at least ours and our friends') are a sad, worn-out messes and really need a refresh.

Every piece of furniture and throw pillow in our room had large stains on them, like people were spilling whole cups of coffee, however I don't believe these were coffee stains. The sofa by the window has the fabric torn on the arms and stuffing coming out of it, plus huge stains. The sitting chair had the same large stains on the cushions and back. The desk chair had mysterious white stain on the arm rest, that was a no-go area for us.

While the sheets looked clean, we pulled them back to find the mattress had the same large stains and the mattress pad was covered in short, black hairs that were embedded into it. After removing the pillow cases, we found the pillows had more of the large mystery stains.

Other disappointing aspects of the room were the bathroom with a leaking toilet, nasty looking sink with permanent rust stains, white AC vents with odd looking black stuff (possibly mildew or mold) on them, no door stopper so the drywall is bashed out where the door knob hit it. Lastly, this hotel has windows that slide up far enough that a person can climb through it, and one of our windows had the lock broken off of it. Normally it wouldn't be an issue, except we had a 1st floor room. We had to keep our valuables locked in our car as it was impossible to secure the room when we were away.

Overall, this hotel is was a big disappointment. The staff was friendly enough, but the room was a horrible mess and it made the entire stay uncomfortable. After seeing the similar conditions in our friends' rooms, we figured it was pointless to ask for a different room as we'd probably end up with the same issues. It was probably a wonderful hotel in 1917, but falls on the "unacceptable" list in 2017. There's no possible way we could recommend the McLure to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob-RS1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

I would guess that I've stayed in bed over 70 hotels in the last six months. The winner of worst hotel: The McClure in Wheeling. By a knockout. Would you expect air when it's 84 degrees out? Nope. A fan? Nope. Help with a cab out?
Nope.
Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope.
You've been warned .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Kleven1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The lobby chandelier the only attractive thing about the sad excuse of a historical hotel. We were promptly refunded our money within the hour due to broken toilet, broken air conditioning and the over powering smell of disinfectant.

Room Tip: Don't do it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daddysoilmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgarey, Manager at The McLure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for your comments to help us get better. We will take the proper steps to check the rooms better in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wheeling
2.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Wheeling
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Wheeling
Hampton Inn Wheeling
#1 of 8 in Wheeling
1,273 reviews
6.5 km away
Wilson Lodge at Oglebay Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Triadelphia/wheeling
11.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites WHEELING
13.1 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Triadelphia
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The McLure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The McLure Hotel & Suites

Address: 1200 Market St, Wheeling, WV 26003-3340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Wheeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Wheeling
Price Range: RM310 - RM433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The McLure Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than a mile from the Wheeling Island Casino, the McLure Hotel is conveniently located in Downtown Wheeling, West Virginia. The property is a unique experience, a true piece of Americana. Presidents, Senators, actresses and actors have stayed at this great hotel at one point in the hotel's 150 year history. Nestled along the Ohio River and surrounded by inspiring American architecture our guests are never disappointed by the charm of Wheeling. From the McLure Team to you: We hope to see you at the McLure Hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The McLure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing